C. W. M. NORRIE, Governor-General

ORDER IN COUNCIL

At the Government Buildings at Wellington this 20th day of February 1957

Present: THE RIGHT HON. S. G. HOLLAND PRESIDING IN COUNCIL

PURSUANT to the Local Government Loans Board Act 1926, His Excellency the Governor-General, acting by and with the advice and consent of the Executive Council, hereby consents to the borrowing by the local authorities mentioned in the Shedule hereto by way of loan of the whole or any part of the respective amounts specified in that Schedule.

SCHEDULE

	Amount
Local Authority and Name of Loan	Consented to
	£
Auckland City Council: Hunua Development Loan	1
1954 £1.590.000	500,000
Mandeville Rabbit Board: Housing Loan 1956	. 5,000
North Auckland Electric Power Board: Reticula	-
tion Loan 1956, £175,000	100,000
Queenstown Borough Council: Memorial Hal	1
and Community Centre Loan 1956	30,000

T. J. SHERRARD, Clerk of the Executive Council.

Officers Authorised to Take Statutory Declarations

C. W. M. NORRIE, Governor-General

PURSUANT to section 301 of the Justices of the Peace Act 1927, His Excellency the Governor-General hereby authorises the persons named in the Schedule hereto, being the holders of the offices specified after their names, to take and receive statutory declarations under that section.

SCHEDULE

William George Leland, Deputy Chief Postmaster, Auckland. Timothy Joseph Crowe, Postmaster, Avondale. Allan Bruce, Postmaster, Bluff. Edward Caldwell, Manager, M.O. and S.B. Branch, Post Office, Christchurch.

Christchurch. Evelyn Bessie Cameron (Mrs), Postmistress, Clydevale. Leslie Edward Ireland, Postmaster, Cromwell. Joseph Alfred Ryan Douglas, Postmaster, Devonport. George Egerton, Postmaster, Gore. Ernest James Cardno, Postmaster, Hastings. David Nelson Melrose, Postmaster, Hastings. David Nelson Melrose, Postmaster, Manaia. Alexander Davie, Postmaster, Milton. Eric Russell Farrell, Postmaster, Patea. Cyrill Robert Porter, Postmaster, Raetihi. Jack Byron Chew, Postmaster, Reefton. Jonathan Arnold Burgess, Postmaster, Takaka. Roy Mortimer Green, Postmaster, Te Kuiti. Harry Ronald Ogg, Chief Postmaster, Wanganui. As witness the hand of His Excellency the Governor-G As witness the hand of His Excellency the Governor-General this 22nd day of February 1957.

J. R. MARSHALL, Minister of Justice.

Appointments, Promotions, Transfers, Resignations, and Retirements of Officers of the New Zealand Army

PURSUANT to section 16 of the New Zealand Army Act 1950, His Excellency the Governor-General has been pleased to approve of the following appointments, promotions, transfers, resignations, and retirements of officers of the New Zealand Army.

Regular Force

COLONELS LIST

Colonel. (temp. Brigadier) C. L. Pleasants, C.B.E., D.S.O., M.C., E.D., B.A., to be Brigadier. Dated 1 January 1957.

HEADQUARTERS, N.Z. DIVISION

Captain J. D. Hounsell, M.A., 12th Heavy Anti-aircraft Regi-ment, R.N.Z.A., is seconded, and is appointed G.S.O. 3 (Liaison), Headquarters, N.Z. Division. Dated 24 October Ì956.

Captain P. H. Sceats, 2nd Field Regiment, R.N.Z.A., is seconded, and is appointed Intelligence Officer, Headquarters, N.Z. Division. Dated 26 November 1956.
Lieutenant T. G. Meachen, 2nd Field Regiment, R.N.Z.A., is seconded, and is appointed Liaison Officer, Headquarters, N.Z. Division. Dated 12 October 1956.

