Setting Apart Maori Freehold Land as a Maori Reservation

# COBHAM, Governor-General ORDER IN COUNCIL

At the Government House at Wellington this 1st day of September 1959.

Present:

HIS EXCELLENCY THE GOVERNOR-GENERAL IN COUNCIL

Pursuant to section 439 of the Maori Affairs Act 1953, His Excellency the Governor-General, acting by and with the advice and consent of the Executive Council, hereby sets apart the Maori freehold land described in the Schedule hereto as a Maori reservation for the purpose of a meeting place, recreational ground, and burial ground for the common use and benefit of the owners of the Poukawa Reserve Block and their descendants, and the Maori residents of the Te Hauke Tribal Committee area as defined under the Maori Social and Economic Advancement Act 1945.

### **SCHEDULE**

# HAWKE'S BAY LAND DISTRICT

Block and Area Survey District A. R. P. Block and 4 1 33.5 Poukawa 11T, 11U, and 11W ..... IX, Te Mata T. J. SHERRARD, Clerk of the Executive Council. (M.A. 21/3/357)

Validating Proceedings in Connection with the Matamata County Council's Loan of £50,000

# COBHAM, Governor-General ORDER IN COUNCIL

At the Government House at Wellington this 1st day of September 1959.

Present:

HIS EXCELLENCY THE GOVERNOR-GENERAL IN COUNCIL

WHEREAS the Matamata County Council is proceeding by way of special order to raise a loan of £50,000 to be known as the Rural Housing Loan 1959:

And whereas the special order made by the said Council to raise the said loan was irregular or defective in that there was an interval of less than 14 days between the two notifications required by paragraph (c) of section 87 of the Counties Act 1956:

And whereas it appears that the raterways of the district

Counties Act 1956:

And whereas it appears that the ratepayers of the district have not been misled by such irregularity or defect as aforesaid, and it is expedient to validate the same:

Now, therefore, pursuant to section 130 of the Local Authorities Loans Act 1956, His Excellency the Governor-General, acting by and with the advice and consent of the Executive Council, hereby orders and declares that the proceedings in connection with the raising of the said loan shall be valid to all intents and purposes as though an interval of not less than 14 days had elapsed between the said two notifications, and hereby further orders and declares that the validity of the said proceedings, or of the security for the said loan, shall not be questioned on the ground of the irregularity or defect aforesaid.

T. J. SHERRARD, Clerk of the Executive Council.

T. J. SHERRARD, Clerk of the Executive Council. (T. 49/129/19)

Promotions, Extensions of Commissions, Transfers, and Termination of Commission of Officers of the Royal New Zealand Air Force

Pursuant to section 15 of the Royal New Zealand Air Force Act 1950, His Excellency the Governor-General has been pleased to approve the following promotions, extensions of commissions, transfers, and termination of commission of officers of the Royal New Zealand Air Force.

### REGULAR AIR FORCE GENERAL DUTIES BRANCH

Promotions

The under-mentioned Flying Officers to be Flight Lieutenants, with effect from 24 August, 1959:

David John Norman (646118).
Stuart William Quayle (784155).
Peter Sydney Rule (551601).

Pilot Officer Albert Edward Thomson (75004) to be Flying Officer with seniority from 29 July 1958, with effect from 29 July 1958. July 1959.

The under-mentioned Pilot Officers to be Flying Officers, with effect from 17 August 1959:

John Mervyn Higgins (77282).

John Kirwin Lay (596239).

Jan Samuel Ritchie (897890).

Donald Raymond Smith (77221).

# Extension of Commission

Flight Lieutenant David Russell Auckland Eden (708383) is granted an extension of his present commission until 6 July 1960.

# TERRITORIAL AIR FORCE

#### ADMINISTRATIVE AND SUPPLY BRANCH

Extension of Commission

Special Duties Division

Flight Lieutenant (temp.) Theodore Dormer Faithfull (130359) is granted an extension of his present commission until 23 June 1959.

#### AIR TRAINING CORPS

Promotion

Pilot Officer Allan James Dickie, B.A., to be Flying Officer, with effect from 5 August 1959.

### RESERVE OF AIR FORCE OFFICERS

Promotions

Pilot Officer Robert Rowland Preston, B.A. (818809), to be Flying Officer while attached to the Air Training Corps, with effect from 22 May 1959.

Pilot Officer Warren Alfred Hunt, B.E. (710233), to be Flying Officer, with effect from 27 June 1959.

#### Transfers

The under-mentioned Flight Lieutenants are transferred from the Administrative and Supply Branch (Special Duties Division), Regular Air Force, to the Reserve of Air Force Officers for a period of four years, with effect from the dates shown:

James Thom (75071), 1 July 1959.
Brian Anderson Woods, B.E. (817162), 15 July 1959.
Flight Lieutenant (temp.) Theodore Dormer Faithfull (130359) is transferred from the Administrative and Supply Branch (Special Duties Division), Territorial Air Force, to the Reserve of Air Force Officers for a period of four years, with effect from 24 June 1959.

# Termination of Commission

The commission of Flying Officer Peter Reece Evans (72507) is terminated, with effect from 2 July 1959.

## Amendments

The notices published in *Gazettes*, 25 September 1958, Vol. III, page 1282, 2 October 1958, Vol. III, page 1316, and 6 November 1958, Vol. III, page 1558, relating to Flight Lieutenants John David Frankish, Norman Lewis Sidney Bourchier, and Brian Joseph Kelly respectively are hereby amended to read "for a period of 12 years" instead of "for a period of four years".

Dated at Wellington this 31st day of August 1959.

PHILLIP G. CONNOLLY, Minister of Defence.

# Resignation of Clerk of the Writs

His Excellency the Governor-General has been pleased to accept the resignation of

Jack Kent Hunn, Esquire,

from the office of Clerk of the Writs.

Dated at Wellington this 8th day of September 1959.

W. NASH, Prime Minister.

(I.A. 72/2)

# Clerk of the Writs Appointed

Pursuant to the Electoral Act 1956, His Excellency the Governor-General has been pleased to appoint

John Valentine Meech, Esquire, of Wellington, to be Clerk of the Writs as on and from the 7th day of September 1959.

Dated at Wellington this 8th day of September 1959.

W. NASH, Prime Minister.

(I.A. 72/2)

Members of Ngaitahu Maori Trust Board Appointed

Pursuant to section 14 (2) of the Maori Trust Boards Act 1955, His Excellency the Governor-General has been pleased to appoint the following persons to hold office as members of the Ngaitahu Maori Trust Board for the term of three (3) years from and including 10 September 1959, to represent the districts as set out opposite their respective names:

Theodore Percival Wharaki Robinson
Robert Agrippa Moingaroa Whaitiri
Thomas Soloman Edmonds
William Torepe
Rangi Solomon
Hoani Pitama
Frank David Winter Akaroa. Araiteuru. Arowhenua. Kaikoura. Maahanui.

Dated at Wellington this 28th day of August 1959.

W. NASH, Minister of Maori Affairs.

(M.A. 26/2/2)