#### Relinquishments

Retinquishments

Air Vice Marshal Cyril Eyton Kay, C.B., C.B.E., D.F.C., F.R.MET.S., i.d.c., p.s.a., RNZAF, relinquishes the appointment of Chief of the Air Staff and First Member of the Air Board and also the appointment of Air Officer Commanding Royal New Zealand Air Force. Dated 30 June, 1958.

Air Commodore Malcolm Frederick Calder, C.B., C.B.E., LL.B., i.d.c., RNZAF, relinquishes the appointment of Assistant Chief of the Air Staff and Member of the Air Board. Dated 30 June, 1958.

Dated at Wellington this 21st day of May 1958.

PHILLIP G. CONNOLLY, Minister of Defence.

Appointments, Confirmation of Appointment, Promotion, Extensions, and Cancellation of Commissions of Officers of the Royal New Zealand Air Force

Pursuant to section 15 of the Royal New Zealand Air Force Act 1950, His Excellency the Governor-General has been pleased to approve the following appointments, confirmation of appointment, promotion, extensions, and cancellation of commissions of officers of the Royal New Zealand Air Force Air Force.

#### REGULAR AIR FORCE

GENERAL DUTIES BRANCH

Cancellation of Commission

The commission of Acting Pilot Officer Anthony Michael Hawke (467038) is cancelled, with effect from 17 June 1958.

## WOMEN'S ROYAL NEW ZEALAND AIR FORCE

REGULAR SECTION

Extension of Commission

Flight Officer Isabel Skelton (76144) is granted an extension her present commission for a period of five years, with effect from 14 May 1958.

## TERRITORIAL AIR FORCE

GENERAL DUTIES BRANCH

Transfers

The under-mentioned Flight Lieutenants are transferred from the General Duties Branch, Reserve of Air Force Officers, to the Territorial Air Force for a period of five years to be followed by four years in the Reserve of Air Force Officers, with effect from the dates shown:

Rex Frederick Cording (72509), 3 March 1958. Frank Victor Honey (75180), 1 April 1958.

## ADMINISTRATIVE AND SUPPLY BRANCH

Confirmation of Appointment

Secretarial Division

Acting Pilot Officer Stuart Richard Holford (712242) is confirmed in his appointment and granted the rank of Pilot Officer, with effect from 28 February 1958.

## RESERVE OF AIR FORCE OFFICERS

Appointment and Promotion

Flight Lieutenant Randal Forbes Elliott, M.B., CH.B., F.R.C.S., F.R.A.C.S., D.O.(LONDON), R.C.P., R.C.S. (133920), is appointed to the position of Consultant Ophthalmologist to the Army and Air Departments, and is granted the rank of Squadron Leader, with effect from 19 May 1958.

## Appointment

The Rev. Christopher Fleming Feehly (134176) is granted a commission in the Chaplains Branch, Reserve of Air Force Officers, for a period of four years in the rank of Flight Lieutenant, with effect from 22 April 1958.

## Extensions of Commissions

The under-mentioned officers are granted extensions of their present commissions for a period of four years, with effect from the dates shown:

Flight Lieutenant Stanley Lester Dodwell (133887), 19 July 1958. Pilot Officer (temp.) James Anderson MacPherson

lot Officer (temp.) (326058), 31 May 1958.

The under-mentioned officers are granted extensions of their present commissions until the dates shown:

John Roy Butcher (131394), 12 June 1962. William Moffat Murray, p.r.c. (131712), 2 July 1962.

## Flight Lieutenants-

Herbert John Robertson (133580), 31 August 1960. Stanley Joseph Paine (133137), 18 February 1962. Eric Paul Brasted, M.B., CH.B., D.C.H.(LONDON) (131397), 14 May 1962. James David McKewen (131710), 2 July 1962. John Matheson Nicolson (131706) 2 July 1962. Geoffrey Charles Russell Pannell, D.F.C. (131721), 2 July 1962

1962.

