Exempting Land in the South Auckland Land District from the Operation of Part III of the Coal Mines Act 1925

COBHAM, Governor-General

PURSUANT to the Coal Mines Act 1925, His Excellency the Governor-General hereby gives the following notice:

NOTICE

THE land described in the Schedule hereto is hereby exempted from the operation of Part III of the Coal Mines Act 1925.

SCHEDULE ALL that parcel of land containing 1 rood, more or less, being Lot 7 on Deposited Plan 17389, being part of Allotment 79, Parish of Pepepe, excepting thereout all veins, seams and beds of coal, fireclay, and all minerals whatsoever in, upon, or under the said land (Conveyance 173870 – R. 112/262, confirmed by Deed 178252 – R. 120/516), and being part of the land com-prised and described in certificate of title, Volume 1298, folio 74 (South Auckland Registry), subject to the mining easement appurtenant to the coal, fireclay, and minerals under the land (certificate of title, Volume 768, folio 91) created by Convey-ance 173870 (R. 112/262) confirmed by Deed 178252 (R. 120/516).

As witness the hand of His Excellency the Governor-General this 1st day of May 1962.

T. P. SHAND, Minister of Mines. (Mines 11/12/9-9)

Appointments, Promotions, Relinquishment of Temporary Rank, Extensions of Commissions, and Date of Retirement, and Transfers of Officers of the Royal New Zealand Air Force

PURSUANT to section 15 of the Royal New Zealand Air Force Act 1950, His Excellency the Governor-General has been pleased to approve the following appointments, promotions, relinquishment of temporary rank, extensions of commissions, and date of retirement, and transfers of officers of the Royal New Zealand Air Force.

REGULAR AIR FORCE GENERAL DUTIES BRANCH Promotions

The under-mentioned Pilot Officers to be Flying Officers, with effect from 5 May 1962:

Murray Hope Bond (79395). Denis Patrick Cahill (80024). Ian Michael Hill (80011). John Dale Kirtlan (80012). Bryan Harold Morrison (80016). George Arthur Oldfield (338247). Errol Malcolm Graham Parker (80017). Garry Raymond Walsh (80021). Maurice Victor White (78196).

Extensions of Commissions

The under-mentioned Flight Lieutenants are granted extensions of their commissions until the date shown:

Frederick Peter Brown (709336), 1 January 1966. Neil John Wood (458456), 18 December 1966. John Douglas Lack (74202), 25 January 1971.

AIR TRAINING CORPS

Promotion

Flight Lieutenant Roy James Parkes to be Squadron Leader, with effect from 13 March 1962.

RESERVE OF AIR FORCE OFFICERS

A ppointments

The under-mentioned Flying Officers to be temporary Flight Lieutenants, with effect from the date shown: Ross Harrison McWilliams (711958), 3 March 1962. Arthur William Jones (74792), 24 March 1962.

Relinquishment of Temporary Rank

Temporary Flight Lieutenant (temporary Rank Alan Edward Law Britton, M.Sc. (74146) ceases to command Linwood High School Air Training Corps Unit and relinquishes the temporary rank of Squadron Leader, with effect from 18 April 1962.

Extension of Date of Retirement

The age for retirement of Flight Lieutenant (temp.) Roland McLean Ferkins, M.A., DIP.ED. (134127), is extended for a period of one year, with effect from 6 May 1962.

Extensions of Commissions

The under-mentioned officers are granted extensions of their commissions until the date shown:

Squadron Leaders:

Samuel Jackson Madill, O.B.E., D.F.C. (130330), 14 December 1968.

William Moffat Murray, D.F.C., DIP.AGR. (131712), 10 January 1969. James Roy Cullen, D.F.C. (131545), 1 May 1974.

Flight Lieutenants:

William Wood Weir Burgess, A.F.C. (131370), 3 December 1966.

Cecil Gillon Christophers (131600), 6 October 1968. James Duncan Cochrane, DIP.HORT. (131552), 13 August 1970.

1970.
Terence Bernard Marra (131529), 17 August 1971.
Robert Harold Fawcett (131374), 26 October 1974.
Albert William Cliffe, B.E., A.M.I.C.E., A.M.N.Z.LE. (134015), 18 January 1979.
Flight Lieutenant (*temp.*) William Albert Craig, м.А. (131551), 28 December 1977.

Flying Officers:

Neville Joseph Harris (132608), 2 February 1975. (This cancels notice published in *Gazette*, 22 February 1962, No. 13, page 332).

- John Patrick Hickson (131461), 8 September 1976. Esmond Revans Cook (131549), 1 June 1978. Bruce McKinnon (131559), 16 December 1978. Robert John Macrae (675614), 18 August 1986. James Robert Hutchison (797031), 13 June 1987. Pilot Officer Derrick Martin Catley (579647), 4 April 1967.

Transfer

Flying Officer Wayne Tyrrell (823799) is transferred from the Administrative and Supply Branch (Special Duties Divi-sion), Territorial Air Force, to the Reserve of Air Force Officers for a period of four years, with effect from 31 March 1962.

Dated at Wellington this 7th day of May 1962.

DEAN J. EYRE, Minister of Defence. (Air 12/11/9)

Appointment of Maori Wardens Under the Maori Social and Economic Advancement Act 1945

PURSUANT to section 11 of the Maori Social and Economic Advancement Act 1945, the Minister of Maori Affairs hereby appoints the persons named in the first column of the Schedule hereto to be Maori Wardens for the tribal districts shown in the second column of the Schedule.

SCHEDULE

SCHEDULE			
First Column			Second Column
James Smith		••	Manukau
Te Tuaha Wikiriwhi			Tokoroa
William Pairama		••••••	Taniwharau
Basil Rangiwananga		·····	Northern Ngatiruanui
Simon Maruera	•••••		Southern Ngatiruanui
Reweti Peehi alias Robin	Peehi		Wanganui North
Dick Pirere			Wanganui North
Ralph Paratene		••••••	Wellington
Augustus Hare Rogers			Canterbury
Arthur Kitchener Hopa			Canterbury
Vivian Boyd			Canterbury
Tamatea Te Tau Parata			Otago
Leonard Ferner Holder			Murihiku
Adrian Hart	•••••		Murihiku
William Raumati			Murihiku
Dated at Wellington this 8th day of May 1962.			
J. R. HANAN, Minister of Maori Affairs.			

(M.A. 36/4/9)

Appointing an Honorary Welfare Officer Under the Maori Social and Economic Advancement Act 1945

PURSUANT to section 4A of the Maori Social and Economic Advancement Act 1945, the Minister of Maori Affairs hereby appoints Mr Puti Tipene Watene to be an Honorary Welfare Officer

Dated at Wellington this 10th day of May 1962.

J. R. HANAN, Minister of Maori Affairs. (M.A. 35/1/21)