Reorganisation of Drainage Districts on Hauraki Plains

# COBHAM, Governor-General ORDER IN COUNCIL

At the Government House at Wellington this 28th day of June 1961

#### Present:

HIS EXCELLENCY THE GOVERNOR-GENERAL IN COUNCIL

Pursuant to the Local Government Commission Act 1953, His Excellency the Governor-General, acting by and with the advice and consent of the Executive Council, hereby makes the following order.

#### ORDER

1. This order shall come into force on the 1st day of July 1961. 2. The

Hauraki Plains Drainage District is hereby

abolished.
3. The Netherton Drainage District is hereby abolished and

3. The Netherton Drainage District is hereby abolished and the Netherton Drainage Board is hereby dissolved.

4. (a) The area described in the First Schedule hereto is hereby excluded from the Thames Valley Drainage District. (b) The areas described in the Second Schedule hereto are hereby included in the Thames Valley Drainage District.

(c) The boundaries of the Thames Valley Drainage District as so altered shall be as defined in the Third Schedule hereto.

5. (a) The area described in the Fourth Schedule hereto is hereby excluded from the Hauraki United Drainage District.

(b) The boundaries of the Hauraki United Drainage District as so altered shall be as defined in the Fifth Schedule hereto.

6. (a) The area described in the Sixth Schedule hereto is hereby constituted a drainage district to be known as the Hauraki South Drainage District.

(b) (i) The first election of trustees of the Hauraki South Drainage District shall be held on the day fixed by law for the next triennial general election of trustees of the Hauraki South Drainage District.

(ii) Until the coming into office of the trustees of the Hauraki South Drainage District following the said election, the Board of the said District shall consist of:

Five trustees to be nominated by the present Netherton

Drainage Board;

Drainage Board;
One trustee representing the Awaiti area to be nominated by the Thames Valley Drainage Board;
One trustee representing the Kerepehi area to be nominated by the Hauraki Catchment Board;
(iii) For the purpose of nominating five trustees to represent it on the Hauraki South Drainage Board as hereinbefore provided, but for no other purpose, the Netherton Drainage Board may continue in office after the 30th day of June 1961.
(c) The assets and liabilities of the Netherton Drainage Board shall vest in and become the assets and liabilities of the Hauraki South Drainage Board.
7. Except as otherwise provided herein the reorganisation of drainage districts hereby effected shall be deemed to have been effected under the Land Drainage Act 1908.

## FIRST SCHEDULE

# AREA EXCLUDED FROM THAMES VALLEY DRAINAGE DISTRICT

Area Excluded from Thames Valley Drainage District
All that area in the South Auckland Land District in Hauraki Plains County bounded by a line commencing at the westernmost corner of Section 70, Block VI, Waihou Survey District, and proceeding south-easterly generally along the north-eastern boundary of Thames Valley Drainage District as described in Gazette, 1953, page 1553, to the north-western corner of part Awaiti 1J 2B 2B in Block XV, Waihou Survey District; thence north-westerly along a right line across Awaiti South Road and Awaiti 1J 2B 1B 2B 2c 2 to the easternmost corner of Section 15, Block XV aforesaid (Awaiti Canal); thence westerly generally along the generally eastern and southern boundaries of the said Section 15 to and northerly along the eastern side of the Elstow Canal Reserve shown on S.O. 24202 (sheet 2), to its junction with the boundary of Thames Valley Drainage District; thence along that boundary as described in Gazette, 1953, page 1553, to the point of commencement. commencement.

### SECOND SCHEDULE

## AREAS INCLUDED IN THAMES VALLEY DRAINAGE DISTRICT

AREAS INCLUDED IN THAMES VALLEY DRAINAGE DISTRICT ALL that area in the South Auckland Land District in Piako County bounded by a line commencing at the junction of the right bank of the Waitoa River with the south-western boundary of Kopuatai 3 in Block VI, Waitoa Survey District, and proceeding south-easterly along that south-western boundary and the south-western boundaries of part Kopuatai 6 to and easterly, south-western boundaries of part Kopuatai 6 to and easterly, south-westerly, and westerly generally along the boundary of Thames Valley Drainage District as described in Gazette, 1953, page 1554, to the point of commencement. Also all that area in the South Auckland Land District in Piako County bounded by a line commencing at the northern-most corner of Section 20, Block VII, Waitoa Survey District, and proceeding northerly along a right line to the westernmost corner of Awaiti 1H 2A 3 in Block III, Waitoa Survey District, thence south-easterly generally and south-westerly generally along the boundary of the Thames Valley Drainage District as described in Gazette, 1953, page 1554, to the point of commencement.

commencement.

### THIRD SCHEDULE

BOUNDARIES OF THAMES VALLEY DRAINAGE DISTRICT

ALL that area in the South Auckland Land District in Hauraki Plains, Matamata, and Piako Counties, and Matamata Borough Plains, Matamata, and Piako Counties, and Matamata Borough bounded by a line commencing at the westermost corner of Lot 1, D.P. S. 3714, in Block XIV, Waihou Survey District, and proceeding north-easterly along the north-western boundary of the said Lot 1 and that boundary produced to and southerly generally along the eastern side of the Elstow Canal Reserve shown on S.O. 24202 (sheet 2) to and along the southern and eastern boundaries Section Section Counties and Southern and eastern boundaries Section Section Counties and Awaiti South Road to the north-western corner of part Awaiti 11 2a 2a; thence still southerly generally along the eastern side of the aforesaid road and along a right line being that roadside produced to and along the eastern boundary of Section 18, Block XV aforseaid, to its south-eastern boundary of Section 18 Block TV, Waitoa Survey District; thence south-eastern boundaries of Awaiti 11 2a 2a to and the south-western and south-eastern boundaries of Awaiti 11 2a 2b at the left bank of the Waihou River in Block IV, Waitoa Survey District; thence south-eastern boundaries of A public road forming the southern boundaries of Sections 37, 36, 35, 34, 33, 32, and part 23, Block XI, Aroha Survey District; thence south-eastern boundaries of a public road forming the southern boundaries of Sections 37, 36, 35, 34, 33, 32, and part 23, Block XI, Aroha Survey District, and Lot 1, D.P. 35889; thence along a right line to and along the northern boundaries of Sections 37, 36, 35, 34, 33, 32, and part 23, Block XI, Aroha Survey District, and Lot 1, D.P. 35889; thence westerly along a right line to and along the northern boundary of part Section 4, Block I, Wairere Survey District, shown on D.P. 2390 for a distance of 20 chains; thence along a right line to an along the northern boundary of part Section 4, Block I, Wairere Survey District, shown on D.P. 1435; thence along the northern boundary of part Section 6, Block I, Mairane Road and along a right line across the Academy of Section 4, Block II, Wairere