New Year Honours List

His Excellency the Governor-General has announced that the Queen has been graciously pleased, on the occasion of the New Year, to confer the following honours:

CIVIL DIVISION

Knight Commander of the Most Excellent Order of the British Empire (K.B.E.)—

Professor John Patrick Walsh, of Dunedin.

Knight Bachelor-

Dr George Alexander Currie, of Wellington.

Companion of the Most Distinguished Order of Saint Michael and Saint George (C.M.G.)—

Dr John Cairney, of We'llington. Mr Henry John Wardell, of Kurow.

Commander of the Most Excellent Order of the British Empire (C.B.E.)—

Mr Archibald Hugh Bogle, of Wellington.
Mr Gerald William Lane, of Dunedin.
Mr Charles Archibald McFarlane, of Wellington.
Mr John Hugh Phillipps, o.B.E., of Wellington.

Officer of the Most Excellent Order of the British Empire (O.B.E.)—

Mr James Walter Armstrong, of East Taieri, Dunedin. Dr Henry Oscar Askew, of Nelson. Mr Harry Ernest Brusey, of Wellington. Mr William John Cartwright, of Christchurch. Mr Charles Gilmour Stead Ellis, of Auckland. Mr Edward Grace Guy, of Rotorua. Mr Desmond James Hewitt, of Christchurch. Dr Frederick Henry McDowall, of Palmerston North. Mr John Morris Ranstead, of Matangi (Waikato). Mr Hugh Ritchie, of Invercargill. Mr Hokio Tarawhiti, of Huntly.

Member of the Most Excellent Order of the British Empire (M.B.E.)—

The Reverend Leo Vincent Downey, of Auckland.
Mr William John Elvy, of Blenheim.
Mr Ernest Hector Ferguson, of Wellington.
Mr James Robertson Hair, of Gisborne.
Mr David Walter Reginald Heatley, of Niue Island.
Mr Leslie Alfred Higgins, of Wakefield, Nelson.
Inspector Edgar John Gordon Hotham, New Zealand Police

Inspector Edgar John Gordon Hotham, New Zealand Police Force, of Trentham.

Mr Claud William Barkley Huxford, of Wellington.

Miss Catherine Agnes McGuire, of Timaru.

Mr John Thomas Leslie McPhee, of Runanga.

Brigadier John Dawson Mahaffie (Salvation Army), of Auckland.

Mr Keith Mills, of Auckland.

Miss Ruia Mereana Morrison, of Rotorua.

Mr Rangi Kapo Ratahi, of Opunake.

Mr George Walter Simon, of Dunedin.

Mrs Alice Roberts, of Napier.

Mrs Isabella Enid Roberts, of Levin.

Mr Cyril John Benedict Williams, of Auckland.

British Empire Medal (B.E.M.)-

Mr Alfred Eric Bishoprick, M.M., of Te Puke. Chief Officer (First Class) Arthur Burgess, of Mount Eden, Auckland.

Constable George Dynes, New Zealand Police Force, of Christchurch.

Detective Senior Sergeant Ewan Gilbert Andrews Rippin, New Zealand Police Force, of Lower Hutt.

MILITARY DIVISION

Knight Commander of the Most Excellent Order of the British Empire (K.B.E.)—

Major-General Cyril Ettrick Weir, C.B., C.B,E Generals' List, Regular Force, of Lower Hutt. C.B,E.,

Commander of the Most Excellent Order of the British Empire (C.B.E.)-

Brigadier Arthur Beecher Bullen, D.S.O., E.D., Royal New Zealand Infantry (Territorial Force), of Papatoetoe, Auckland.

Air Commodore Cameron Archer Turner, o.B.E., Royal New Zealand Air Force, serving in London.

Officer of the Most Excellent Order of the British Empire (O.B.E.)—

Lieutenant-Colonel David John Aitken, The New Zealand Regiment (Regular Force), serving in Malaya.

Major (temporary Lieutenant-Colonel) Richard Mitchell Scott Orbell, The Royal New Zealand Infantry (Territorial Force), of Nelson.

Wing Commander Henry Christian Salmon, Royal New Zealand Air Force, of Ohakea.

Member of the Most Excellent Order of the British Empire (M.B.E.)

