

SUPPLEMENT

TO THE

NEW ZEALAND GAZETTE

OF

THURSDAY, 15 MARCH 1962

Published by Authority

WELLINGTON: FRIDAY, 16 MARCH 1962

Proposed Boundaries of the Electoral Districts in the North Island and the South Island of New Zealand

THE Representation Commission appointed in pursuance of section 15 of the Electoral Act 1956 hereby publishes, in accordance with the provisions of section 18 of the said Act, the proposed boundaries of the electoral districts in the North and South Islands of New Zealand; and, further, gives notice that written objections to the same will be received by the undersigned, the Chairman of the Commission, at the office of the Surveyor-General, Government Buildings, Wellington, not later than noon on Tuesday, the 17th day of April 1962, for consideration by the aforesaid Commission.

Maps of the proposed districts may be seen at the office of any city or borough council, county council, town board, or road board; of the Chief Surveyor at Auckland, New Plymouth, Gisborne, Napier, Wellington, Blenheim, Nelson, Hokitika, Christchurch, Dunedin, and Invercargill; of the Chief Electoral Officer at Wellington; and of the Registrars of Electors throughout the Dominion.

Counties, ridings, cities, boroughs, and town districts where mentioned in this notice shall, unless otherwise stated, be as existing on 18 April 1961.

Dated at Wellington this 16th day of March 1962.

L. G. H. SINCLAIR, Chairman of the Representation Commission.

Hobson

All that area being the present Electoral District of Hobson, the Otonga Riding of the County of Whangarei, and that portion of Mangakahia Riding of the County of Whangarei bounded towards the north-east generally by a line commencing at a point on the northern boundary of the Whangarei County in Block IV, Tutamoe Survey District, in the middle of the Mangakahia River; thence south-easterly up the middle of that river and the Opouteke River to the middle of the Kaikohe-Maungatapere road, along that road to and along the Parakao-Kirikopuni road to the southern boundary of the County of Whangarei on the southern boundary of Block X, Maungakahia Survey District.

MARSDEN

All that area being the present Electoral District of Marsden excluding the Otonga Riding of the County of Whangarei and that portion of Mangakahia Riding of the County of Whangarei included in the Electoral District of Hobson hereinbefore described.

RODNEY

Rodney, the Borough of Helensville, the Town District of Warkworth, and that portion of the County of Waitemata bounded by a line commencing at the intersection of the eastern boundary of the County of Waitemata and the production of a line on the north-west side of Sunset Road 250 links from and parallel to that road; thence south-westerly along right lines parallel to and distant 250 links from Sunset and Glendhu Roads, to and along the western boundary of Lot 26, D.P. 2093, to Hellyers Creek, being a point on the boundary of the County of Waitemata; thence South-westerly generally along the boundary of the said county to a point in line with the middle of Luckens Road; thence westerly generally to and along the middle of that road, Hobsonville Road, No. 16 Provincial State Highway, Red Hills Road, Sunnyvale Road, McEntees Road, the Henderson-Swanson-Kumeu road, to a point on the boundary of Waitakere Riding of the County of Waitemata and south-westerly along that boundary to the sea coast, being a point on the boundary of the County of Waitemata; thence northerly, easterly, and southerly generally along the boundaries of that county to the point of commencement; and including Herald Island, Little Barrier Island, Kawau and Motuketekete Islands, and other adjacent islands.

WAITEMATA

All that area comprising the Boroughs of East Coast Bays, Northcote, and Birkenhead, that portion of the Borough of Takapuna not included in the Electoral District of North Shore hereinafter described, and that portion of the Birkenhead Riding of the County of Waitemata not included in the Electoral District of Rodney hereinbefore described.

NORTH SHORE

All that area comprising the Borough of Devonport and that portion of the Borough of Takapuna lying to the south-east of a line commencing at a point on the western boundary of the said Borough of Takapuna, being the middle line of Marsh Avenue, and proceeding generally north-easterly along the middle of Marsh Avenue, East Coast Road, Castor Bay Road, Seaview Road, Marama Street, Rahopara Street and its production to the sea coast.