N.Z. WOMEN'S ROYAL ARMY CORPS

Regular Force

Captain M. H. Moore is re-engaged for a period of two years as from 30 October 1957.

N.Z. CADET CORPS

Morrinsville College Cadets

Captain (acting Major) Alston Macomish, M.B.E., E.D., is posted to the Retired List in the rank of Captain. Dated 4 September 1957.

Mount Albert Grammar School Cadets

2nd Lieutenant I. E. Gilbert, from the Retired List, to be 2nd Lieutenant, with seniority from 3 February 1957. Dated 3 February 1957. John Gilbert Stratton Myles to be 2nd Lieutenant (on prob.).

Dated 28 May 1957. Eugene Leonard Cheriton to be 2nd Lieutenant (on prob.). Dated 29 May 1957.

RESERVE OF OFFICERS

Regimental List

1st Battalion, The Canterbury Regiment, R.N.Z. Inf.

Captain Ashley William Kerr is transferred to the Reserve of Officers, General List, The Royal N.Z. Infantry Corps, in the rank of Captain. Dated 12 September 1957.

2nd General Hospital, R.N.Z.A.M.C.

Lieutenant-Colonel R. L. H. Minchin, M.D. (EDIN.), CH.B. (EDIN.), from the Reserve of Officers, Regimental List, 3rd General Hospital, R.N.Z.A.M.C. (disbanded), to be Lieutenant-Colonel, with seniority from 23 April 1944. Dated 1 August 1956.

The Royal N.Z. Army Service Corps

Captain Arthur John Arnold is transferred to the Reserve of Officers, General List, The Royal N.Z. Army Service Corps, in the rank of Captain. Dated 6 September 1957.

General List

The Royal N.Z. Army Service Corps

Lieutenant-Colonel Cecil Albert Blazey, O.B.E., E.D., is posted to the Retired List. Dated 1 October 1957.

Supplementary List

Captain John Morton Walmsley is posted to the Retired List in the rank of Major. Dated 1 November 1956. Temp. 2nd Lieutenant B. Hope relinquishes his temp. com-mission. Dated 1 November 1956.

Dated at Wellington this 10th day of October 1957. DEAN J. EYRE, Minister of Defence.

Promotions, Extensions of Commissions, Transfers, and Resignation of Officers of the Royal New Zealand Air Force

PURSUANT to section 15 of the Royal New Zealand Air Force Act 1950, His Excellency the Governor-General has been pleased to approve the following promotions, extensions of commissions, transfers, and resignation of officers of the Royal New Zealand Air Force.

REGULAR AIR FORCE GENERAL DUTIES BRANCH

Promotion

Flight Lieutenant Alan Frederick Jacobsen, A.F.C. (70123), to be temporary Squadron Leader, with effect from 7 October 1957.

Extensions of Commissions

The under-mentioned Flight Lieutenants are granted extensions of their present commissions until the dates shown:

Bernard Joseph O'Connor (814234), 6 March 1964. Robert Bruce Craigie (74967), 6 January 1964. John Mitchell Foster (75230), 4 May 1964.

The under-mentioned Flying Officers are granted extensions of their present commissions until the dates shown:

Barry David Gordon (326321), 22 August 1964. William Henry Willis (131865), 22 August 1964. Kenneth McLean Milne (75164), 2 January 1965. Blake Olliver Harper (711609), 28 August 1965. Frederick Barry Flavall (77322), 24 April 1966. Peter John McKay (75156), 23 April 1966. John Alan Scrimshaw (77325), 24 April 1966.

Transfers

Flight Lieutenant Roy Runciman Carter (70176) is trans-ferred from the Administrative and Supply Branch (Special Duties Division) to the General Duties Branch with his present rank and with seniority from 13 September 1954, with effect from 21 October 1957. Flight Lieutenant Colin Morris Hanson (70181) is trans-ferred from the Administrative and Supply Branch (Special Duties Division) to the General Duties Branch with his present rank and with seniority from 1 October 1954, with effect from 23 September 1957.

TECHNICAL BRANCH Promotions

General Division

Group Captain Charles Campbell Hunter, O.B.E., A.M.I.E.E., p.s.a. (70011), to be temporary Air Commodore, with effect from 8 November 1957.