Lieutenant-Commander (SD) Edward Herbert Biggs, Royal New Zealand Navy, of Auckland. Captain (temporary Major) Grenville Herbert Rush, Royal New Zealand Provost Corps (Territorial Force), of

New Zealand Provost Corps (Territorial Force), of Masterton.

Major Robert Noel Barton, E.D., Royal New Zealand Infantry Corps (Territorial Force), of Dunedin.

Major Louie Margaret Knights, The New Zealand Women's Royal Army Corps (Regular Force), of Wellington.

Lieutenant John Cameron, New Zealand Regiment (Regular Force), of Greymouth.

Flight Lieutenant Robert Fraser Ward, Royal New Zealand Air Force, serving in Malaya.

Warrant Officer Edward Sheppard, Royal New Zealand Air Force, of Christchurch.

Air Force Cross (A.F.C.)-

Squadron Leader Owen David Staple, D.F.C., Royal New Zealand Air Force, serving in Malaya. Flight Lieutenant Patrick Neville, Royal New Zealand Air Force, of Ohakea.

Associate of the Royal Red Cross (A.R.R.C.)-

Matron Elsie Margaret Webb, The Royal New Zealand Nursing Corps (Regular Force), of Waiouru. Charge Sister Rona Irene Rich, The Royal New Zealand Nursing Corps (Regular Force), of Auckland.

British Empire Medal (B.E.M.)-

Chief Joiner Anthony Martin Hobbs, Royal New Zealand Navy, of Auckland.
Chief Engineering Mechanic Peter Frederick Willis Moss, Royal New Zealand Navy, of Auckland.
Chief Petty Officer John Butler Allan, Royal New Zealand Naval Volunteer Reserve, of Dunedin.
Chief Wren Lorna Evelyn Coles, Women's Royal New Zealand Naval Service, of Auckland.
Staff Sergeant (temporary Warrant Officer Second Class) Thomas Dobson, The Corps of Royal New Zealand Engineers (Regular Force), of Burnham.
Sergeant Lawrence Albert Earle Jacobs, Royal New Zealand Army Service Corps (Regular Force), of Lower Hutt.
Lance Bombardier (temporary Bombardier) Bruce Mansell, Royal Regiment of New Zealand Artillery (Territorial Force), of Wellington.
Lance Corporal (temporary Corporal) David Elwin Dallow, Royal New Zealand Infantry Corps (Territorial Force), of Christchurch.

of Christchurch.

Flight Sergeant Norman John Cooper, Royal New Zealand Air Force, of Wellington.

Sergeant (W) Alison Jean Simpson, Women's Royal New Zealand Air Force, of Auckland.

Queen's Commendation for Valuable Services in the Air-Flight Lieutenant John Alexander Laing, Royal New Zealand Air Force, serving in Fiji.

Plants Declared Noxious Weeds in Borough of Mount Maunganui (Notice No. Ag. 6895)

Pursuant to section 3 of the Noxious Weeds Act 1950, the Director-General of Agriculture, acting under a delegation from the Minister of Agriculture for the purposes of the said section, hereby publishes the following special order made by the Cambridge Borough Council on the 15th day of December 1959.

SPECIAL ORDER

In exercise of the powers conferred upon it by section 3 of the Noxious Weeds Act 1950, section 77 of the Municipal Corporations Act 1954, and of every other authority in that behalf enabling it, the Mount Maunganiu Borough Council hereby resolves by way of special order to declare all of the plants listed in the Schedule hereto to be noxious weeds within the district of the Borough of Mount Maunganui.

SCHEDULE

PLANTS DECLARED NOXIOUS WEEDS

PLANTS DECLARED NOXIOUS WEEDS

Bathurst bur (Xanthium spinosum).
Blackberry (Rubus fruiticosus and Rubus laciniatus).
Boxthorn (Lycium ferocissimum syn. Lycium horridum).
Cape tulip (Homeria collina).
Gorse (Ulex, any species).
Hemlock (Conium maculatum).
Nassella tussock (Nassella trichotoma).
Ragwort (Senecio jacobaea).
Saffron thistle (Carthamus lanatus).
Sweetbrier (Rosa eglanteria syn. Rosa rubiginosa).
Thorn apple or jimson weed (Datura stramonium).
Water hyacinth (Eichhornia crassipes).
Dated at Wellington this 22nd day of December 1959.

Dated at Wellington this 22nd day of December 1959.

I. J. CUNNINGHAM, Director-General of Agriculture.