Appointments, Promotions, Relinquishment of Temporary Rank, Extension of Commission, Transfer, Resignation, and Retirements of Officers of the Royal New Zealand

Pursuant to section 15 of the Royal New Zealand Air Force Act 1950, His Excellency the Governor-General has been pleased to approve the following appointments, promotions, relinquishment of temporary rank, extension of commission, transfer, resignation, and retirements of officers of the Royal New Zealand Air Force.

### REGULAR AIR FORCE GENERAL DUTIES BRANCH

Appointments

Flight Lieutenant Rutherford Moncrieff Hancock (74211) to be temporary Squadron Leader, with effect from 1 March 1961.

The under-mentioned Flight Lieutenants are granted permanent commissions in the General Duties Branch, Regular Air Force, with their present rank and seniority, with effect from 21 December 1960:

December 1960:

John Corfe Evison, A.F.C. (77332).

Colin William Rudd (75049).

Te Waaka Hemi Morete (922293).

Murray Davis Peacock (75154).

William Joseph Cranfield, A.F.C. (816026).

Mervyn William Hodge (77250).

John Alan Scrimshaw (77325).

James Barrie Irvine (784703).

Richard Francis Lawry (774793).

Stephen England Gillingham (784848).

### Relinquishment of Temporary Rank

Squadron Leader (temp.) Francis James McDavitt (70972) relinquishes the temporary rank of Squadron Leader and reverts to the rank of Flight Lieutenant with seniority from 1 October 1955, with effect from 15 March 1961.

#### Promotion

Flying Officer Peter Raymond Adamson (77780) to be Flight Lieutenant with seniority from 14 December 1959, with effect from 1 April 1961.

### ADMINISTRATIVE AND SUPPLY BRANCH

Appointment

Special Duties Division

Flight Lieutenant Herbert Kelley Griffiths (78675) is granted a permanent commission in the Administrative and Supply Branch (Special Duties Division), Regular Air Force, with his present rank and seniority, with effect from 21 December 1960.

# EDUCATION BRANCH

Appointment

Flight Lieutenant Tony Harris Harrison (78646) is granted a permanent commission in the Education Branch, Regular Air Force, with his present rank and seniority, with effect from 21 December 1960.

# AIR TRAINING CORPS

Appointment

Noel Laurenson is granted a commission in the Air Training Corps in the rank of Pilot Officer, with seniority and effect from 7 March 1961.

#### Promotion

Flight Lieutenant Noel Herbert Scott, M.B.E., to be Squadron Leader, with effect from 1 April 1961.

### Transfer

Flight Lieutenant John William Moynihan, M.B.E. is transferred from the Retired List "A" to the Air Training Corps in his present rank with seniority from 7 February 1954, with effect from 7 February 1961.

## RESERVE OF AIR FORCE OFFICERS

Extension of Commission

Squadron Leader Neilson Arnold Williamson, D.F.C. (132303) is granted an extension of his commission until 3 February 1965.

Resignation

Pilot Officer Raymond Henry Trangmar (132306) resigns his commission, with effect from 26 January 1961.

# Retirements

The under-mentioned officers are retired, with effect from the date shown:

Flight Lieutenant Leonard Williams East, B.Sc. (130714),

3 April 1961.
Flight Lieutenant (temp.) Geoffrey Morris White (72500), 13 February 1961.

Dated at Wellington this 30th day of March 1961.

DEAN J. EYRE, Minister of Defence.

Staff Representative Appointed as Member of the Government Superannuation Board

Pursuant to section 3 (2) (h) and section 3 (5) of the Superannuation Act 1956, His Excellency the Governor-General has been pleased to appoint

Daniel Patrick Long, Esquire,

to be a member of the Government Superannuation Board for the period ending 31 March 1963.

Dated at Wellington this 28th day of March 1961.

H. R. LAKE, Minister of Finance.

Appointment of the Mairoa Hall Society Incorporated to Control and Manage a Reserve

PURSUANT to the Reserves and Domains Act 1953, the Minister of Lands hereby appoints the

Mairoa Hall Society Incorporated

to control and manage the reserve described in the Schedule hereto subject to the provisions of the said Act as a site for a public hall.

#### SCHEDULE

SOUTH AUCKLAND LAND DISTRICT

SECTIONS 41, 42, 45, 46, 51, 52, 55, 56, 61, and 62, Village of Mairoa, situated in Block VIII, Maungamangero Survey District: Area, 4 acres 2 roods 28.6 perches, more or less. (S.O. Plan 13325.)

Dated at Wellington this 10th day of April 1961.

R. G. GERARD, Minister of Lands.

(L. and S. H.O. 6/6/227; D.O. 8/2/13, 8/901)

Appointment of the Mackenzie County Council to Control and Manage a Reserve

PURSUANT to the Reserves and Domains Act 1953, the Minister of Lands hereby appoints the

Mackenzie County Council

to control and manage the reserve described in the Schedule hereto subject to the provisions of the said Act as a site for a kindergarten.

# SCHEDULE

CANTERBURY LAND DISTRICT

RESERVE 5122 (shown as Lot 9, D.P. 1528, part Rural Section 10479), situated in Block VII, Tengawai Survey District: Area, 1 rood, more or less. Certificate of title, Volume 516, folio 53.

Dated at Wellington this 10th day of April 1961.

R. G. GERARD, Minister of Lands.

(L. and S. H.O. 6/6/1328; D.O. 8/1/133)

Appointment of Cinematograph Films Licensing Appeal Authority

PURSUANT to section 10 of the Cinematograph Films Amendment Act 1960, His Excellency the Governor-General has been pleased to appoint

Judge Wilfred Fosberry Stilwell, of Wellington,

to be the Cinematograph Films Licensing Appeal Authority. Dated at Wellington this 11th day of April 1961.

T. L. HAYMAN, for the Minister of Internal Affairs.

Members of the Carter Observatory Board Appointed

Pursuant to the Carter Observatory Act 1938, His Excellency the Governor-General has been pleased:

1. To reappoint the following:

Roy Cameron Christie, LL.B.;
William Pilliet Pringle, LL.B.;
Miles Aylmer Fulton Barnett, o.B.E., M.SC.(N.Z.),
PH.D.(CANTAB.), F.INST.P., F.R.S.N.Z.;
Darcy Walker, M.SC.(N.Z.), PH.D., D.SC.(BIRMINGHAM),
F.INST.P.

Darcy Walker, M.SC.(N.Z.), PH.D., D.SC.(BIRMINGHAM), F.INST.P.; Edwin Philip Norman, B.E., B.SC., A.M.I.C.E.; Russell Gladstone Dick, Esquire; and Frederick Fisher Miles, M.A., DIP.ED.(N.Z.), M.A.(OXON.),

to be members of the Carter Observatory Board for a period of three years as from 1 January 1961.

2. To appoint the following:

Richard Wright Willett, M.Sc.(N.Z); and Robert Leslie Archbald, Esquire,

to be members of the Carter Observatory Board for a period of three years as from 1 January 1961.

Dated at Wellington this 27th day of March 1961.

W. B. TENNENT, Minister in Charge of the Department of Scientific and Industrial Research.

(Air 12/11/9)