## Signals Division

Squadron Leader (temp.) Enoch Walter Clutterbuck (70233) to be Squadron Leader, with effect from 1 January

### ADMINISTRATIVE AND SUPPLY BRANCH

#### Promotions

# Secretarial Division

Group Captain (temp.) Bruce Roden Furkert, O.B.E. 70253), to be Group Captain, with effect from 1 January 1958.

Squadron Leader George William Martin (70258) to be temporary Wing Commander, with effect from 1 January 1958.

The under-mentioned officers to be Squadron Leaders, with effect from 1 January 1958:

Flight Lieutenant Geoffrey Leonard Belcher (70267). Flight Lieutenant Aubrey Leonard Herbert Forster, M.B.E. (70110).

Squadron Leader (temp.) Stanley Herbert Ward (70117).

### Equipment Division

Squadron Leader Edward George King (70297) to be Wing Commander, with effect from 1 January 1958.

The under-mentioned officers to be Squadron Leaders, with effect from 1 January 1958:

Squadron Leader (temp.) Erling Hastings Orbell (75605). Flight Lieutenant Morris Charles Pollard (70308).

## Special Duties Division

The under-mentioned officers to be Squadron Leaders, with effect from 1 January 1958:

Squadron Leader (temp.) Colin James Fraser (70100). Flight Lieutenant Trevelyan William Tremayne, M.B.E., A.R.A.E.S. (130138). Squadron Leader (temp.) John Maxwell Carr (72716). Squadron Leader (temp.) Geoffrey Bentley (73881).

Dated at Wellington this 31st day of January 1958.

PHILLIP G. CONNOLLY, Minister of Defence.

Appointments, Confirmation of Appointments, Promotions, Extensions of Commissions, Tranfers, Terminations, and Cancellations of Commissions, and Resignations of Officers of the Royal New Zealand Air Force

Pursuant to section 15 of the Royal New Zealand Air Force Act 1950, His Excellency the Governor-General has been pleased to approve the following appointments, confirmation of appointments, promotions, extensions of commissions, transfers, terminations, and cancellations of commissions, and resignations of officers of the Royal New Zealand Air Force.

# REGULAR AIR FORCE

# GENERAL DUTIES BRANCH

# Appointments

The under-mentioned cadet officers are granted short-service commissions in the General Duties Branch, Regular Air Force, for periods ending on the dates shown, to be followed by four years in the Reserve of Air Force Officers. They are appointed to the rank of Acting Pilot Officer, with seniority and with effect from 19 December 1957:

Anthony Michael Hawke (467038), 18 July 1963. David Leonard Ching (79198), 5 September 1963. John Mervyn Higgins (77282), 5 September 1963. Robert Charles Howe (927173), 13 November 1963. Donald Raymond Smith (77221), 5 September 1969. Bruce Pickering Bygate (75184), 5 September 1969. Ramon Thomas Farmer (826747), 13 November 1969.

The under-mentioned cadet officers are granted short-service commissions in the General Duties Branch, Regular Air Force, for a period of four years, to be followed by four years in the Reserve of Air Force Officers. They are appointed to the rank of Acting Pilot Officer, with seniority and with effect from 19 December 1957:

David St. John Knott (345782). John Kirwin Lay (596239). Julian Michael Mathieson (715818). Derek Mileman (553542). Ian Samuel Ritchie (897890). Noel James Stewart Rodger (346442).

# Confirmation of Appointments

The under-mentioned Acting Pilot Officers are confirmed in their appointments and granted the rank of Pilot Officer, with effect from 18 December 1957.

Warwick Anthony Batten (920725).
Russell Desmond Branks (974001).
Ian William Collins (77855).
Peter John Graham, B.Sc. (330579).
Roger Andrew Gray (921110).
Garry Richard Hilder (464591).
Alistair Gordon McLean (677237). Alistair Gotton Mackey (714527). Colin John Mackey (714527). Peter Craig Pennell (78672). Rex Graeme Register (77846). Peter William Tremayne (78673).

#### Promotion

Flying Officer Arthur Alister Henderson (75051) to be Flight Lieutenant, with effect from 3 December 1957.

# Extension of Commission

Flight Lieutenant Graeme Stuart Potts (578398) is granted an extension of his present commission ending 20 November 1963.

### Cancellations of Commissions

The commissions of the under-mentioned Acting Pilot Officers are cancelled, with effect from the dates shown:

James Victor Haskell (569503), 30 November 1957. Neil Macalister Grant (597136), 13 December 1957. Barrie Vere Waller (714342), 23 December 1957. John Robin Edwards Harger (466112), 2 January 1958.

# Resignation

Pilot Officer William Hector Howell (75632) resigns his commission, with effect from 6 January 1958.

# EDUCATION BRANCH

#### Extension of Commission

Flight Lieutenant Harold Bert Hayward (74142) is granted an extension of his present commission for a period of five years, with effect from 18 January 1958.

## WOMEN'S ROYAL NEW ZEALAND AIR FORCE

## REGULAR SECTION

#### Resignation

Section Officer Helen Margaret Wesney (77305) resigns her commission, with effect from 21 November 1957.

## AIR TRAINING CORPS

## A ppointment

Frederick George Swindells is granted a commission in the Air Training Corps with the rank of Pilot Officer, with effect from 4 December 1957.

# Terminations of Commissions

The commissions of the under-mentioned officers are terminated, with effect from 8 January 1958:

Flight Lieutenant Albert John Rawstorn. Flight Lieutenant (temp.) Cyril Napier McLean.

# RESERVE OF AIR FORCE OFFICERS

# Promotion, Transfer, and Extension of Commission

Flying Officer Charles Alexander George (130364) is granted the temporary rank of Flight Lieutenant, is transferred from the Administrative and Supply Branch (Special Duties Division), to the General Duties Branch, and is granted an extension of his present commission for a period of four years, with effect from 1 January 1958.

# Extensions of Commissions

The under-mentioned officers are granted extensions of their present commissions for periods ending on the dates shown:

Wing Commander Roy Currie Buchanan, D.F.C., B.E. (133368), 10 November 1961.
Flight Lieutenant Arthur Norman Sames, D.F.C. (132862),

6 April 1961. Flight Lieutenant Thomas Palmer Lidgard, M.Sc. (133714),

27 April 1961.
Flight Lieutenant (temp.) Harold William Boon Webber,
B.A. (133741), 1 April 1961.
Flight Lieutenant (temp.) Averill John Thornton (133770),
14 December 1961.

The under-mentioned officers are granted extensions of their present commissions until 31 December 1961:

Flight Lieutenant Cyril Claude Newton (130877). Flight Lieutenant Vincent Dudley Rabone (130572) Flight Lieutenant Eric David Vallance, A.R.A.N.Z. (1308 Flying Officer Kenneth Fergus Hodson (130587)

The under-mentioned officers are granted extensions of their present commissions for a period of four years, with effect from the dates shown:

Squadron Leader (temp.) Raymond William George Emery (130357), 1 July 1957.
Flight Lieutenant Alexander Colville (133673), 25 Novem-

ber 1957.

Flight Lieutenant James Thomas Coltman (130106), 28 February 1958.
Pilot Officer (temp.) Bruce Leonard Cathie (130702), 9 June 1957.

The under-mentioned officers are granted extensions of their present commissions for a period of four years, with effect from 1 January 1958:

Flight Lieutenant (temp.) William Charles Phillips (130397). Flying Officer (temp.) Noel O'Kane Hobbs (130374). Flying Officer (temp.) James Keith Ward (130909).