Stanley Maurice George Peryer, D.F.C. (131730), 2 July 1962. Ernest Laurie Page (131740), 11 July 1962. Ray Milsom Petterson (131742), 11 July 1962. Albert Roy Hunter Stevenson (131772), 11 July 1962. Dawson Joseph Cunningham (131832), 24 July 1962. Ronald Sydney Jones, M.SC., (131877), 30 July 1962.

#### Flying Officers-

Walter Dearden Dunkley (131384), 5 June 1962. Gordon Asher Cassrels (131361), 12 June 1962. Wilfred George Newfield (131704), 2 July 1962. Leonard Cecil Sadler, A.F.C. (131791), 11 July 1962.

## Transfers

The under-mentioned Flight Lieutenants are transferred from the General Duties Branch, Regular Air Force, to the Reserve of Air Force Officers for a period of four years, with effect from the dates shown:

Mafeking Baden Powell Pere (551391), 16 May 1958. Richard Arthur Currin (74961), 18 May 1958.

Flying Officer Alwyn Gordon Vette (130945) is transferred from the General Duties Branch, Regular Air Force, to the Reserve of Air Force Officers for a period of four years, with effect from 5 May 1958.

Pilot Officer Stuart Richard Holford (712242) is transferred from the Administrative and Supply Branch (Secretarial Division), Territorial Air Force, to the Reserve of Air Force Officers for a period of four years, with effect from 26 May 1958

Dated at Wellington this 10th day of June 1958.

PHILLIP G. CONNOLLY, Minister of Defence.

Board Appointed to Have Control of Opotiki Aerodrome Site

PURSUANT to the Reserves and Domains Act 1953, the Minister of Lands hereby appoints

Scott Drummond Abbot, Frank Appleton, William Alexander Butler, John Thomas Clark,
John David Dicker,
William Alexander Gault,
Robson Anthony Hedley,
Arthur John McCallion, and
George Septimus Moody

to be a special Board by the name of the Opotiki Aerodrome Board (hereinafter referred to as the Board) to have control of the reserve described in the Schedule hereto, subject to the provisions of the said Act, as a reserve for a site for an aerodrome for the period from the date hereof until the 7th day of February 1964, with the powers and subject to the following special conditions:

ing special conditions:

1. The Board shall maintain the aerodrome as a public aerodrome and landing ground for aircraft, and shall keep same available for aircraft generally without giving or granting to any individual or body any rights or privileges contrary to the use and maintenance thereof as an aerodrome for the benefit of the general air-travelling public.

2. The Board shall have the right, subject to the approval of the Minister of Lands (hereinafter referred to as the Minister), to lease the aerodrome or any part thereof for such period and on such terms and conditions as may be approved by the Minister.

3. The Board shall comply with the provisions of the Noxious Weeds Act 1950.

4. The Board shall administer the aerodrome in accordance with the Civil Aviation Act 1948 and the regulations made thereunder.

with the Civil Aviation Act 1948 and the regulations made thereunder.

5. The Crown shall have the right, privilege, and easement to enter on the aerodrome for the purpose of developing, constructing, and using the said aerodrome, and for that purpose shall have full power and authority by its servants, agents, and workmen, to do such acts and construct all such works as are usual, necessary, and proper, and to cut down and remove such trees as may be necessary for the purposes of making the said land suitable for an aerodrome.

6. The Board shall have prepared and submitted, at an annual meeting to be held in the month of May in each year, a report of the proceedings of the Board for the previous year ending on the 31st day of March, together with a statement of the receipts and expenditure of the Board for such year. A copy of every such report and statement certified by the Chairman to be correct, shall be sent to the Minister of Lands and a further copy to the Minister of Civil Aviation as soon as possible after each annual meeting.

## **SCHEDULE**

# GISBORNE LAND DISTRICT

ALLOTMENT 333, Waioeka Parish, situated in Block III, Opotiki Survey District: Area, 109 acres 1 rood 9 perches, more or less. (S.O. Plan 3989.)

Dated at Wellington this 11th day of June 1958.

وداعل والمثل R. BOORD, for the Minister of Lands. (L. and S. H.O. 6/11/86; D.O. 8/375)