Birthday Honours List

His Excellency the Governor-General has announced that the Queen has been graciously pleased, on the occasion of the celebration of Her Majesty's Birthday, to confer the following honours:

CIVIL DIVISION

Knight Commander of the Most Excellent Order of the British Empire (K.B.E.).

Dr Charles Ritchie Burns, o.B.E., of Wellington Professor Frederick Horace Smirk, of Dunedin.

Companion of the Most Distinguished Order of Saint Michael and Saint George (C.M.G.).

Dr John Cawte Beaglehole, of Wellington. Mr James Roberts, of Wellington.

Commander of the Most Excellent Order of the British Empire (C.B.E.).

Dr Gilbert Edward Archey, o.B.E., of Auckland. Mr James Leggat, of Christchurch. Dr Campbell Percy McMeekan, of Hamilton. Dr David Miller, of Nelson.

Officer of the Most Excellent Order of the British Empire (O.B.E.).

Mr Geoffrey Thomas Alley, of Upper Hutt.
Miss Estelle Beere, of Wellington.
The Reverend Colin Douglas Charles Caswell, of Auckland.
Mr Ernest Charles Empson, of Christchurch.
Dr Trevor Hatherton, of Wellington.
Mr Joseph Holmes Miller, of Masterton.
Dr Cecily Mary Wise Pickerill, of Silverstream, Wellington.
Mr Thomas Athol Rafter, of Wellington.
Mr William Stanley Norman Rennie, of Wanganui.
Miss Emily Elizabeth Stephens, of Auckland.
Mr John Weeks, of Auckland.

Companion of the Imperial Service Order (I.S.O.).

Dr Leslie Isott Grange, of Wellington.

Member of the Most Excellent Order of the British Empire (M.B.E.).

Mr Vincent Aspey, of Wellington.
Mr Ralph Ewart Barley, of Hastings.
Mrs Kathleen Buckle, of Kaitaia.
Chief Superintendent William Carran, New Zealand Police Chief Superintendent William Carran, New Zealand Police Force, of Auckland.

Mr Percy William Jones Cockerill, of Timaru.

Mrs Agnes Emily Aurora Faulkner, of Tauranga.

Mrs Kathleen Janet Ford, of Christchurch.

Mrs Malama Tagalok Vaiola Head, of Niue Island.

Mrs Violet Blanche Hollings, of Auckland.

Mr Henry Valentine Horlor, of Lower Hutt.

Miss Agnes Mary Kearns, of Palmerston North.

Miss Ngarangi Putiputi Te Kura Kohere, of Dannevirke.

Captain Raymond Arthur Parker, of Auckland.

Mr James Malcolm Patrick, of Dunedin.

Miss Ellen Alma Rose, of Riverton (formerly of Waipukurau).

rau).

Mr Oscar Silbery, of Petone. Mr Thomas Stewart Spencer, of Bluff.

Queen's Police Medal for Distinguished Service (Q.P.M.).

Assistant Commissioner Percy James Nalder, M.v.o., New Zealand Police Force, of Wellington.

British Empire Medal (B.E.M.).

Senior Sergeant Alonzo George Edgar Beal, New Zealand

Police Force, of Bluff.
Mr John Richard Lucas, of Mount Eden, Auckland.
Mr William Smith, of Auckland.

Imperial Service Medal (I.S.M.).

Mr Howard Weston Vass, of Lower Hutt.

MILITARY DIVISION

Knight Commander of the Most Excellent Order of the British Empire (K.B.E.).

Major-General Keith Lindsay Stewart, C.B., C.B.E., D.S.O., Generals' List (Retired), of Kerikeri Central.

Major-General William George Gentry, C.B., C.B.E., D.S.O., Generals' List (Retired), of Lower Hutt.

Commander of the Most Excellent Order of the British Empire (C.B.E.).

ir Commodore Charles Campbell Hunter, o.B.E., Royal New Zealand Air Force, of Wellington.

Officer of the Most Excellent Order of the British Empire (O.B.E.).

