Retention of Title of "Honourable"

THE following despatch, received from the Secretary of State for Commonwealth Relations, is published for general information.

Dated at Wellington this 19th day of December 1957.

W. T. ANDERTON, Minister of Internal Affairs.

New Zealand Honours No. 27.

Commonwealth Relations Office, Downing Street, S.W.1. 18th November 1957.

My Lord,

I have the honour to acknowledge the receipt of Your Excellency's despatch No. 29 of the 9th October, and to request you to inform your Ministers that the Queen has been pleased to approve of the retention of the title of "Honourable" by Mr Ernest Bowyer Corbett, formerly Minister of Maori Affairs and Minister of Lands and Forests, New Zealand.

A notification to this effect will be published in the London Gazette.

Gazette.

I have the honour to be, My Lord, Your Excellency's most obedient humble servant, HOME.

Governor-General,

His Excellency
The Rt. Hon. Viscount Cobham, G.C.M.G., T.D.

Time and Place of Election by Fire Insurance Companies to Fill an Extraordinary Vacancy on the Fire Board for the Gisborne Urban Fire District

Pursuant to the Fire Services Act 1949, the Minister of Internal Affairs hereby appoints 12 noon on Thursday, 20 January 1958, as the time, and the offices of the Fire and Accident Underwriters' Association, Victoria Arcade, Auckland, as the place for the holding of a meeting of representatives of insurance companies carrying on business in New Zealand to elect a member on the Fire Board for the Gisborne Urban Fire District.

Dated at Wellington this 24th day of December 1957.

W. T. ANDERTON, Minister of Internal Affairs. (I.A. 4/53)

Result of Election by Fire Insurance Companies to Fill an Extraordinary Vacancy on the Fire Board for the Lawrence Urban Fire District

PURSUANT to the Fire Services Act 1949, the Minister of Internal Affairs hereby gives notice of the following result of the election held on 19 December 1957 by the fire insurance companies carrying on business in New Zealand to fill an extraordinary vacancy on the Fire Board for the Lawrence Ilrhan Fire District: Urban Fire District:

Lawrence Fire Board

Dated at Wellington this 24th day of December 1957.

W. T. ANDERTON, Minister of Internal Affairs.

(I.A. 4/91)

New Year Honours List

His Excellency the Governor-General has announced that The Queen has been graciously pleased, on the occasion of the New Year, to confer the following honours:

CIVIL DIVISION

Knight Commander of the Most Excellent Order of the British Empire (K.B.E.)-

The Honourable Kenneth Macfarlane Gresson, of Wellington.

Mr William Edward Hale, C.B.E., of Turua, Hauraki Plains. Dr Ernest Marsden, C.M.G., C.B.E., M.C., of Wellington.

Companion of the Most Distinguished Order of Saint Michael and Saint George (C.M.G.)—

Dr Donald Dixon McKenzie, of Auckland.

Commander of the Most Excellent Order of the British Empire (C.B.E.)-

Mr John Peter Douglas Johnsen, of Wellington. The Honourable John Thomas Paul, of Wellington. Mr Ernest Dawson Wilkinson, of Papatoetoe.

Officer of the Most Excellent Order of the British Empire (O.B.E.)—

Mrs Doreen Annie Grace Bray, of Papatoetoe.
Mr Ralph Searle Chadwick, of Hastings.
Mr William James Gaudin, of Paekakariki.
Mr William Percy Glue, of Christchurch.
Mrs Lila Hunt, of Fencourt, Cambridge.
Captain David Norman McLeish, of Wellington.
Mr Robert Matthew Strang, of Invercargill.
Mr Harold Douglas Tait, of Hamilton.
Mr Te Hana Taua Tamaka, of Hawera.
Mr Austin George Wilson, of Auckland.
Dr Philip Randal Woodhouse, D.S.O., M.C., V.D., of St. Andrews, South Canterbury.

Member of the Most Excellent Order of the British Empire (M.B.E.)-

Mrs Ivy Alma Aldridge, of Invercargill.

Mrs Ivy Alma Aldridge, of Invercargill.
Mr Albert Charles Buist, of Feilding.
Mr William Havilah Down, of Christchurch.
Mrs Janet Cunningham Evans, of Maungati, Timaru.
Mr William Richardson Fee, of Auckland.
Mr Norman Basil Fippard, of Hastings.
Mr Albert Edward Greig, of Picton.
Mr Samuel Lawn, of Dunedin.
Mr Ronald McCaw, of Hamilton.
Mr Frank Parsons, of Whenuakura, Taranaki.
Mrs Adelaide Rose, of Christchurch.
Mr William John Schollum, of Puhoi, Northland.
Mr Reginald William Sparrow, of Upper Takaka.
Mrs Rumatiki Wright, of Raetihi.

