Settting Apart Maori Freehold Land as a Maori Reservation

COBHAM, Governor-General ORDER IN COUNCIL

At the Government House at Wellington this 12th day of July 1961

Present:

HIS EXCELLENCY THE GOVERNOR-GENERAL IN COUNCIL

PURSUANT to section 439 of the Maori Affairs Act 1953, His Excellency the Governor-General, acting by and with the advice and consent of the Executive Council, hereby sets apart the Maori freehold land described in the Schedule hereto for the purpose of a meeting place, burial ground, and church reserve for the common use of the owners thereof.

SCHEDULE

GISBORNE LAND DISTRICT

Block and Area Land Survey District A. R. P. Herenga A 24 X, Waiapu 2 2 16 T. J. SHERRARD, Clerk of the Executive Council. (M.A. 21/3/388)

Changing the Name of the Central Agricultural and Pastoral Association, Waipukurau (Notice No. Ag. 7328)

COBHAM, Governor-General ORDER IN COUNCIL

At the Government House at Wellington this 12th day of July 1961

Present:
HIS EXCELLENCY THE GOVERNOR-GENERAL IN COUNCIL

PURSUANT to the Agricultural and Pastoral Societies Act 1908, His Excellency the Governor-General, acting by and with the advice and consent of the Executive Council, hereby changes the name of the society incorporated under that Act under the style and title of The Central Agricultural and Pastoral Association, Waipukurau to The Central Hawke's Bay Agricultural and Pastoral Association.

T. J. SHERRARD, Clerk of the Executive Council.

Appointments in the Royal New Zealand Navy

Pursuant to the Navy Act 1954, His Excellency the Governor-General has been pleased to approve the following appointments and promotions in the Royal New Zealand Navy:

ments and promotions in the Royal New Zealand Navy:

Lieutenant D. G. Bamfield, A.D.C., promoted to rank of Lieutenant Commander and reappointed, to date 11 April 1961. Sub-Lieutenant T. M. O'Brien, promoted to rank of Lieutenant and reappointed, to date 1 May 1961.

Midshipman R. F. Hulford, promoted to rank of Acting Sub-Lieutenant with seniority of 1 May 1961 and reappointed, to date 1 May 1961.

Cadet G. N. Kendall, promoted to Midshipman and reappointed, to date 1 May 1961.

Cadet Midshipmen W. W. Devin, K. R. Moen, and J. M. Halliday, promoted to Midshipman and reappointed, to date 1 May 1961.

Gerald Curtis Wright, N.Z.15326, Leading Seaman. promoted

Gerald Curtis Wright, N.Z.15326, Leading Seaman, promoted to rank of Acting Sub-Lieutenant, to date 1 May 1961.

Paul Huffam, N.Z.15119, Radio Electrical Artificer Fourth Class, promoted to rank of Acting Sub-Lieutenant, to date 1 May 1961.

Dated at Wellington this 7th day of July 1961.

DEAN J. EYRE, Minister of Defence.

Appointments, Extensions of Commissions, and Date of Retirement, Cancellation of Commission, and Resignation of Officers of the Royal New Zealand Air Force

Pursuant to section 15 of the Royal New Zealand Air Force Act 1950, His Excellency the Governor-General has been pleased to approve the following appointments, extensions of commissions, and date of retirement, cancellation of commission, and resignation of officers of the Royal New Zealand sion, and Air Force.

REGULAR AIR FORCE

GENERAL DUTIES BRANCH

Appointments

The under-mentioned non-commissioned officers are granted short-service commissions in the General Duties Branch, Regular Air Force, for a period ending on the date shown to be followed by four years in the Reserve of Air Force Officers. They are appointed in the rank of Pilot Officer, with seniority and effect from 29 May 1961.

Flight Sergeant Gerald Ayre (74565), 3 April 1972. Sergeant Norman Claude (818322), 9 May 1967.

Cancellation of Commission

The commission of Acting Pilot Officer Matthew Augustine Cooney (80029) is cancelled with effect from 6 July 1961.

TECHNICAL BRANCH

Appointments

Engineer Division

Flight Sergeant Laurence Walter Tarr, B.E.M. (70880), is granted a short-service commission in the Technical Branch (Engineer Division), Regular Air Force, for a period ending 7 January 1967 to be followed by four years in the Reserve of Air Force Officers. He is appointed in the rank of Pilot Officer, with seniority and effect from 29 May 1961.

Sergeant John Graeme Pratt (75637) is granted a permanent commission in the Technical Branch (Engineer Division), Regular Air Force, in the rank of Pilot Officer, with seniority and effect from 29 May 1961.

Signals Division

Warrant Officer William Thomas Saunders (72600) is granted a permanent commission in the Technical Branch (Signals Division), Regular Air Force, in the rank of Flying Officer, with seniority and effect from 29 May 1961.

Flight Sergeant James Edward Carruthers (133859) is granted a short-service commission in the Technical Branch (Signals Division), Regular Air Force, for a period ending 21 February 1966, to be followed by four years in the Reserve of Air Force Officers. He is appointed in the rank of Pilot Officer, with seniority and effect from 29 May 1961.

Extension of Date of Retirement

Armament Division

The age for retirement of Squadron Leader John Stewart Rudd (70243) is extended for the period 7 September 1961 to 15 January 1962.

ADMINISTRATIVE AND SUPPLY BRANCH

Appointments

Secretarial Division

The under-mentioned Sergeants are granted permanent commissions in the Administrative and Supply Branch (Secretarial Division), Regular Air Force, in the rank of Pilot Officer, with seniority and effect from 29 May 1961.

Walter George Carruthers (73245). Douglas Harold Waghorn (72383).

Special Duties Division

Warrant Officer Alfred John Tiller (70842) is granted a short-service commission in the Administrative and Supply Branch (Special Duties Division), Regular Air Force, for a period ending 23 October 1966 to be followed by four years in the Reserve of Air Force Officers. He is appointed in the rank of Flying Officer, with seniority and effect from 29 May 1961 1961.

AIR TRAINING CORPS

Appointments

The under-mentioned are granted commissions in the Air Training Corps in the rank of Pilot Officer, with seniority and effect from the date shown:

James Edward Callaghan, B.Sc., 30 May 1961. Peter Wynn Joll, 12 June 1961. Ernest Clifford Doherty, 3 July 1961.

Resignation

Flying Officer Anthony Joseph Henry resigns his commission, with effect from 29 May 1961.

RESERVE OF AIR FORCE OFFICERS

Extensions of Commissions

The under-mentioned officers are granted extensions of their commissions until the date shown:

Flight Lieutenant James McEnteer Harbidge (132629), 10

January 1977.
Flight Lieutenant (temp.) Harold Edward Tully (132543), 6 September 1980.

Flying Officers

Geoffrey McFarland Alexander (132325), 16 October 1976. Richard Walter Pattison (814702), 23 December 1986. Harold Ronald John Mead (327303), 15 June 1987. Peter James Gillespie Mardon (568401), 19 June 1988. Patrick Simperingham, A.M.I.C.E. (302253), 27 June 1989. Evan Edward Thomas, M.A. (712466), 20 January 1990. Flying Officer (temp.) Keith Miller Hay, M.A. (130115), 6 March 1978.

Dated at Wellington this 11th day of July 1961.

DEAN J. EYRE, Minister of Defence.

(Air 12/11/9)