## Appointments in the Royal New Zealand Navy

PURSUANT to the Naval Defence Act 1913, His Excellency the Governor-General has been pleased to approve the following appointments, promotions, and terminations of appointments in the Royal New Zealand Navy:

## ROYAL NEW ZEALAND NAVAL VOLUNTEER RESERVE

Commander C. H. T. Palmer, O.B.E. (retired), promoted to rank of Captain (retired), to date 8 July 1957. Lieutenant Commander P. M. Taylor, placed on Retired List of Officers (at own request), to date 5 July 1957. Lieutenant Commander I. L. Thomsen, F.R.A.S., M.I.O.N., placed on Retired List of Officers (age), to date 30 August 1057

1957.

Sub-Lieutenant P. R. Lomas, promoted to rank of Lieutenant, to date 14 December 1955.
Sub-Lieutenant S. N. F. Bates, A.C.I.S., promoted to rank of Lieutenant, to date 13 January 1956.
Sub-Lieutenant L. M. Hooson, promoted to rank of Lieutenant, to date 14 July 1957.
The Reverend Herbert Garway Boniface, M.A., entered as Chaplain with seniority of 14 February 1950, and appointed to the Auckland Division, to date 14 June 1957.
Temporary Sub-Lieutenant (Sp) K. G. Laidlaw, promoted to rank of Temporary Lieutenant (Sp), to date 11 June 1957.
Temporary Sub-Lieutenant (Sp) L. A. Slowley, promoted to rank of Temporary Lieutenant (Sp), to date 6 August 1957.
Temporary Sub-Lieutenant (Sp) M. W. Murnane, promoted to rank of Temporary Lieutenant (Sp), to date 13 September 1957.

1957.

Temporary Lieutenant (Sp) K. A. McLennan, appointment cancelled on ceasing duty with Sea Cadet Corps, to date 4 March 1957.

Temporary Sub-Lieutenant (Sp) L. B. Weenink, appoint-ment cancelled on ceasing duty with Sea Cadet Corps, to date

26 March 1957. Temporary Lieutenant (Sp) K. Butland, appointment can-celled on ceasing duty with Sea Cadet Corps, to date 28 May 1957.

Temporary Sub-Lieutenant (Sp) J. W. Henry, appointment cancelled on ceasing duty with Sea Cadet Corps, to date 15 July 1957.

Mr William Murton Wheeler entered as Temporary Sub-Lieutenant (Sp) with seniority of 15 July 1957, and appointed for duty with Otago Unit Sea Cadet Corps, to date 25 July 1957

Mr Patrick Alexander Trimble Gordon entered as Tem-porary Acting Lieutenant (Sp) with seniority of 3 September 1957, and appointed for duty with Wellington Unit Sea Cadet Corps, to date 16 September 1957.

Dated at Wellington this 10th day of October 1957.

D. J. EYRE, Minister of Defence.

Promotions, Extensions of Commissions, Transfers, Termination and Cancellation of Commissions, Resignation and Retire-ment of Officers of the Royal New Zealand Air Force

PURSUANT to section 15 of the Royal New Zealand Air Force Act 1950, His Excellency the Governor-General has been pleased to approve the following promotions, extensions of commissions, transfers, termination and cancellation of com-missions, resignation and retirement of officers of the Royal New Zealand Air Force.

## **REGULAR AIR FORCE** GENERAL DUTIES BRANCH

## Extension of Commission

Flight Lieutenant Ian William Duff (130528) is granted an extension of his present commission until 1 June 1961.

Cancellation of Commission

The commission of Acting Pilot Officer John Leslie McEwen (347786) is cancelled, with effect from 3 October 1957.

TECHNICAL BRANCH Promotion

Engineer Division

Flight Lieutenant Gerard Keith Cotterill (70225) to be Acting Squadron Leader, with effect from 1 November 1957.

Extension of Commission

Flight Lieutenant Victor Hjorring, M.B.E. (73650), is granted an extension of his present commission for a period of six months, with effect from 31 December 1957.

