Birthday Honours List

It is officially announced that the Queen has been graciously pleased, on the occasion of the celebration of Her Majesty's Birthday, to signify her intention of conferring a Peerage of the United Kingdom on the following:

To be a Baron-

His Excellency Lieutenant-General Sir Willoughby Norrie, G.C.M.G., G.C.V.O., C.B., D.S.O., M.C., Governor-General and Commander-in-Chief of New Zealand.

His Excellency the Governor-General has announced that the Queen has been graciously pleased to confer the following additional honours:

CIVIL DIVISION

Knight Commander of the Most Distinguished Order of Saint Michael and Saint George (K.C.M.G.):

The Honourable William Sullivan, of Whakatane.

Companion of the Most Distinguished Order of Saint Michael and Saint George (C.M.G.):

The Most Reverend Alfred Walter Averill, of Christchurch. Mr Gordon Graham Gibbes Watson, Q.C., of Lower Hutt.

Commander of the Most Excellent Order of the British Empire (C.B.E.):

Professor Percy William Burbidge, of Auckland. Mr Alfred Hyde Cockayne, 1.5.0., of Wellington. Mr William Gordon Victor Fernie, of Christchurch.

Officer of the Most Excellent Order of the British Empire (O.B.E.):

(O.B.E.): Mr Karauria Tiweka Anaru, of Rotorua. Dr Archibald Turner McLeod Blair, of Rotorua. Dr John Richard Hertslet Fulton, of Dunedin. Professor Thomas Vernon Griffiths, of Christchurch. Mr Frederick George Hall-Jones, of Invercargill. Mr Laurence David Hickford, of Okato, Taranaki. Mr Henry Cochrane McCoy, of Auckland. Dr John Mark, of Tauranga. Mr William Glendinning Rodger, of Wellington. Captain David Martin Todd, of Wellington. Mr Charles Robert Wilson, D.C.M., of Wellington. Miss Catherine Mary Josephine Wylie, of Seacliff, Dunedin.

Companion of the Imperial Service Order (I.S.O.): Mr Wilfred Evelyn Hodges, of Lower Hutt. Mr Frederick George Oborn, of Wellington.

Member of the Most Excellent Order of the British Empire (M.B.E): (M.B.E):
Miss Valerie Patricia Louise Anquetil, of Wellington.
Mr Frederick Robert Ball, of Gisborne.
Mr Reginald Malcolm Barker, of Auckland.
Mr William Richard Brinsley, sen., of Dunedin.
Mr Arthur Martineau Burrows, of Eltham.
Mr Bernard James Cooke, of Blenheim.
Mrs Ethel Mildred Cordner, of Christchurch.
Mrs Christina Dufton Elliott, of Company's Bay, Dunedin.
Miss Phyllis Jean Fletcher, of Lyttelton.
Mr Horace Victor Haywood, of Auckland.
Mr William Leslie Hughes, of Dargaville.
Mr John McCarthy, of Waipukurau.
Mrs Alice Kathleen MacLean, of Wanganui.
Mr Soma Taka Moss, of Christchurch.
Mrs Oma Taka Moss, of Christchurch.
Mr Norman Leslie Shaw, of Eskdale, Hawke's Bay.
Mrs Lilian Ana Mary Wyatt, of Christchurch.
Mr Sosemary Trafford, of Nelson.

British Empire Medal (B.E.M.):

Constable David Clarke Muir, New Zealand Police Force, of Kawakawa. Constable Robert Methven Peggie, New Zealand Police

Force, of Rockurgh. Instructor Archibald Herbert Victor Waters, New Zealand Prisons Service, of Wellington.

MILITARY DIVISION

Commander of the Most Excellent Order of the British Empire (C.B.E.)

Brigadier Leonard Whitmore Thornton, O.B.E., Colonels' List (Regular Force), of Wellington.

Officer of the Most Excellent Order of the British Empire (O.B.E.):

Acting Commander Edward Perry Reade, D.S.C., Royal Navy, now in the United Kingdom.
Lieutenant-Colonel Tom Bassett Morten, D.S.O., E.D., Royal New Zealand Infantry (Territorial Force), of Little River, Canterbury.
Wing Commander John William Todd, M.B.E., Royal New Zealand Air Force, of Wellington.

