Flight Lieutenants (temp.):

Jack Edwin Dawber (130774), 31 December 1961. John Roger Boscawen (130345), 30 January 1963. William Pat Lawson (130112), 31 January 1963. Trevor Ernest Woodfield, DIP.V.F.M., A.N.Z.I.V. (132540), 12 February 1963.

Flying Officer:

Evan William Duthie (132046), 4 February 1963.

Transfers

Flight Lieutenant Robin McGrath (783053) is transferred from the General Duties Branch, Regular Air Force, to the Reserve of Air Force Officers for a period of four years, with effect from 23 January 1959.

Flight Lieutenant Hugh Fergusson Priest, B.A. (819377) is transferred from the Administrative and Supply Branch (Special Duties Division), Regular Air Force, to the Reserve of Air Force Officers for a period of four years, with effect from 31 December 1958.

of Air Force Officers for a period of four years, with effect from 31 December 1958.

Flying Officer Norman Latham (76630) is transferred from the Administrative and Supply Branch (Special Duties Division), Territorial Air Force, to the Reserve of Air Force Officers for a period of four years, with effect from 3 February 1959 ary 1959.

Terminations of Commissions

The commissions of the under-mentioned Flying Officers are terminated, with effect from the dates shown:

Jack Frederick Weller (132546), 23 August 1958. Douglas John Laloli (132409), 5 September 1958. David Colin McMurchy (133282), 26 September 1958. Frank Cyril Brookes (133327), 3 October 1958. Donald Jack Stradwick (130688), 9 November 1958.

Retirement

Flight Lieutenant Herbert William Bernard Patterson (133563) is retired, with effect from 3 February 1959. Dated at Wellington this 3rd day of February 1959.

PHILLIP G. CONNOLLY, Minister of Defence.

Appointments, Confirmation of Appointment, Promotions, Extensions of Commissions, and Transfer of Officers of the Royal New Zealand Air Force

Pursuant to section 15 of the Royal New Zealand Air Force Act 1950, His Excellency the Governor-General has been pleased to approve the following appointments, confirmation of appointment, promotions, extensions of commissions, and transfer of officers of the Royal New Zealand Air Force.

REGULAR AIR FORCE GENERAL DUTIES BRANCH

Appointments

Ronald Arthur Cooper, M.B.E., p.s.a. (79487) is granted a temporary commission in the General Duties Branch, Regular Air Force, for a period of two years in the rank of Squadron Leader with seniority from 24 November 1953, with effect from 24 November 1958.

The under-mentioned cadet officers are granted short-service commissions in the General Duties Branch, Regular Air Force, for a period ending 3 July 1964, to be followed by four years in the Reserve of Air Force Officers. They are appointed to the rank of Acting Pilot Officer, with seniority and with effect from 19 December 1958:

Michael John Cheffers (79027).
Brian Gray Grimwood (827555).
Richard Stapylton Fyffe Lamb (338715).
Anthony Alfred Edwin Lawson (79476).
David Murray McDonald (79477).
Michael Palairet (79478).
Frank Hamilton Roach (79480).
Brevis Tai (538532).

The under-mentioned cadet officers are granted short-service commissions in the General Duties Branch, Regular Air Force, for a period ending 3 July 1970, to be followed by four years in the Reserve of Air Force Officers. They are appointed to the rank of Acting Pilot Officer, with seniority and with effect from 19 December 1958:

Trevor Norman de Stigter (75188).
Monty Arthur Firmin (78100).
George Stephen Higgins (817826).
Roger Selwyn Holdaway (466931).
Douglas Ian Paterson (76055).
Gordon Wilmot Ragg (79479).
Gary Neil Seddon (79481).

Extension of Commission

Flying Officer Peter Sydney Rule (551601) is granted an extension of his present commission until 15 November 1966.

MEDICAL BRANCH

Appointment

James Richard Colin Maclaurin, M.B., CH.B. (79370), is granted a short-service commission in the Medical Branch, Regular Air Force, for a period of four years, to be followed by four years in the Reserve of Air Force Officers. He is appointed to the rank of Flight Lieutenant with seniority from 5 January 1957, with effect from 5 January 1959.

RESERVE OF AIR FORCE OFFICERS

Promotion

Pilot Officer Donald Gordon Husband (133047) to be Flying Officer, with effect from 23 September 1956.

Confirmation of Appointment and Promotion

Acting Pilot Officer Robert On Hing (675275) is confirmed in his appointment and promoted to the rank of Flying Officer, with effect from 24 January 1958.

Extensions of Commissions

The under-mentioned officers are granted extensions of their present commissions until the dates shown:

Flight Lieutenant:

Frederick Guy Trevor Beetham, M.B., CH.B. (N.Z.), F.R.C.S. (ENG.), D.M.R.D. (ED.), (134123), 21 February 1963.

Flight Lieutenants (temp.):

Alwyn George Marshall Robinson (130664), 13 November 1962.

Arthur Lionel Litt, B.A., M.SC. (134215), 31 December 1962.

Transfer

Flying Officer Derek Bromley Scott (897414) is transferred from the General Duties Branch, Regular Air Force, to the Reserve of Air Force Officers for a period of four years, with effect from 14 January 1959.

Dated at Wellington this 3rd day of February 1959.

PHILLIP G. CONNOLLY, Minister of Defence.

Appointment of Members of the Public Service Commission

PURSUANT to section 3 of the Public Service Amendment Act 1946, His Excellency the Governor-General has been pleased to appoint, for a term of five years commencing on the 4th day of February 1959

Adrian George Rodda, Esquire, of Auckland; and Robert James MacLachlan, Esquire, of Wellington,

to be members of the Public Service Commission.

Dated at Wellington this 4th day of February, 1959.

W. NASH, Prime Minister.

High Commissioner for New Zealand in the Federation of Malaya Appointed

His Excellency the Governor-General in Council has been pleased to appoint

Charles Moihi Te Arawaka Bennett

to be High Commissioner for New Zealand in the Federation of Malaya, under and for the purposes of the External Affairs Act 1943, to hold the said office as on and from the 27th day of January 1959, to the 26th day of January 1961.

Dated at Wellington this 28th day of January 1959.

W. NASH, Minister of External Affairs.

Member of Orepuki Rabbit Board Appointed (Notice No. Ag. 6676)

Pursuant to section 40 of the Rabbits Act 1955, His Excellency the Governor-General has been pleased to appoint

Charles Alexander George McQueen

to be a member of the Orepuki Rabbit Board, vice John Ferguson Brown, resigned.

Dated at Wellington this 3rd day of February 1959.

R. BOORD, for the Minister of Agriculture.

(Ag. 20891)