Appointment of an Officer of the New Zealand Army

PURSUANT to section 16 of the New Zealand Army Act 1950, His Excellency the Governor-General has been pleased to approve of the following appointment of an officer to the Emergency Force:

#### APPOINTMENT

THE ROYAL N.Z. CHAPLAINS DEPARTMENT

The Rev. F. J. Green, M.B.E., Chaplain, 3rd Class, Iterian (N.Z. Regular Force). Dated 25 February 1957. Presby-

Dated at Wellington this 28th day of March 1957.

T. L. MACDONALD, Minister of Defence.

Appointments, Confirmation of Appointment, Promotions, Extensions of Commissions and Date of Retirement, Trans-fers, Termination of Commission, and Resignations of Officers of the Royal New Zealand Air Force

Pursuant to section 15 of the Royal New Zealand Air Force Act 1950, His Excellency the Governor-General has been pleased to approve the following appointments, confirmation of appointment, promotions, extensions of commissions and date of retirement, transfers, termination of commission, and resignations of officers of the Royal New Zealand Air Force.

# REGULAR AIR FORCE

GENERAL DUTIES BRANCH

Confirmation of Appointment

Acting Pilot Officer Bryan Robert Antill (817986) is confirmed in his appointment with the rank of Pilot Officer, with effect from 28 February 1957.

#### **Promotions**

The under-mentioned Wing Commanders to be temporary Group Captains, with effect from the dates shown:
Arthur Percy Gainsford, D.S.O., D.F.C., A.F.C. (70039), 15
February 1957.
Stanley Gilbert Quill, O.B.E., D.F.C., p.s.a. (a), j.s.s.c. (70030), 4 March 1957.

# Extension of Commission

Flying Officer John Douglas Lack (74202) is granted an extension of his present commission for a period ending 25 January 1963.

## TECHNICAL BRANCH

A ppointment

Engineer Division

Corporal Donald Ian Lamason (75633) is granted a permanent commission in the Technical Branch (Engineer Division), Regular Air Force, with the rank of Acting Pilot Officer, with effect from 4 March 1957.

# ADMINISTRATIVE AND SUPPLY BRANCH Extension of Date of Retirement

Equipment Division

The age for retirement of Wing Commander Thomas Bertrand Pledger (70287) is extended for a period of seven and a half months to end on 17 January 1958.

# WOMEN'S ROYAL NEW ZEALAND AIR FORCE

Resignation

Section Officer Dawn Shirley Fannin (76934) resigns her commission, with effect from 9 March 1957.

# TERRITORIAL AIR FORCE

MEDICAL BRANCH

Transfer

Flight Lieutenant Raymond James Wilson, M.B., CH.B., F.R.C.S (134006), is transferred from the Medical Branch, Reserve of Air Force Officers, to the Territorial Air Force for a period of five years, to be followed by four years in the Reserve of Air Force Officers, with effect from 7 January 1057

# WOMEN'S ROYAL NEW ZEALAND AIR FORCE

TERRITORIAL SECTION

Resignation

Flight Officer Barbara Phyllis Wilson (134128) resigns her commission with effect from 14 March 1957.

# AIR TRAINING CORPS

A ppointment

Maurice James O'Connor, M.A., DIP.ED., is granted a commission in the Air Training Corps with the rank of Flying Officer and with seniority from 25 April 1955, with effect from 25 October 1956.

Extension of Commission

Flying Officer (temp.) Robert Frank Johncock is granted an extension of his present commission for an indefinite period, with effect from 17 January 1956.

C

Termination of Commission

The commission of Flight Lieutenant Patrick Cre Huggett is terminated, with effect from 19 February 1957.

## RESERVE OF AIR FORCE OFFICERS

A ppointment

Corporal Joseph Patrick Senior (130218) is granted a commission in the Technical Branch (Signals Division), Reserve of Air Force Officers, for a period of four years. He is appointed to the rank of Pilot Officer, with effect from 14 February 1957.

# Promotion

Flight Lieutenant (temp.) Robert Donald Salter, B.A., DIP.ED. (133660), to be temporary Squadron Leader while commanding a cadet battalion, with effect from 1 March 1957.

## Extensions of Commissions

Squadron Leader Denys Staples Hamilton, D.F.C. (131467), is granted an extension of his present commission for a period ending 24 November 1960.

Flight Lieutenant James Thomas Coltman (130106) is granted an extension of his present commission for a period of four years, with effect from 28 February 1954.

### Transfer

Flight Lieutenant Stanley Owen Morgan (75624) is transferred from the Education Branch, Regular Air Force, to the Reserve of Air Force Officers for a period of four years, with effect from 7 February 1957.

Dated at Wellington this 21st day of March 1957.

T. L. MACDONALD, Minister of Defence.

Members of the Veterinary Surgeons Board Appointed (Notice No. Ag. 6271)

Pursuant to subsection (2) of section 3 of the Veterinary Surgeons Act 1956, His Excellency the Governor-General has been pleased to appoint:

(a) John Erskine McIlwaine, Esquire (being a veterinary surgeon in the employment of the Department of Agriculture);
(b) Ira James Cunningham, Esquire, Lewis William Newlands Fitch, Esquire, Geoffry James Harwood Moon, Esquire, and Gordon Langston Yockney, Esquire (on the nomination of the New Zealand Veterinary Association, Incorporated); and
(c) William Christopher Barry, Esquire, and Allan Leslie, Esquire (on the nomination of the Veterinary Services Council).

Council),

to be members of the Veterinary Surgeons Board as from the 22nd day of March 1957.

Dated at Wellington this 28th day of March 1957.

K. J. HOLYOAKE, Minister of Agriculture.

(Ag. 62/8/90)

Member of the Meringa Rabbit Board Appointed (Notice No. Ag. 6270)

PURSUANT to section 40 of the Rabbits Act 1955, His Excellency the Governor-General has been pleased to appoint

David McCoard

to be a member of the Meringa Rabbit Board, vice A. A. Best, resigned, as from the 21st day of March 1957.

Dated at Wellington this 28th day of March 1957.

K. J. HOLYOAKE, Minister of Agriculture.

(Ag. 64/1/123)

Members of the Board of Trustees for the Rangitaiki Drainage District Appointed

Pursuant to section 5 of the Rangitaiki Land Drainage Act 1956, the Minister of Lands hereby appoints

John Porter Caulfield, Eric Campbell Haultain, Stanley Gordon Ker, Wilfred Thomas Law, Allan Oliver Marx, Allan Oliver Mara,
Henry Edwin Missen,
James Edward Rae,
Maurice Reynolds, and William Maurice I Ivan Maskell Withy

to be members of the Board of Trustees for the Rangitaiki Drainage District under the name of the Rangitaiki Drainage

Dated at Wellington this 2nd day of April 1957.

E. B. CORBETT, Minister of Lands.

(L. and S. H.O. 15/11; D.O. D. 2/5)