Engineer Division

Wing Commander William Glanville Woodward, O.B.E., B.E., A.F.R.AE.S. (70028), to be temporary Group Captain, with effect from 8 November 1957.

Administrative and Supply Branch **Promotions**

Secretarial Division

Wing Commander Bruce Roden Furkert, O.B.E. (70253), to be temporary Group Captain, with effect from 7 October 1957. Flying Officer Graham Bernard Mead (71141) to be tem-porary Flight Lieutenant, with effect from 1 October 1957.

EDUCATION BRANCH

Resignation

Flying Officer Vincent Paul Rabbitt, A.S.P.E. (78955), resigns his commission, with effect from 18 August 1957.

TERRITORIAL AIR FORCE GENERAL DUTIES BRANCH

Transfer

Pilot Officer Alan McGreevy (925282) is transferred from the General Duties Branch, Regular Air Force, to the Terri-torial Air Force for a period of four years, with effect from 6 September 1957.

RESERVE OF AIR FORCE OFFICERS

Transfers

Transfers Flight Lieutenant Francis Manuel Maguire (816239) is transferred from the General Duties Branch, Regular Air Force, to the Reserve of Air Force Officers for a period of four years, with effect from 1 September 1957. Pilot Officer Arthur Basil Cooper (713869) is transferred from the General Duties Branch, Regular Air Force, to the Reserve of Air Force Officers for a period of eight years, with effect from 6 September 1957. Flight Lieutenant Courtney James Allpress, B.A., DIP.ED. (77758), is transferred from the Education Branch, Regular Air Force, to the Reserve of Air Force Officers for a period of four years, with effect from 30 September 1957. Pilot Officer Alan McGreevy (925282) is transferred from the General Duties Branch, Territorial Air Force, to the Reserve of Air Force Officers for a period of four years, with effect from 7 September 1957.

Extension of Commission

Flight Lieutenant Alfred Bruce Atkinson (133441) granted an extension of his present commission for a period ending 21 January 1961.

Amendment

The notice in *Gazette*, 28 September 1950, No. 62, page 1788, relating to Squadron Leader Patrick Bernard Dignan is hereby amended to read "Dated 30 August 1949", instead of "30 August 1950".

Dated at Wellington this 4th day of October 1957.

DEAN J. EYRE, Minister of Defence.

Justices of the Peace Appointed

PURSUANT to the Justices of the Peace Act 1927, His Excellency the Governor-General has been pleased to appoint the under-mentioned persons to be Justices of the Peace for New Zealand and its dependencies.

Barrow, Thomas Abram, 66 Clovelly Road, Bucklands Beach, Co. Manukau. Berry, Mrs Doris Eveline, 38 Seddon Road, Birkenhead, Auckland.

Birchall, Ernest Hazard, 58 Rewi Street, Torbay, Auckland. Blackmore, Mrs Alice Beatrice Amelia, 178 Lake Road, North-cote, Auckland.

Gillespie, Charles Theodore, 15 Mays Street, Devonport,

Goodey, Frank Hill, 350 Hillsborough Road, Mount Roskill, Auckland.
Goodey, Frank Hill, 350 Hillsborough Road, Mount Roskill, Auckland.
Gow, John Cameron, 256 Pukinui Road, Papatoetoe.
Macken, Walter Edwin, 23 Fifth Avenue, Whangarei.
Mathieson, Stanley, 88 Yorkshire House, Shortland Street, Auckland.

Matthews, William James, 21 Verona Avenue, Mount Albert, Auckland.

Seon, Mrs Isabel May, 50 Birkdale Road, Birkdale, Auckland. Smith, Alfred William, 15 Livingstone Street, Grey Lynn,

Auckland. Stewart, William, 11 Burch Street, Mount Albert, Auckland. Tapper, Robert, 12 Spencer Street, Remuera, Auckland. Wilson, Mrs Mabel Rose, 1 Second Avenue, Stanley Bay, Devonport.

Dated at Wellington this 8th day of October 1957.

J. R. MARSHALL, Minister of Justice.