## 18 JUNE

Flight Lieutenants:

Robert Arden Caldwell (131364), 13 April 1963. Kenneth Ewen Stanley Fenwick (130894), 30 April 1963. Flight Lieutenant (*temp.*) Stuart Hector Richmond, M.A. (134190), 3 February 1963.

## Flying Officers:

Oswald Charles Abbott (131610), 12 June 1962. Peter Hunter Dunne (132578), 13 June 1963. Sherard Toon (130763), 25 June 1963. Robert James Scott (70172), 27 June 1963. Peter Jackson Keddell (133521), 30 June 1963.

Pilot Officer Maxwell Stuart Butterton (133653), 29 June 1963.

#### Transfer

Flight Lieutenant (temp.) Mervyn Andrew Jillings (134052) is transferred from the Technical Branch (Signals Division), Territorial Air Force, to the Reserve of Air Force Officers for a period of four years, with effect from 19 May 1959.

#### Transfer to the Retired List

Group Captain John Joseph Busch, O.B.E. (130338), is transferred to the Retired List "B", with effect from 31 De-cember 1958.

#### Retirements

The under-mentioned Flight Lieutenants are retired, with effect from the dates shown:

Alan Douglas Cross (70185), 5 May 1959. Mervyn Leslie Browne, M.SC. (130922), 30 June 1959. Dated at Wellington this 5th day of June 1959.

PHILLIP G. CONNOLLY, Minister of Defence.

Appointment, Promotions, Extensions of Commissions, and Dates of Retirement of Officers of the Royal New Zealand Air Force

PURSUANT to section 15 of the Royal New Zealand Air Force Act 1950, His Excellency the Governor-General has been pleased to approve the following appointment, promotions, ex-tensions of commissions, and dates of retirement of officers of the Royal New Zealand Air Force.

# **REGULAR AIR FORCE** GENERAL DUTIES BRANCH

Promotions

Flight Lieutenant (temp.) Harold Guy Barlow (76419) to be Flight Lieutenant, with effect from 2 June 1959.

The under-mentioned Flying Officers to be Flight Lieu-tenants, with effect from 2 June 1959:

Ian Arthur Johnson (73490). John Ernest Lucas (71081). Ivan Noel Moran, A.F.M. (71809).

The under-mentioned Pilot Officers to be Flying Officers, with effect from 23 May 1959:

Briect from 25 May 1957. Brian Gordon Anderson (915197). Roger Hampton Binney (77887). Roger Vivian Dalziell (623875). William Jack Griffiths (78948). Terence Mills (462082). John Brooke Rawlinson (785463). Maurice William Desmond Robinson (896551).

TECHNICAL BRANCH

Extension of Date of Retirement

The age for retirement of Flight Lieutenant William John Horton (70224) is extended for a further period of one year, with effect from 1 April 1959.

#### Promotion

Flying Officer Alec Fraser Johnston (71298) to be Flight Lieutenant, with effect from 2 June 1959.

#### ADMINISTRATIVE AND SUPPLY BRANCH

Promotions Secretarial Division

Secretarial Division Wing Commander (temp.) George William Martin (70258) to be Wing Commander, with effect from 25 May 1959. Squadron Leader Melville Harry Scott Innes-Jones, A.R.A.E.S. (70257), to be Wing Commander, with effect from 25 May 1959. Flight Lieutenant (temp.) Graham Bernard Mead (71141) to be Flight Lieutenant, with effect from 2 June 1959. The under-mentioned Flying Officers to be Flight Lieu-tenants, with effect from 2 June 1959: Bater David Barbar (72211)

Peter David Barker (73211). Ivan Ross Hamilton (71047).

Wanganui Technical College Cadets

2nd Lieutenant I. M. L. Rennie, M.A. (HONS.), to be Lieutenant. Dated 11 February 1959.

Whakatane High School Cadets

Douglas Charles Horsley to be 2nd Lieutenant (on prob.). Dated 1 February 1959. Peter John Arthur Best, B.A., to be 2nd Lieutenant (on prob.). Dated 1 April 1959.

#### **RESERVE OF OFFICERS**

Regimental List

Royal N.Z. Chaplains Department

The Rev. Donald Vully de Candole, Chaplain 3rd Class (Church of England), Area 5, is posted to the Retired List. Dated 7 May 1959.

#### General List

The following are posted to the Retired List:

Royal Regiment of N.Z. Artillery

Captain Winston Betheridge Topp. Dated 18 May 1959.

The Corps of Royal N.Z. Engineers Lieutenant Harold Cole. Dated 16 May 1959.

Royal N.Z. Infantry Corps Captain Alfred Anthony Cleghorn. Captain Ronald Foster Hayes. Captain Lindsay Mackie Miller. Lieutenant Alan Underwood McCurdy.

Dated 1 May 1959. Royal N.Z. Army Service Corps

Captain George Fordyce, E.D. Dated 1 May 1959.

N.Z. Cadet Corps

Lieutenant Frank McLean. Dated 1 May 1959.

Dated at Wellington this 13th day of June 1959. PHILLIP G. CONNOLLY, Minister of Defence.

Appointments, Extensions of Commissions, Transfers, and Retirements of Officers of the Royal New Zealand Air Force

PURSUANT to section 15 of the Royal New Zealand Air Force Act 1950, His Excellency the Governor-General has been pleased to approve the following appointments, extensions of commissions, transfers, and retirements of officers of the Royal New Zealand Air Force.

## **REGULAR AIR FORCE**

GENERAL DUTIES BRANCH

Appointment

Flight Lieutenant John Mahiti Wilson, LL.B. (132510), to be temporary Squadron Leader, with effect from 12 May 1959.

## CHAPLAINS BRANCH

#### Appointment

The Rev. Struan Athol Robertson, B.A. (79377), is granted a short-service commission in the Chaplains Branch, Regular Air Force, for a period of five years to be followed by four years in the Reserve of Air Force Officers. He is appointed to the rank of Flight Lieutenant, with seniority and with effect from 20 May 1959.

### AIR TRAINING CORPS

## A ppointments

Allan Frank Crane is granted a commission in the Air Training Corps in the rank of Flight Lieutenant with seniority from 6 May 1948, with effect from 6 May 1959.

The under-mentioned are granted commissions in the Air Training Corps in the rank of Pilot Officer, with seniority and with effect from the dates shown:

Rev. Michael Vincent Curtain, 8 May 1959. Raymond Edward Hay, B.A., B.Sc., 9 May 1959.

### Transfer to the Retired List

Squadron Leader Ian Alexander Campbell is transferred to the Retired List "B", with effect from 25 May 1959.

## RESERVE OF AIR FORCE OFFICERS

Extensions of Commissions

The under-mentioned officers are granted extensions of their present commissions until the dates shown:

Wing Commander John Tregonwell Davison, O.B.E., G.M., j.s.s.c. (70020), 1 July 1963.

#### Squadron Leaders:

- Arthur Montague Harvie, A.F.C., M.A. (131486), 4 June 1963.
  John Fletcher Gabites, D.SC. (M.I.T.), M.SC.(N.Z.), (130925), 29 June 1963.
  Squadron Leader (temp.) John Victor Lill (70310), 2 January 1963.

Engineer Division

Signals Division