Appointments, Promotions, Extensions of Commissions, Transfer, and Retirement of Officers of the Royal New Zealand Air Force

Pursuant to section 15 of the Royal New Zealand Air Force Act 1950, His Excellency the Governor-General has been pleased to approve the following appointments, promotions, extensions of commissions, transfer, and retirement of officers of the Royal New Zealand Air Force.

REGULAR AIR FORCE GENERAL DUTIES BRANCH Extension of Commission

Flying Officer Roger Hampton Binney (77887) is granted an extension of his commission until 27 August 1969.

Amendment

The notice published in *Gazette*, 19 January 1961, No. 5, page 105, relating to the promotion of Flying Officers Neil James Barr and Ian George Gordon Gillies to Flight Lieutenant, is hereby amended to read "with effect from 1 October 1960", instead of "with effect from 1 November 1960".

Promotions

The under-mentioned Flying Officers to be Flight Lieutenants, with effect from 1 March 1961.

Peter Kennedy Simpson (592809). Laurence Gilbert Young (33180).

ADMINISTRATIVE AND SUPPLY BRANCH

Appointment

Secretarial Division

Flight Sergeant John Edward Murray (70549) is granted a short-service commission in the Administrative and Supply Branch (Secretarial Division), Regular Air Force, for a period ending 5 February 1966, to be followed by four years in the Reserve of Air Force Officers. He is appointed in the rank of Flying Officer, with seniority and effect from 6 February 1961.

Promotion

Equipment Division

Flight Lieutenant Lewis Phillip Parry (70643) to be Squadron Leader, with effect from 1 February 1961.

AIR TRAINING CORPS

Appointment

William John Harris is granted a commission in the Air Training Corps in the rank of Pilot Officer, with seniority and effect from 7 February 1961.

RESERVE OF AIR FORCE OFFICERS

Extensions of Commissions

The under-mentioned officers are granted extensions of their commissions until the date shown:
Wing Commander Derek Harold Hammond, p.s.o., p.f.c. (133396), 31 January 1965.
Squadron Leader Clarence James Berryman (70174), 17
November 1964.
Squadron Leader (temp.) Walter Sinclair Anthony Waterston (133846), 4 February 1965.

Flight Lieutenants:

Keith Russell Hunter, B.A. (133807), 28 September 1964.
Keith Forsyth Rollo (131716), 31 December 1964.
Keith Forsyth Rollo (131716), 31 December 1964.
Wilfred Samuel Taylor, A.M.I.C.E., A.M.N.Z.I.E. (134160), 16 January 1965.
Kenneth Smith, D.F.M. (133112), 6 February 1965.
Rodney Greville Williams, D.F.C., B.A. (133421), 17 March 1965.

Gerard Whincop (132827), 23 March 1965.

Flight Lieutenants (temp.):

Alfred William Bartlett (130734), 3 October 1964. Clive Woodward Estcourt (132703), 23 March 1965. Heywood Allen Foster (134078), 24 March 1965.

Flying Officers:

Neville Leslie Kelly (131482), 15 January 1965.

Na'Pierre Creighton Vaughan (70146), 13 January 1965.

Clifford William Dale (131536), 21 January 1965.

George Harold Frederick Hutchison, D.F.C. (131465), 6

March 1965.

John Whatnall (132717), 25 March 1965.

Transfer

Flight Lieutenant Leslie Manfred James Loader (77803), is transferred from the Education Branch, Regular Air Force, to the Reserve of Air Force Officers for a period of four years, with effect from 18 February 1961.

Retirement

Flight Lieutenant Donald Lewis Maunsell Martin, LL.B., B.COM., A.R.A.N.Z. (131515) is retired, with effect from 15 January 1961.

Dated at Wellington this 9th day of March 1961.

DEAN J. EYRE, Minister of Defence.

(Air 12/11/9)

Appointments, Promotions, Extensions of Commissions and Date of Retirement, Transfers, Resignation, and Retirements of Officers of the Royal New Zealand Air Force

Pursuant to section 15 of the Royal New Zealand Air Force Act 1950, His Excellency the Governor-General has been pleased to approve the following appointments, promotions, extensions of commissions and date of retirement, transfers, resignation, and retirements of officers of the Royal New Zealand Air Force.

REGULAR AIR FORCE

GENERAL DUTIES BRANCH

Extension of Commission

Flight Lieutenant Donald William Pawson (784670) is granted an extension of his commission until 18 August 1967.

TECHNICAL BRANCH

Extension of Date of Retirement

Engineer Division

The age for retirement of Flight Lieutenant Robert James Eaglesham Hetrick, M.B.E. (70368), is extended for a period of one year, with effect from 20 February 1961.

Promotion

Armament Division

Pilot Officer Terrence Robert Whitehead, B.Sc. (690605), to be Flying Officer, with effect from 10 December 1960.

WOMEN'S ROYAL NEW ZEALAND AIR FORCE

REGULAR SECTION

Resignation

Flight Officer Betty Jean Rawlings (73587) resigns her commission, with effect from 20 February 1961.

AIR TRAINING CORPS

Promotions

Flying Officer Robert David Stanley, M.A., to be Flight Lieutenant, with effect from 3 February 1961.

Pilot Officer Fredrick John Flowers, B.Sc., to be Flying Officer, with effect from 9 December 1960.

Retirement

Flight Lieutenant Raymond John Maltby Haggett, M.B.E., is retired, with effect from 17 February 1961.

RESERVE OF AIR FORCE OFFICERS

Appointments

Nolan Wentworth Faircloth (70134) is appointed for a period of four years in the General Duties Branch, Reserve of Air Force Officers, in the rank of Squadron Leader with seniority from 1 October 1957, with effect from 1 January

Flight Lieutenant Rex William Orr (75075) to be temporary Squadron Leader while commanding No. 5 (Dunedin) Air Training Corps Squadron, with effect from 1 February 1961.

Flying Officer Elfric James Insull, B.COM., F.R.A.N.Z. (132413), to be temporary Flight Lieutenant while attached to the Air Training Corps, with effect from 13 June 1960.

Extensions of Commissions

The under-mentioned officers are granted extensions of their commissions until the date shown:

Squadron Leader Jack Bower (132552), 26 March 1965. Flight Lieutenant Edward Francis Edwards, B.A. (133560), 13 November 1964.

Flight Lieutenant (temp.) Thomas Erskine Neave (133867), 17 March 1965.

Flying Officers:

John Herbert Rimmer, B.SC., B.A. (133825), 2 December 1964.

William Brent Wilkinson (458256), 16 December 1964. Joseph Patrick Senior (130218), 13 February 1965.

Flying Officer (temp.) Eric Prior Scott, D.F.C. (131780), 2 March 1965.

Pilot Officer Trevor Humphrey Jeffery (914271) 14 November 1964.

Transfers

Flight Lieutenant the Rev. Cuthbert Frederick Peart (79215) is transferred from the Chaplains Branch, Regular Air Force, to the Reserve of Air Force Officers for a period of four years, with effect from 28 February 1961.

Flight Lieutenant Victor Gordon Roberts (134085) is transferred from the Administrative and Supply Branch (Special Duties Division), Territorial Air Force, to the Reserve of Air Force Officers for a period of four years, with effect from 8 March 1961. March 1961.

Retirement

Flight Lieutenant Eric Ralph Edmunds (133633) is retired, with effect from 25 November 1960.

Dated at Wellington this 15th day of March 1961.

DEAN J. EYRE, Minister of Defence.

(Air 12/11/9)