Boundaries of County of Whangarei and Borough of Whangarei Altered

## COBHAM, Governor-General ORDER IN COUNCIL

At the Government House at Wellington this 9th day of September 1959

Present:

#### HIS EXCELLENCY THE GOVERNOR-GENERAL IN COUNCIL

PURSUANT to the Local Government Commission Act 1953, His Excellency the Governor-General, acting by and with the advice and consent of the Executive Council, hereby makes the following order.

### ORDER

1. As on and from the 1st day of April 1960, the areas described in the Schedule hereto are hereby excluded from the County of Whangarei and included in the Borough of Whangarei

2. The alteration of boundaries of the said county and the said borough hereinbefore made shall be deemed to have been effected under the Municipal Corporations Act 1954.

### SCHEDULE

AREAS EXCLUDED FROM COUNTY OF WHANGAREI AND INCLUDED IN BOROUGH OF WHANGAREI

AREAS EXCLUDED FROM COUNTY OF WHANGAREI AND INCLUDED IN BOROUGH OF WHANGAREI ALL that area in the North Auckland Land District containing 515 acres, more or less, bounded by a line commencing on the north-western side of the Whangarei-Dargaville State Highway No. 2 at the south-eastern corner of part Waihoanga 2 Block shown on D.P. 991A and proceeding easterly generally along the north-western side of that highway to and along the eastern boundary of that part Tokitaruna Block com-prised in C.T. 766/101 and that boundary produced to and down the middle of the Te Hihi Stream to a point in line with the western side of another part of the aforesaid highway formed by the southern end of the eastern boundary of that part Section 8, Block XII, Purua Survey District, comprised in C.T. 68/202; thence along a right line to and along the western side aforesaid and its production across two public roads to the southern boundary of Allotment 5 of Pukenui 1 Block; thence again easterly along the northern side of the public road forming the southern boundaries of Allotment 5 aforesaid, that part Allotment 4 of Pukenui 1 Block com-prised in C.T. 769/113 and that part Taikawiwi Block com-prised in C.T. 769/252 to and along the northern side of the Whangarei-Dargaville State Highway No. 2 aforesaid to the boundary of the Borough of Whangarei; thence southerly and easterly along that borough boundary as described in Gazette, 1957, page 1589, to the first angle south of the southern side of Morningside Road and bearing 132° 55' distant 332.2 links therefrom; thence westerly generally along a series of right lines parallel to the southern side of Morning-side Road to and along the eastern and southern boundaries of Lot 14, D.P. 40075, and the southern boundaries of Lots southern side of Morningside Road and bearing 132° 55' distant 332·2 links therefrom; thence westerly generally along a series of right lines parallel to the southern side of Morning-side Road to and along the eastern and southern boundaries of Lot 14, D.P. 40075, and the southern boundaries of Lots 13, 12, 11, and 10, and along a right line across part Section 1, Block XII, Purua Survey District, to and along the southern boundaries of Lots 9, 8, 7, 6, 5, 4, 3, 2, and 1, D.P. 40075, and the south-ren boundaries of Lots 3, 2, and 1, D.P. 40075, and the south-western corner of that last-mentioned lot; thence continuing westerly along a series of right lines parallel to the south-rensides of Morningside Road and High Street to a point in line with the north-eastern boundary of Lot 29, D.P. 44307; thence along a right line to and along the south-eastern boundary of that lot and the south-eastern boundaries of Lots 28 and 27, along another right line across Lots 26 and 25 to and along the south-eastern boundaries of Lots 24, 23, and 22, along another right line across a public road to and along the south-eastern boundaries of Lots 10, 9, 8, 7, 6, 5, 4, and 3, all the aforesaid lots being of D.P. 44307, along a right line across part Section 1, Block XII, Purua Survey District, to and along the south-eastern boun-daries of Lots 2 and 1, D.P. 44307 aforesaid, and along a right line across part Raumanga No. 2 Block and part Lot 3, D.P. 432, the northern boundary of part Lot 34, D.P. 432, and its production across the Whangarei-Maungaturoto State Highway No. 4 and along its western side to and along the southern boundaries of Lots 26, 25, 24, 23, 22, 21, 20, and 19, D.P. 43731, and that last-mentioned boundary of part Raumanga 2 Block aforesaid and that western boundary of part Raumanga 2 Block shown on D.P. 998A; thence continuing westerly along a right line to and along the southern and part of the Raumanga Stream; thence up the middle of the Raumanga Stream; to a point in Block XVI, Purua Survey District, in line of commencement.

Also all that area in the North Auckland Land District con-taining 235 acres, more or less, bounded by a line com-mencing at the westernmost corner of Lot 1, D.P. 41018,

AND GAZETTE 1299

T. J. SHERRARD, Clerk of the Executive Council. (I.A. 103/5/195)

Town District of Leeston and Town District of Southbridge Abolished and Boundaries of County of Ellesmere Altered

#### COBHAM, Governor-General ORDER IN COUNCIL

At the Government House at Wellington this 16th day of September 1959

# Present: HIS EXCELLENCY THE GOVERNOR-GENERAL IN COUNCIL

PURSUANT to the Local Government Commission Act 1953, His Excellency the Governor-General, acting by and with the advice and consent of the Executive Council, hereby makes the following order.

#### ORDER

ORDER 1. As from the 30th day of September 1959, the Town District of Leeston and the Town District of Southbridge are hereby abolished and the Leeston Town Council and the Southbridge Town Council are hereby dissolved. 2. As on and from the 1st day of October 1959, the area comprising the former Town District of Leeston is hereby included in the County of Ellesmere and shall form an addi-tional riding of that county by the name of the Leeston Town Riding. 3. As on and from the 1st day of October 1959 the

Town Riding. 3. As on and from the 1st day of October 1959, the Southbridge Riding of the County of Ellesmere is hereby divided into two ridings by the names, respectively, of the Southbridge Town Riding and the Southbridge Riding. 4. The Southbridge Town Riding shall comprise the former Town District of Southbridge and the Southbridge Riding shall comprise the remainder of the present Southbridge Riding

Riding. 5. The number of members of the Ellesmere County Council to be elected to represent the aforesaid ridings shall

For the Leeston Town Riding	X	l member
For the Southbridge Town Riding		1 member

For the Southbridge Riding .... 2 members

6. The provisions of section 28 of the Counties Act 1956 shall apply to the abolition of the Town Districts of Leeston and Southbridge in all respects as if the Town District of Leeston were a dependent town district and as if both town districts had been merged in the County of Ellesmere pur-suant to section 27 of that Act. 7. (a) As from the 30th day of September 1959, the Leeston Secondary Urban Fire District and the Southbridge Secondary Urban Fire District are hereby abolished.