C

Member of the Most Excellent Order of the British Empire (M.B.E.):

Lieutenant-Commander John Fergus Young Schischka, v.R.D., Royal New Zealand Naval Volunteer Reserve, of Auckland.

Auckland. Major Douglas Gordon Warner Green, Royal New Zealand Artillery (Territorial Force), of Christchurch. Major Albert Edward Melville Lawrence, Royal New Zea-land Armoured Corps (Regular Force), of Waiouru. Captain Elsie Phyllis Hogan, New Zealand Women's Royal Army Corps (Regular Force), of Auckland. Warrant Officer (Class II) Oswald Albert Wahrlich, Royal New Zealand Artillery (Regular Force), of Dunedin. Squadron Leader Colin Campbell Charles Manson, Royal New Zealand Air Force, of Weedons, Christchurch. Flight Lieutenant Allan John Charles Clark, Royal New Zealand Air Force, of Taieri, Dunedin.

Air Force Cross (A.F.C.):

Squadron Leader Ronald Arthur Manners, M.B.E., Royal

New Zealand Air Force, of Hobsonville. Flight Lieutenant Ronald Charles MacFarlane, Royal New Zealand Air Force, of Palmerston North.

British Empire Medal (B.E.M.):

chief Petty Officer Wren Barbara Radford Bilton, Women's Royal New Zealand Naval Service, of Auckland.
Sick Berth Chief Petty Officer Walter Roy Robb, Royal New Zealand Navy, of Auckland.
Chief Electrician John Charles Harris, Royal New Zealand Navy, of Auckland.
Engine Room Artificer First Class Ernest Alexander Newman, Royal New Zealand Navy, of Dunedin.
Sergeant Peter Percival Clarke Cooper, New Zealand Regi-ment (Regular Force), of Plimmerton.
Corporal Henry Cecil Wright, Royal New Zealand Corps of Signals (Regular Force), of Taumarunui.
Flight Sergeant John William Sharp, Royal New Zealand Air Force, of Whenuapai.
Sergeant Edward Joseph Brown, Royal New Zealand Air Force, of Ohakea.

Commendation for Valuable Services in the Air:

Flight Lieutenant John Edward Wood, D.F.C., Royal New Zealand Air Force, of Ohakea.

D. E. FOUHY, Official Secretary.

Classification of Roads in Waikohu County

PURSUANT to regulation 3 (11) of the Heavy Motor Vehicle Regulations 1955, the Commissioner of Transport hereby revokes that portion of the Warrant dated 19 June 1950* which refers to the road described in the First Schedule hereto, and hereby approves the Waikohu County Council's proposed variation of the classification of the said road as set out in the Second Schedule hereto.

FIRST SCHEDULE

WAIKOHU COUNTY

Road Classified in Class Three

MAIN HIGHWAY

PUHA-WHATATUTU Main Highway No. 414.

SECOND SCHEDULE -WAIKOHU COUNTY

Road Classified in Class Two

MAIN HIGHWAY

PUHA-WHATATUTU Main Highway No. 414 (from its junction with the Whakatane-Gisborne via Waioeka State Highway No. 20, to its junction with the road to Te Hau).

Road Classified in Class Three

MAIN HIGHWAY

PUHA-WHATATUTU Main Highway No. 414 (from its junction with the road to Te Hau to the northern end of the said main highway).

Dated at Wellington this 12th day of June 1957.

H. B. SMITH, Commissioner of Transport. *Gazette, 22 June 1950, Vol. II, p. 800

(TT. 10/61)

Industrial Conciliation and Arbitration Act 1954—Proposed Cancellation of Registration of Industrial Union

PURSUANT to section 86 of the Industrial Conciliation and Arbitration Act 1954, it is hereby notified that the registration of the Wellington Architects' Assistants' Industrial Union of Workers, registered No. 1990, situated at Wellington, will, unless cause to the contrary is shown, be cancelled on the expiration of six weeks from the date of the publication of this poties in the *Corrette*. notice in the Gazette.

Dated at Wellington this 12th day of June 1957.

W. H. CADWALLADER, Registrar of Industrial Unions, Department of Labour.