### Administrative and Supply Branch

Transfer to the Retired List

Secretarial Division

Flight Lieutenant Raymond Frederick Short (70277) is transferred to the Retired List "A", with effect from 3 January 1958.

### Equipment Division

Flight Lieutenant Keith Murray McGill (70309) is trans-ferred to the Retired List "A", with effect from 8 January 1958.

### Promotions

Special Duties Division The under-mentioned Flying Officers to be Flight Lieu-tenants, with effect from the dates shown:

Douglas Elliott Wright, M.SC. (710286), 28 February 1957. Brian Anderson Woods, B.E. (817162), 3 May 1957. Michael Anson Maclean, M.SC. (710236), 4 May 1957. Raymond Francis Meyer, B.E. (817568), 26 May 1957. 1957.

# EDUCATION BRANCH

# Extension of Commission

Flight Lieutenant William Andrew Carson, B.A. (75621), is granted an extension of his present commission for a period of three years, with effect from 22 November 1957.

Resignation

Flying Officer Maurice Earl Webb (78946) resigns his commission, with effect from 20 October 1957.

### **RESERVE OF AIR FORCE OFFICERS**

Extensions of Commissions

The under-mentioned officers are granted extensions of their present commissions until 31 December 1961:

Squadron Leader (temp.) Kelvin Henry Day, A.M.I.A.A.E. (130312).

Flying Officer Derek Aylmer Leslie (130584).

### **Transfers**

Flying Officer Alexander Richard Haszard (72505) is transferred from the General Duties Branch, Regular Air Force, to the Reserve of Air Force Officers for a period of four years, with effect from 5 September 1957. Flight Lieutenant Ulysses Ian Dalgleish Runciman (70307) is transferred from the Administrative and Supply Branch (Equipment Division), Regular Air Force, to the Reserve of Air Force Officers for a period of four years, with effect from 23 October 1957.

## Termination of Commission

The commission of Flying Officer Bryan Norman McCook (72269) is terminated, with effect from 22 July 1957.

#### Retirement

Flying Officer Edward Owen Mildura Lyell (131873) is retired, with effect from 24 September 1957.

Dated at Wellington this 14th day of October 1957.

DEAN J. EYRE, Minister of Defence.

Appointment of Officers Under the Child Welfare Act 1925

PURSUANT to section 2 of the Child Welfare Act 1925, the Minister of Education hereby appoints:

Cathie, Jean Margaret, Racza, Michalina, and

Rangihau, John,

to be Child Welfare Officers for the purpose of the said Act. Dated at Wellington this 15th day of October 1957.

HILDA ROSS, for the Minister of Education.

Appointing a Commission to Inquire Into the Constitution of the Hutt Valley Underground Water Area

PURSUANT to section 4 of the Underground Water Act 1953, the Minister of Works hereby appoints

Frank Felix Reid, Esquire, of Christchurch, Stipendiary Magistrate;

Horace Edwin Fyfe, of Wellington, Chief Geologist, De-partment of Scientific and Industrial Research; and Harry Lancelot Hume, of Wellington, Civil Engineer, Ministry of Works;

to be a Commission of which the said Frank Felix Reid shall be Chairman:

- c Chairman:
  (a) To inquire into the proposals of the Lower Hutt City Council relating to the constitution of portions of the Hutt Valley as an underground water area and the constitution of an Underground Water Authority for that area comprising ten members of whom it is proposed the Lower Hutt City Council shall ap-point four members, the Wellington City Council shall appoint two members, and the Eastbourne Borough Council, the Hutt County Council, the Petone Borough Council, and the Upper Hutt Borough Council shall each appoint one member;
  (b) To consider all objections and appeals lodged in respect of those proposals; and
  (c) To report to me not later than the 31st day of March 1958 in accordance with subsection (6) of the said section 4 of the Underground Water Act.
  Dated at Wellington this 16th day of October 1957.

Dated at Wellington this 16th day of October 1957.

(P.W. 28/439/6)

W. S. GOOSMAN, Minister of Works.

No. 77