1st Battalion, The Hauraki Regiment, RNZ Inf

Lieutenant (temp. Captain) J. W. Shanks to be Captain. Dated 29 July 1961.

Lieutenant (temp. Dated 25 August 1961. Captain) B. G. Perry to be Captain.

1st Battalion, The Otago and Southland Regiment, RNZ Inf With reference to the notice published in the Gazette, 20 November 1958, Volume III, page 1678, relating to the promotion of 2nd Lieutenant C. S. Spain, for "Dated 26 September 1958", substitute "Dated 29 September 1958".

ROYAL N.Z. ARMY SERVICE CORPS

Territorial Force

1st Transport Company, RNZASC

2nd Lieutenant R. E. Watts, S.D.O(N.Z.), from the Reserve of Officers, Regimental List, 2nd General Hospital, RNZAMC, to be 2nd Lieutenant with seniority from 1 March 1957. Dated 17 July 1961.

ROYAL N.Z. CHAPLAINS DEPARTMENT

Territorial Force

The Rev. Bert Desmond Jameson, Chaplain 3rd Class (Church of England), is transferred to the Reserve of Officers, General List, Royal N.Z. Chaplains Department, in the rank of Chaplain 3rd Class. Dated 1 November 1961.

The Rev. J. J. Bradley, Chaplain 4th Class (Roman Catholic), resigns his commission. Dated 19 October 1961.

The Rev. David Macgregor Steedman, M.A.(N.Z.), B.D. (MELB.), Chaplain 4th Class (Presbyterian), is transferred to the Reserve of Officers, General List, Royal N.Z. Chaplains Department, in the rank of Chaplain 4th Class. Dated 24 October 1961.

N.Z. ARMY EDUCATION CORPS

Regular Force

Captain J. C. Elmsly, B.A., to be temp. Major. Dated 14 July 1961.

N.Z. CADET CORPS

Hokitika District High School Cadets

2nd Lieutenant R. G. Cant to be Lieutenant. Dated 13

November 1961.
2nd Lieutenant S. N. Morton to be Lieutenant. Dated 13 November 1961.

Nelson College Cadets

Captain G. Hughes, B.A., to be Major. Dated 7 November 1961

Opunake High School Cadets

Lieutenant K. E. Fox, B.A., DIP.ED., to be Captain. Dated 15 October 1960.

Rangitahi College Cadets

Lieutenant George Nelson Frear is posted to the Retired List, Dated 20 October 1961.

Rongotai College Cadets

Lieutenant (acting Captain) R. W. E. Taylor relinquishes the acting rank of Captain. Dated 31 January 1961.

Wairarapa College Cadets

Captain (temp. Major) M. B. Munn to be Major. Dated 1 June 1961.

RESERVE OF OFFICERS

Regimental List

1st Field Regiment, RNZA

The notice published in the Gazette, 31 August 1961, No. 55, page 1342, relating to Captain Derek Andrew Thorburn, E.D., is hereby cancelled and the following substituted:

"Captain Derek Andrew Thorburn, E.D., is posted to the Retired List in the rank of Major. Dated 26 July 1961."

2nd General Hospital, RNZAMC

2nd Lieutenant R. E. Watts, s.D.O.(N.Z.), is transferred to the 1st Transport Company, RNZASC. Dated 17 July 1961.

General List

Royal Regiment of N.Z. Artillery

With reference to the notice published in the Gazette, 16 November 1961, No. 73, page 1771, the name of Lieutenant Robert Alan Gibson is hereby deleted.

The Corps of Royal N.Z. Engineers

With reference to the notice published in the Gazette, 16 November 1961, No. 73, page 1771, the name of Captain Neville William Sherring is hereby deleted.

Royal N.Z Infantry Corps

With reference to the notice published in the Gazette, 16 November 1961, No. 73, page 1771, the name of Captain Allan Thomas Bustard is hereby deleted.

The following are posted to the Retired List:

Royal Regiment of N.Z. Artillery

Lieutenant William O'Meara. Dated 22 October 1961.

The Corps of Royal N.Z. Engineers

Major Robert Gilmour, E.D., A.M.I.C.E., A.M.N.Z.I.E., A.A.S.E. (CIV.). Dated 12 November 1961.

Royal N.Z. Chaplains Department

The Rev. William Selwyn Dawson, Chaplain 4th Class (Methodist). Dated 1 November 1961.

The Rev. John Spencer Vincent, Chaplain 4th Class (Church of England). Dated 9 November 1961.

Royal N.Z. Dental Corps

Lieutenant Euan Moore, B.D.S. Dated 21 November 1961.

N.Z. Cadet Corps

Captain John Patrick Blewman. Dated 13 November 1961. Captain Charles Barratt Floyd, B.SC. Dated 6 November Î961.

Dated at Wellington this 1st day of December 1961.

D. C. SEATH, for the Minister of Defence.

Appointments, Confirmation of Appointments, Promotion, Extensions of Commissions, Transfer, Termination, and Cancellation of Commissions of Officers of the Royal New Zealand Air Force

PURSUANT to section 15 of the Royal New Zealand Air Force Act 1950, His Excellency the Governor-General has been pleased to approve the following appointments, confirmation of appointments, promotion, extensions of commissions, transfer, termination, and cancellation of commissions of officers of the Royal New Zealand Air Force.

REGULAR AIR FORCE

GENERAL DUTIES BRANCH

Confirmation of Appointments

The under-mentioned Acting Pilot Officers are confirmed in their appointments and granted the rank of Pilot Officer, with effect from 15 December 1961:

om 15 December 1961:
Rodger Frederick Barson (80014).
Peter Gilbert Bevin (80027).
Christopher Bernard Carde (80028).
Graham Maxwell Cochran (78265).
John Murray Denton (80031).
Malcolm Ross Forsyth (80032).
John Stuart Hosie (79671).
Maurice Lyle Manttan (80035).
Alistair Graham Martin (80036).
William John Ramsay (76826).
Robert Lacon Randal (716974).
Perry John Wilkins (77209).

Cancellation of Commission

The commission of Acting Pilot Officer Melvyn Ronald Davies (80030) is cancelled, with effect from 14 December

TECHNICAL BRANCH Transfer to Retired List

Engineer Division

Squadron Leader Richard Langsford Brewer, M.B.E. (70219), is transferred to the Retired List "A", with effect from 15 February 1962.

ADMINISTRATIVE AND SUPPLY BRANCH Appointment

Special Duties Division

Bernard Francis Feehan (80706) is granted a short-service commission in the Administrative and Supply Branch (Special Duties Division), Regular Air Force, for a period ending 20 November 1966 to be followed by four years in the Reserve of Air Force Officers. He is appointed in the rank of Pilot Officer, with seniority and effect from 21 November 1961

MEDICAL BRANCH

Promotion

Flying Officer (Acting Flight Lieutenant) John Hayward Henderson, M.B., CH.B. (921547), to be Flight Lieutenant, with effect from 28 November 1961.