Lieutenant-Colonel Warren John Boyd, E.D., The Royal New Zealand Army Medical Corps (Territorial Force), of Wanganui.

Major (Temporary Lieutenant-Colonel) Raymond Francis Smith, E.D., Royal New Zealand Infantry Corps (Territorial Force), of Rotorua.

Wing Commander Arnold Eric Cockburn, Royal New Zealand Air Force, of Trentham.

Member of t (M.B.E.). the Most Excellent Order of the British Empire

Lieutenant (S.D.) Trevor Harry Wickman (TAS), Royal New Zealand Navy, of Christchurch. Major William Aitchison Driscoll McComb, E.D., The Royal

New Zealand Army Service Corps (Territorial Force), of Auckland.

Major Frank Dupree McWha, A.D.C., The Royal New Zealand Electrical and Mechanical Engineers, of Auckland. Flight Lieutenant Edward Lunn, E.D., Royal New Zealand

Flight Lieutenant Edward Lunn, E.D., Royal New Zealand Air Force, of Christchurch.
Flight Lieutenant Francis Davitt Mandival Moran, Royal New Zealand Air Force Reserve, of Stoke, Nelson.
Warrant Officer 1st Class George Henry, The Royal New Zealand Artillery, of Wanganui.
Warrant Officer 1st Class Cecil Max Schwass, The New Zealand Regiment, of Waiouru.

Air Force Cross (A.F.C.).

Squadron Leader John Richard Claydon, Royal New Zealand Air Force, of Christchurch.
Squadron Leader Keith Bishop Smith, Royal New Zealand Air Force, of Whenuapai.

British Empire Medal (B.E.M.).

Chief Electrical Artificer Thomas Gaylor, Royal New Zealand Navy, of Auckland.
Chief Radio Electrician Peter David Mulgrew, Royal New Zealand Navy, of Lower Hutt.
Petty Officer Walter John Douglas, Royal New Zealand Navy, of Auckland.
Mechanician First Class Roy Alphonsus Berwick, Royal New Zealand Navy, of Auckland.
Engineroom Artificer Second Class Frank Desmond Rastrick, Royal New Zealand Naval Volunteer Reserve, of Auckland.

Auckland.
Staff Sergeant Ramon Tinsley, The New Zealand Regiment, of Linton.

of Linton.
Flight Sergeant Richard James Ruscoe, Royal New Zealand Air Force, of Woodbourne, Blenheim.
Sergeant Laurence Walter Tarr, Royal New Zealand Air Force, of Thames.
Sergeant William Rink, Royal New Zealand Air Force, of Whenuapai.

D. E. FOUHY, Official Secretary.

Specifications Declared to be Standard Specifications

PURSUANT to the Standards Act 1941 and the regulations made thereunder, the Minister of Industries and Commerce, on 5 June 1958, declared the under-mentioned specifications to be standard specifications:

Number and Title of Specification (Post Free) N.Z.S.S. 343: 1958: Wire ropes for lifts and hoists; being B.S. 329:1957; (superseding N.Z.S.S. 343; being B.S. 329:1951)
N.Z.S.S. 1329:1958: Copper and copper alloys: Tubes; being B.S. 2871:1957 s. d. 6 0 15 0

Application for copies should be made to the N.Z. Standards Institute, Hamilton Chambers, 201 Lambton Quay (P.O. Box 195), Wellington C. 1.

Dated at Wellington this 11th day of June 1958.

L. J. McDONALD, Executive Officer, Standards Council.

Standard Specifications Revoked

PURSUANT to the Standards Act 1941 and the regulations made thereunder, the Minister of Industries and Commerce, on 19 May 1958, revoked the under-mentioned standard specifications:

Number and Title of Specification

N.Z.S.S. 195: Valves, gauges, and other safety fittings for land boiler installations; being B.S. 759: 1950, amended to meet New Zealand requirements.

N.Z.S.S. 442: Lead pipes B.N.F. ternary alloy (No. 2); being B.S. 603: 1941.

Dated at Wellington this 29th day of May 1958.

L. J. McDONALD, Executive Officer, Standards Council.