The under-mentioned cadet aircrew are granted short-service commissions in the General Duties Branch, Regular Air Force, for a period ending 2 July 1965, to be followed by four years in the Reserve of Air Force Officers. They are appointed to the rank of Acting Pilot Officer, with seniority and with effect from 18 December 1959:

Rodney Keith Bracefield (79380).
David Reginald Carthy (79381).
Laurence Gregory Copeland (79383).
Jeffrey Lyddon Litchfield (79386).
Graham Neville Lucas (79387).
Michael John Menzies (78316).
Roger George Poole (351025).
Peter David Smillie (528679).
Alexander James Willis (75874).

The under-mentioned cadet aircrew are granted short-service commissions in the General Duties Branch, Regular Air Force, for a period ending 2 July 1971, to be followed by four years in the Reserve of Air Force Officers. They are appointed to the rank of Acting Pilot Officer, with seniority and with effect from 18 December 1959:

Noel William Beale (77279).
Gary Lochiel Cameron (77881).
Desmond George Patrick Ceruti (79382).
John Barry Clements (79293).
Graham Harry Duley (79384).
Earle Kershaw Garratt (79385).
Athol Bernard Kitchingman (78264).
Colin John MacRury (79388).
Garry Maurice Harry Wright (830089).

Cadet Pilot Colin William Bardill (79379) is granted a temporary commission in the General Duties Branch, Regular Air Force, for the duration of basic stage flying training, in the rank of Acting Pilot Officer, with seniority and with effect from 18 December 1959.

Promotions

The under-mentioned Squadron Leaders to be Wing Commanders, with effect from 18 January 1960:

Ronald Arthur Manners, M.B.E., A.F.C. (70094). Cyril Laurence Siegert, M.V.O., D.F.C., A.F.C., p.s.a. (70105). Bolt, Richard Bruce, D.F.C., A.F.C., A.R.AE.S., s.c. (70119).

Cancellation of Commission

The commission of Acting Pilot Officer John Ross Irvine (785749) is cancelled, with effect from 12 November 1959.

TECHNICAL BRANCH

Promotions

Signals Division

Wing Commander (temp.) Alston Leonard Partelow, O.B.E., A.M.BRIT.I.R.E. (70227), to be Wing Commander with seniority from 18 January 1958, with effect from 18 January 1960.

The under-mentioned Flying Officers to be Flight Lieutenants, with effect from 12 October 1959:

Donald Osborne (71146). Peter Stanley Stevens (72242).

ADMINISTRATIVE AND SUPPLY BRANCH

Extension of Commission

Wing Commander Arnold Eric Cockburn, O.B.E. (70252) is granted an extension of his commission for the period 31 July 1959 to 30 October 1959.

Promotion

Special Duties Division

Flight Lieutenant Eric William Scott, B.E.M. (70523) to be Squadron Leader, with effect from 24 December 1959.

TERRITORIAL AIR FORCE

ADMINISTRATIVE AND SUPPLY BRANCH

Extension of Commission

Special Duties Division

Flight Lieutenant (temp.) Dennis Mervyn Dudley Brown, D.F.C. (130615) is granted an extension of his present commission until 31 December 1964.

RESERVE OF AIR FORCE OFFICERS

Promotions

Flying Officer Peter McArthur Grundy (821277) to be temporary Flight Lieutenant, with effect from 6 September 1959.

Flying Officer (temp.) Leslie George Bolous (132250) to be Flying Officer with seniority from 25 May 1957, with effect from 25 November 1959.

Relinquishment of Temporary Rank

Flying Officer (temporary Flight Lieutenant) Louis Basil Fox (130885) ceases to be attached to the Air Training Corps and relinquishes the temporary rank of Flight Lieutenant with effect from 31 December 1959.

Extensions of Commissions

The under-mentioned officers are granted extensions of their present commissions until the dates shown:

Squadron Leader William Keith Paterson, A.F.C., B.COM., A.P.A.N.Z. (130066), 30 November 1963.

Flight Lieutenants:

Philip Poole Irving (133535), 16 October 1963. Lawrence Lymburn Cowan (70271), 17 November 1963. John Henry Meyer (133768), 3 December 1963.

Leslie George Bolous (132250), 24 November 1963. Desmond Weston Wheeler (132718), 24 November 1963.

Pilot Officers:

Benjamin Hamish Knight (75042), 14 November 1963. David Leslie Marsden, B.A. (133361), 3 January 1964.

Transfer

Flight Lieutenant Anthony Keith Lynch (75170) is transferred from the General Duties Branch, Regular Air Force, to the Reserve of Air Force Officers for a period of four years, with effect from 11 December 1959.

Dated at Wellington this 26th day of January 1960.

PHILLIP G. CONNOLLY, Minister of Defence.

Appointments, Extensions of Commissions, and Transfers of Officers of the Royal New Zealand Air Force

Pursuant to section 15 of the Royal New Zealand Air Force Act 1950, His Excellency the Governor-General has been pleased to approve the following appointments, extensions of commissions, and transfers of officers of the Royal New Zealand Air Force.

REGULAR AIR FORCE GENERAL DUTIES BRANCH

A ppointments

The under-mentioned Flight Lieutenants are granted permanent commissions in the General Duties Branch, Regular Air Force, with their present rank and seniority, with effect from 15 November 1959:

Ivor Veitch Mackay (75439). Patrick Neville, A.F.C. (77606).

Extension of Commission

Flight Lieutenant Barrie James Reid (621016) is granted an extension of his present commission until 18 December 1971.

ADMINISTRATIVE AND SUPPLY BRANCH Transfer to the Retired List

Secretarial Division

Wing Commander Arnold Eric Cockburn, o.B.E. (70252) is transferred to the Retired List "A", with effect from 21 May 1960.

TERRITORIAL AIR FORCE

ADMINISTRATIVE AND SUPPLY BRANCH

Appointment

Special Duties Division

Cadet Pilot Wayne Tyrrell (823799) is granted a commission in the Administrative and Supply Branch (Special Duties Division), Territorial Air Force, for a period of five years to be followed by four years in the Reserve of Air Force Officers. He is appointed to the rank of Pilot Officer, with seniority and with effect from 11 January 1960.

AIR TRAINING CORPS

Amendment

The notice published in *Gazette*, 14 January 1960, No. 2, page 14, relating to Allan Dudley Kelly is hereby amended by adding after the words "Air Training Corps" the following words "in the rank of Flying Officer".

RESERVE OF AIR FORCE OFFICERS

A ppointments

The under-mentioned Flying Officers to be temporary Flight Lieutenants, with effect from the dates shown:

Adam Johnston Anderson (710810), 15 August 1959.
Murray James McPhail (888664), 27 November 1959.
Derek Bromley Scott (897414), 27 November 1959.
Alastair Richard Caldwell (334945), 1 January 1960.
Frederick Russell Joseph Meyer (209008), 1 February 1960.

Extension of Commission

Flight Lieutenant (temp.) Clement Arthur Cornelius Wiggins, M.B., CH.B., M.R.C.P. (LOND.) (133851), is granted an extension of his present commission until 11 January 1964.

Transfer to the Retired List

Flying Officer Frederick Norman Tritt, M.A. (134143), is transferred to the Retired List "B", with effect from 12 December 1959.

Dated at Wellington this 27th day of January 1960.

PHILLIP G. CONNOLLY, Minister of Defence.