THE ROYAL N.Z. ARTILLERY

Regular Force

Kegular Force
Captain (temp. Major) H. L. Jones to be Major. Dated 14
December 1956.
Captain I. G. Wilson is transferred to the Reserve of Officers, General List, The Royal N.Z. Artillery, in the rank of Captain. Dated 2 January 1957.
Lieutenant G. J. Hayden, from the Reserve of Officers, Regimental List, 12th Heavy Anti-aircraft Regiment, R.N.Z.A., is appointed to a short-service regular commission for a term of two years, in the rank of Captain. Dated 1 January 1957.
Warrant Officer Class II (acting Warrant Officer Class I)
Leonard Frank Partner is appointed to a regular commission, in the rank of Lieutenant and Quartermaster. Dated 12 December 1956.
The appointment of 2nd Lieutenant (on prob.) J. M. Masters

The appointment of 2nd Lieutenant (on prob.) J. M. Masters is confirmed, in the rank of 2nd Lieutenant, with seniority from 10 December 1956.

Territorial Force

2nd Field Regiment, R.N.Z.A.

Captain P. H. Sceats, from the Reserve of Officers, Regi-mental List, 2nd Field Regiment, R.N.Z.A., to be Captain, with seniority from 26 August 1955. Dated 12 October 1956. Captain P. H. Sceats is seconded to Headquarters, N.Z. Division. Dated 26 November 1956. Lieutenant T. G. Meachen is seconded to Headquarters, N.Z. Division. Dated 12 October 1956. Edgar James Askew to be 2nd Lieutenant. Dated 7 October 1956.

1956.

3rd Field Regiment, R.N.Z.A.

Keith Stewart Hadfield to be 2nd Lieutenant. Dated 29 September 1956. Huia Robert Ockwell to be 2nd Lieutenant. Dated 29 Sep-tember 1956.

Christopher O'Hara James Tobin to be 2nd Lieutenant. Dated 29 September 1956.

4th Medium Regiment, R.N.Z.A.

Ross Neil Alexander Nelson to be 2nd Lieutenant. Dated 6 October 1956

12th Heavy Anti-aircraft Regiment, R.N.Z.A.

Captain J. D. Hounsell, M.A., from the 151st Anti-aircraft Battery, R.N.Z.A., to be Captain, with seniority from 20 April 1953. Dated 1 August 1956. Captain J. D. Hounsell, M.A., is seconded to Headquarters, N.Z. Division. Dated 24 October 1956. Keith John Tagent Money to be 2nd Lieutenant. Dated 8 October 1956.

151st Anti-aircraft Battery, R.N.Z.A.

Captain J. D. Hounsell, M.A., is transferred to the 12th Heavy Anti-aircraft Regiment, R.N.Z.A. Dated 1 August 1956.

THE ROYAL N.Z. ARMOURED CORPS

Regular Force

Major (temp. Lieutenant-Colonel) C. C. Jordan relinquishes the temp. rank of Lieutenant-Colonel on ceasing to hold the appointment of Chief of Staff, Fiji Military Forces, and ceases to be seconded to the Fiji Military Forces. Dated 21 January 1957

Lieutenant (temp. Captain) I. P. Marshall to be Captain. Dated 1 September 1956.

Territorial Force

1st Armoured Regiment (Waikato), R.N.Z.A.C.

Captain (temp. Major) A. V. McKenzie, E.D., is transferred to the Reserve of Officers, General List, The Royal N.Z. Armoured Corps, in the rank of Major. Dated 25 November 1956.

Scruini Taharua Te Moananui to be 2nd Lieutenant. Dated 30 September 1956.

1st Armoured Car Regiment (New Zealand Scottish), R.N.Z.A.C

Captain F. McI. Milne, M.M., to be temp. Major. Dated 1

Captain F. McI. Mulne, M.M., to be temp. Major. Dated 1 August 1956. Lieutenant (*temp.* Captain) S. G. McGregor relinquished the temp. rank of Captain. Dated 1 April 1956. Lieutenant R. G. Devereux to be temp. Captain. Dated 6 December 1956.

The under-mentioned to be Lieutenants:

2nd Lieutenant J. Q. Donald. 2nd Lieutenant P. McE. Faulkner.

Dated 28 August 1956. 2nd Lieutenant W. G. Thomson. Dated 4 September 1956. 2nd Lieutenant G. B. McK. Law. 2nd Lieutenant D. W. Lang. 2nd Lieutenant J. P. Carey.

Dated 25 September 1956.

Robert William Mathieson Greenslade to be 2nd Lieutenant. Dated 1 October 1956. Laurie Arthur McKinnon to be 2nd Lieutenant. Dated 1 October 1956.