Birthday Honours List

His Excellency the Governor-General has announced that the Queen has been graciously pleased, on the occasion of the celebration of Her Majesty's Birthday, to confer the following

CIVIL DIVISION

Knight Commander of the Most Excellent Order of the British Empire (K.B.E.):

Mr Alfred Hayward, C.B.E., of Kereone, Morrinsville.

Knight Bachelor:

Mr James Lawrence Hay, o.B.E., of Christchurch. Mr Roy Hunter Stevenson, M.B.E., of Dunedin.

Companion of the Most Distinguished Order of Saint Michael and Saint George (C.M.G.):

Mr Frederick Horowhenua Melrose Hanson, D.S.O., O.B.E., M.M., E.D., of Wellington. Mr Brian Edwin Keiller, of Fitzherbert West, Palmerston

North.

Commander of the Most Excellent Order of the British Empire (C.B.E.):

Mr George Bartrum Baker, M.B.E., D.C.M., M.M., of Timaru. Mr George Philip Proctor, of Wellington.
Mr Frank Felix Reid, of Christchurch.
Mr William Arthur Whitlock, of Havelock North.

Officer of the Most Excellent Order of the British Empire (O.B.E.):

Mr James Douglas Aitchison, of Opiki, Palmerston North. Mr Malcolm Scott Galloway, M.C., of Wellington. Mr John Houston, of Hawera.
Mr Pei Te Hurinui Jones, of Taumarunui.
Captain Walter Geoffrey Kelsey, of Auckland.
Mr Morten Rennerberg, Lawson, of Mangamaire, Pahiatua.
Mr Ronald Wright McCredie, of Christchurch (formerly of Pukiawa, South Otago).
Mr Horace McDonald Scott, of Auckland.
Mr John Turnbull, of Wellington.
Mr Denys William Wanklyn Williams, of Tokomaru Bay.
Mr Pearce Melvin Eddy Williams, of Kaikohe.

Companion of the Imperial Service Order (I.S.O.):

Dr John Francis Filmer, of Lower Hutt.

Mr Raymond Edward Kemp, of Wellington.

Member of the Most Excellent Order of the British Empire (M.B.E.):

Miss Margaret Mariner Bain, of Christchurch.
Miss Lucy Elizabeth Cook, of Marton.
Mrs Helen May Downer, of Rotorua.
Mr Edwin Edwards, of Paeroa.
Brigadier Henry Charles Goffin (Salvation Army), of Wellington Wellington.

Detective Chief Inspector John James Halcrow, New Zealand Police, of Christchurch.

Mr Herbert Gladstone Hill, of Wellington.

Mr Basil Hundleby, of Blenheim.

Mrs Kathleen Gertrude Hurd-Wood, of Hamilton.

Mr Charles William Sherlock Keinan, of Milton.

Mr Christian Lassen, of Hastings.

The Reverend Pakake Heketoro Leonard, of Rotorua.

Mr John William MacLeod, of Loburn, North Canterbury.

Mr Harry Archibald Mildon, of Auckland.

Mr Alexander Gibb Monahan, of Motueka.

Mr Norman McLeod Speer, of Auckland.

Mr Stanley John Snow, of Whangarei.

Mrs Constance Egmont Tulloch, of Putaruru.

Mr Norman Webley, of Dannevirke. Wellington.

British Empire Medal for Gallantry (B.E.M.):

Constable Kenneth Miles Jones, New Zealand Police, of

Detective Joseph Sheehan, New Zealand Police, of Auckland.

MILITARY DIVISION

Commander of the Most Excellent Order of the British Empire (C.B.E.):

Brigadier Walter Sneddon McKinnon, o.B.E., Brigadiers' List (Regular Force), of Wellington.

Officer of the Most Excellent Order of the British Empire (O.B.E.):

Commander Cyril Howard Hilliard, v.R.D., Royal New Zealand Naval Volunteer Reserve, of Auckland.
Lieutenant-Colonel Leo Adolphus Kermode, The New Zealand Regiment (Regular Force), of Lower Hutt.
Wing Commander Lawrence Hugh Edwards, Royal New Zealand Air Force, of Christchurch.

Member of the Most Excellent Order of the British Empire (M.B.E.):

Lieutenant Commander Douglas Gerald Bamfield, A.D.C., Royal New Zealand Navy, of Dunedin.

Major Robert James Moor, E.D., Royal Regiment of New Zealand Artillery (Regular Force), of Wellington.

Major Robert Ewen Johnston, The New Zealand Regiment (Regular Force), of Burnham.

Squadron Leader Lancelot James McLean, Royal New Zealand Air Force, of Wellington.

Captain John James Ayton, The Corps of Royal New Zealand Electrical and Mechanical Engineers (Territorial Force), of Auckland.

Flight Officer Ernestine Graham Hume, Women's Royal New Zealand Air Force, of Whenuapai.

Warrant Officer Second Class Cecil Balfour Fowler, Royal New Zealand Infantry Corps (Territorial Force), of Christchurch.

Bar to the Air Force Cross:

Wing Commander Geoffrey Reid Burton Highet, D.F.C., A.F.C., Royal New Zealand Air Force, serving in the United Kingdom.

Air Force Cross (A.F.C.):

Flying Officer Brian Gordon Anderson, Royal New Zealand Air Force, serving in Singapore.

British Empire Medal (B.E.M.):

Staff Sergeant, Temporary Warrant Officer Second Class, Raymond Alfred Arthur Burnett, The Corps of Royal New Zealand Engineers (Regular Force), of Papakura.

Staff Sergeant, Temporary Warrant Officer Second Class, Healy Preston, Royal New Zealand Army Service Corps (Regular Force), of Burnham.

Chief Petty Officer Edward Charles Frederick Barnes, Royal New Zealand Navy, of Auckland

Chief Petty Officer Henry Cyril Melville Brock, Royal New Zealand Navy, of Auckland. Chief Petty Officer William Montgomery Cedric Gibbs, Royal New Zealand Navy, of Christchurch.

Chief Petty Officer Writer Reginald Owen Smyth, Royal New Zealand Navy, of Wellington.

Sergeant John Charles Hart, Royal New Zealand Air Force, of Hamilton.

Corporal Francis Murphy, Royal New Zealand Air Force, serving in Fiji.

Queen's Commendation for Valuable Services in the Air:

Flight Lieutenant Mervyn Ryburn Breed, Royal New Zealand Air Force, of Papatoetoe.

Flight Lieutenant Winston Ross Swap, Royal New Zealand Air Force, of Christchurch.

D. C. WILLIAMS, Official Secretary.

Releasing Land from the Provisions of Part XXIV of the Maori Affairs Act 1953 (Ruatoki Development Scheme)

Pursuant to section 332 of the Maori Affairs Act 1953, the Board of Maori Affairs hereby declares that, on the date of the publication of this notice in the *Gazette*, the land described in the Schedule hereto shall cease to be subject to the provisions of Part XXIV of the Maori Affairs Act 1953, the said land being so subject by virtue of a notice dated 11 May 1933 and published in the *Gazette*, 18 May 1933, Volume II, page 1373

SCHEDULE

SOUTH AUCKLAND LAND DISTRICT

Block and Area Survey District A. R. P.

Land Waiohau A Section

(formerly part Waihau 14 No. 3) VII, Rangitaiki Lower 53 1 8

Dated at Wellington this 8th day of June 1961.

For and on behalf of the Board of Maori Affairs-

E. A. McKAY. Assistant Secretary for Maori Affairs.

(M.A. 15/3/743, 63/56, 63/56A; D.O. M.A. 5305)