Setting Apart Maori Freehold Land as a Maori Reservation

### C. W. M. NORRIE, Governor-General ORDER IN COUNCIL

At the Government House at Wellington this 27th day of February 1957

HIS EXCELLENCY THE GOVERNOR-GENERAL IN COUNCIL Pursuant to section 439 of the Maori Affairs Act 1953, His Excellency the Governor-General, acting by and with the advice and consent of the Executive Council, hereby sets apart the Maori freehold land described in the Schedule hereto for the common use and benefit of the Maori people as a Maori reservation for the purposes of a burial ground.

#### **SCHEDULE**

#### NORTH AUCKLAND LAND DISTRICT

ALL that piece of land situated in Block VI, Hokianga Survey District, containing 6 acres, more or less, and being all of the land known as Pakanae No. 2 Wahitapu; as is more particularly delineated on the plan numbered M.L. 12049 lodged in the office of the Chief Surveyor at Auckland.

T. J. SHERRARD, Clerk of the Executive Council. (M.A. 21/1/50)

Revoking an Order in Council Setting Apart Maori Freehold Land as a Maori Reservation

### C. W. M. NORRIE, Governor-General ORDER IN COUNCIL

At the Government House at Wellington this 27th day of February 1957

Present:

HIS EXCELLENCY THE GOVERNOR-GENERAL IN COUNCIL PURSUANT to section 439 (5) of the Maori Affairs Act 1953, His Excellency the Governor-General, acting by and with the advice and consent of the Executive Council, hereby revokes the Order in Council made on 26 October 1949 and published in the *Gazette*, 17 November 1949, Volume III, page 2667, and affecting the land described in the Schedule hereto.

### SCHEDULE

Area Block and A. R. P. 3 0 0 .... Block Survey District XI, Omapere Omapere 1B 2A

T. J. SHERRARD, Clerk of the Executive Council. (M.A. 21/3/191)

Appointing Two Qualified Persons to be Representatives of a Combined District on the Hauraki Catchment Board

# C. W. M. NORRIE, Governor-General

WHEREAS part of Matamata County and part of Rotorua County constitute a combined district for the purposes of electing two representatives on the Hauraki Catchment Board:
And whereas the combined district, at the election held on 17 November 1956, failed to elect any representatives:
Now, therefore, pursuant to section 51 of the Soil Conservation and Rivers Control Act 1941, His Excellency the Governor-General hereby appoints

Robert Frazer Schwarz, of Tirau, farmer; and Hector Ewen Sutherland, of Matamata, farmer,

to be representatives of the combined district on the Hauraki Catchment Board.

As witness the hand of His Excellency the Governor-General this 1st day of March 1957.

W. S. GOOSMAN, Minister of Works.

(P.W. 75/14)

Polling Places for the Bay of Plenty Electoral District Appointed

# C. W. M. NORRIE, Governor-General

PURSUANT to the Electoral Act 1956, I, Lieutenant-General Sir Charles Willoughby Moke Norrie, the Governor-General of New Zealand, hereby abolish all existing polling places in the Electoral District of Bay of Plenty and hereby appoint the places mentioned in the Schedule hereto to be the polling places in the said electoral district.

### SCHEDULE

Bay of Plenty Electoral District-

Anaura (Tolaga Bay), Maori School.
Arero, Public School.
Awakeri, Public School.
Edgecumbe, Presbyterian Hall.
Galatea, Public Hall.
Hautanoa (Tokomaru Bay), Harbour Board Office.
Hicks Bay, Maori School.
Ihungia (Tokomaru Bay), School Building.
Kawerau, District High School.

Kawerau (Town Site), Cafeteria.
Kawerau (Town Site), North Public School.
Kopeopeo (Whakatane), St. John Ambulance Hall.
Koranga Valley (Judd's Residence).
Kutarere, Public School.
Lower Waiawa, Public School.
Makatu, Public School.
Makatu, Public School.
Manawahe, Public School.
Manawahe, Public School.
Managaheia (Tolaga Bay), Dog Trial Pavilion.
Mangatuna (Tolaga Bay), Maori School.
Matania, Fublic School.
Matania, Public School.
Matania, Public School.
Matawai, Public School.
Minginui Forest, Public School.
Motu, Public School.
Minginui Forest, Public School.
Motu, Public School.
Ohope Beach, Captain's Cabin.
Ohope, Public School.
Opotiki, Courthouse.
Opotiki, Public School.
Opotiki, Public School.
Otara (Opotiki), Public Hall.
Paengaroa, Public School.
Otara (Opotiki), Public Hall.
Paengaroa, Public School.
Paerata Ridge (Opotiki), School Building.
Papamoa, Public School.
Paerata Ridge (Opotiki), School Building.
Papamoa, Public School.
Paerata Ridge (Notiki), School Building.
Papamoa, Public School.
Rautokore, Maori School.
Ruatahuna, School.
Ruatoki North, Maori District High School.
Ruatahuna, School.
Te Araroa, Maori School.
Te Araroa, Maori School.
Te Araroa, Maori School.
Te Araroa, Maori School.
Te Puke, McDowell's Hall.
Waiohau, Maori School.
Tokomaru Bay, Public School.
Tokomaru Bay, Public School.
Tokomaru Bay, Public School.
Tokomaru Bay, Public School.
Wainui (Kutarere), Public School.
Waioaka (Opotiki), Hall.
Waionau, Maori School.
Waioaka Road, Old School Building.
Te Teko, Maori School.
Wainaha, Parish Hall, McAllister Street.
Whakatane, Borough Council Chambers.
Whakatane, County Council Chambers.
Whakatane, Parish Hall.
Whakatane, Parish Hall.
All. Waiohau, Mori School.
Wa As witness the hand of His Excellency the Governor-General this 6th day of March 1957.

J. R. MARSHALL, Minister of Justice.

Officers Authorised to Take Statutory Declarations

# C. W. M. NORRIE, Governor-General

Pursuant to section 301 of the Justices of the Peace Act 1927, His Excellency the Governor-General hereby authorises the persons named in the Schedule hereto, being the holders of the offices specified after their names, to take and receive statutory declarations under that section.

## **SCHEDULE**

Leonard John Rathgen, District Commissioner of Taxes, Inland Revenue Department, Wellington.
Lawrence James Alexander Cheyne, District Commissioner of Taxes, Inland Revenue Department, Auckland.
Thomas Arthur Jameson, District Commissioner of Taxes, Inland Revenue Department, Dunedin.
John Thomas Fleming, District Commissioner of Taxes, Inland Revenue Department, Tauranga.
Herbert Jones Mornington Chapman, 1st Assistant District Commissioner of Taxes, Inland Revenue Department, Wellington.

James Shewan, Assistant District Commissioner of Taxes, Inland Revenue Department, Palmerston North.

Samuel Litherland Wilson Bernett, Assistant District Commissioner of Taxes, Inland Revenue Department, Dunedin.

As witness the hand of His Excellency the Governor-General this 1st day of March 1957.

J. R. MARSHALL, Minister of Justice.