British Empire Medal (B.E.M.)-

Sergeant Norman Kempt, New Zealand Police Force, of Pahiatua.

The Queen's Fire Service Medal-

Chief Fire Officer Llewellyn Bernard Davies, of Huntly. Chief Fire Officer James William Grant, of Greymouth.

MILITARY DIVISION

Companion of the Most Honourable Order of the Bath (C.B.)— Air Vice-Marshal Cyril Eyton Kay, C.B.E., D.F.C., Royal New Zealand Air Force, of Wellington.

Commander of the Most Excellent Order of the British Empire (C.B.E.)—

Commodore George Raymond Davis-Goff, D.S.C., Royal New Zealand Navy, of Auckland.

Officer of th (O.B.E.) of the Most Excellent Order of the British Empire

Captain Leonard Stanley Stanners, Royal New Zealand

Captain Leonard Stanley Stanners, Royal New Zealand Navy, of Wellington.

Commander Robert Lindsay Laurenson, v.R.D., Royal New Zealand Naval Volunteer Reserve, of Christchurch.

Lieutenant-Colonel Cecil Clifton Johansen, E.D., The Royal New Zealand Infantry (Territorial Force), of Plimmerton.

Squadron Leader Eric Desmond McCabe, Royal New Zealand Air Force Reserve, of Wellington.

Member of the Most Excellent Order of the British Empire (M.B.E.)—

(M.B.É.)—

Second Officer Mary Vernon Morten, Women's Royal New Zealand Naval Service, of Christchurch.

Major John Francis Spring, The Royal New Zealand Artillery (Regular Force), of Linton.

Major William Douglas Leuchars, Royal New Zealand Armoured Corps (Territorial Force), of Wellington.

Warrant Officer First Class Ian Frederick Forsyth, The New Zealand Regiment (Regular Force), of Waiouru Warrant Officer First Class Lewis Albert Ims, The Royal New Zealand Army Service Corps (Territorial Force), of Titahi Bay.

Squadron Leader Frederick Lancelot Pearson, Royal New Zealand Air Force Reserve, of Auckland.

Squadron Leader Jack Brusso Spencer, Royal New Zealand Air Force Reserve, of Auckland.

Air Force Reserve, of Auckland.

Air Force Cross (A.F.C.)-

Flight Lieutenant James Hirst Bayliss, Royal New Zealand Air Force, of Auckland.

Associate of the Royal Red Cross (A.R.R.C.)-

Matron Edna Judith Lepper, The Royal New Zealand Nursing Corps (Territorial Force), of Dunedin.

British Empire Medal (B.E.M.)-

Master-at-Arms John Vincent Thomson, Royal New Zealand

Master-at-Arms John Vincent Thomson, Royal New Zealand Navy, of Auckland.
Sick Berth Chief Petty Officer Joseph Steel Mitchell, Royal New Zealand Navy, of Auckland.
Chief Ordnance Artificer Trevor Graham Lloyd, Royal New Zealand Navy, of Auckland.
Stores Chief Petty Officer Warwick Garth Benjamin Suckling, Royal New Zealand Naval Volunteer Reserve, of Auckland.
Engine Room Artificer First Class Basil Bertram French

Of Auckland.

Engine Room Artificer First Class Basil Bertram French,
Royal New Zealand Navy, of Auckland.

Bombadier James Patrick Horn, The Royal New Zealand
Artillery (Regular Force), of Burnham.

Staff Sergeant William Lindsay Hall, The Royal New Zealand
Electrical and Mechanical Engineers (Regular Force),
of Auckland.

Sergeant Donald James Cameron Malcolm Royal New

Sergeant Donald James Cameron Malcolm, Royal New Zealand Air Force Reserve, of Auckland.

Flight Sergeant Leonard Meeking, Royal New Zealand Air Force, of Feilding.

Commendation for Valuable Services in the Air-

Squadron Leader Kenneth Allister Sawyer, D.F.C., Royal New Zealand Air Force, of Ohakea. Flight Lieutenant Thomas Joseph Danaher, Royal New Zealand Air Force, of New Lynn, Auckland.

D. E. FOUHY, Official Secretary.