			Certificate	Personal Classification
Lee, Robert J.		 	M/W	I
Le Gale, Alan F.		 	M/W	Ĩ
Lucas, Norman		 	M/W	III
Mitchell, Frederick	H.	 	M/W	I
Moody, Rex B.		 	M/W	I
Sandbrook, Horace	,	 	M/W	II
Smith, Robert		 	M/W	II
Smith, Robert M.		 	M/W	Ш
Yarr, John L.		 	M/W	I
			· · ·	

A. E. CAMPBELL, Director of Education.

### Birthday Honours List

HIS Excellency the Governor-General has announced that the Queen has been graciously pleased, on the occasion of the celebration of Her Majesty's Birthday, to confer the following honours:

#### CIVIL DIVISION

Knight Commander of the Most Excellent Order of the British Empire (K.B.E.)-

Mr Alfred Thomas Carroll, o.B.E., of Wairoa.

## Knight Bachelor-

Mr Robert James Kerridge, of Auckland.

Companion of the Most Distinguished Order of Saint Michael and Saint George (C.M.G.)—

Lieutenant Colonel Kenneth Wharton Fraser, o.B.E., E.D., of Eastbourne.
Mr Foss Shanahan, of Wellington.

Commander of the Most Excellent Order of the British Empire (C.B.E.)—

Miss Hermione Ruth Herrick, o.B.E., of Christchurch. Mr Stanley Dixon Reeves, of Gisborne. Mr Douglas Ogilvie Whyte, of Wellington.

Officer of the Most Excellent Order of the British Empire (O.B.E.)—

Mr Ernest Alfred Adams, of Christchurch.
Dr Frederick Cameron, of Levin.
Mr William Thompson Churchward, of Blenheim.
Mr John Alexander Colquhoun, of Palmerston North.
Mr Ronald Macgregor Hutton-Potts, of Invercargill.
Mr James Joseph Maher, of Trentham.
Mr Hone Heke Rankin, of Kaikohe.
Mr John Richard Reid, of Lower Hutt.
The Reverend Dr James David Salmond, of Dunedin.
Mr Hugh Morison, of Mangatainoka.

Companion of the Imperial Service Order (I.S.O.)-

Mr Thomas Pound, of Wellington. Mr Percy Walton Smallfield, of Wellington.

Member of the Most Excellent Order of the British Empire (M.B.E.)— (M.B.É.)—

Mr Maurice Ballantine Baker, of Rarotonga, Cook Islands. Miss Evelyn Love Dowling, of New Plymouth. Mr Frank Charles Eyles, of Whangarei. Mr Michael Christian Gudex, of Hamilton. Mr Charles William Henderson, of Johnsonville. Mrs Norah Mary Hudson, of Nelson. Mrs Kassie Bowring McCreanor, of Christchurch. Mr Thomas McCristell, of Balclutha. Mrs Ethel McQuilkin, of Tinwald, Ashburton. Miss Winifred Lascelles Jenner Mellsop, of Auckland. Mr David Norman Perry, of Opotiki. Mr Eric Gordon Smith, of Rangiora. Mr Peter George Snell, of Auckland. Mr James Edward Francis Stokes, of Cobden, Greymouth. Mr James Leece Sutton, of Invercargill. Mr Mete Kingi Takarangi, of Putiki, Wanganui. Mr Albert Wheeler, of Dunedin. Mr Harold Egmont Young, of Raumati Beach, Paraparaumu.

# British Empire Medal (B.E.M.)-

Sergeant Elizabeth Florence Bennett, New Zealand Police,

of Auckland.
Constable Jessie Jeanie Dobbie Fleming, New Zealand Police, of Auckland.
Constable Alexander Gordon Hogg, of Eastbourne.
Mr Malcolm McLaren, of Tawa, Wellington.
Mr James Anthony Newsome, of Christchurch.

## MILITARY DIVISION

Commander of the Most Excellent Order of the British Empire (C.B.E.)—

Group Captain Anthony Howard Marsh, Royal New Zealand Air Force, of Lower Hutt.

of the Most Excellent Order of the British Empire (O.B.E.)-

Commander John Foster McKenzie, Royal New Zealand

Navy, of Auckland.
Lieutenant-Colonel Malcolm John Mason, M.C., E.D., Royal
New Zealand Army Service Corps (Territorial Force),
of Wellington.
Wing Commander Francis Eugene Fennessy, Royal New
Zealand Air Force, of Wallaceville, Upper Hutt.

Member of the Most Excellent Order of the British Empire (M.B.Ė.)-

Lieutenant Commander (SP) Robert Stewart Fleming, Royal New Zealand Naval Volunteer Reserve, of New Plymouth.

Major Berand Matauru Poananga, New Zealand Regiment (Regular Force), of Porirua East.

Major Bernard Wellesley Jermyn Brown, E.D., Whakatane High School Cadet Unit (New Zealand Cadet Corps), of

Whakatane.

Major Garth Turon Seccombe, D.C.M., Royal New Zealand Armoured Corps (Regular Force), of New Plymouth.

Warrant Officer Second Class Duncan Garner MacPherson, Royal New Zealand Infantry Corps (Territorial Force), of Johnson Ile.

Flight Lieutenant Patrick Emmett Hugh Duffin, Royal New Zealand Air Force, of Christchurch.

Warrant Officer Gordon Ernest Tynan, Royal New Zealand Air Force, of Palmerston North.

## Air Force Cross (A.F.C.)-

Squadron Leader Harold Gordon Moss, Royal New Zealand Air Force, of Porirua East.

Squadron Leader Edward John Ernest Tompkins, Royal
New Zealand Air Force, of Auckland.

### British Empire Medal (B.E.M.)-

Chief Engine Room Artificer Daniel Sheldrake, Royal New Zealand Navy, of Auckland.
Chief Petty Officer Patrick Hartley Barker, Royal New Zealand Navy, of Glen Eden, Auckland.
Chief Engine Room Artificer Norman Noel Dewson, Royal New Zealand Navy of Auckland

Chief Engine Room Artificer Norman Noel Dewson, Royal New Zealand Navy, of Auckland.
Chief Electrician Ralph Roland Wheeler, Royal New Zealand Navy, of Auckland.
Corporal Lewis Tuka Williams, New Zealand Regiment (Regular Force), serving in Malaya.
Sergeant Rushby Carl Midgley Brown, New Zealand Regiment (Regular Force), of Burnham.
Staff Sergeant Ronald James Shelley, Royal New Zealand Army Service Corps (Regular Force), of Ngaruawahia.
Staff Sergeant Joseph Ernest Dunn, Royal Regiment of New Zealand Artillery (Regular Force), of Christchurch.
Sergeant William Alexander Kenneth Currie, Royal New Zealand Air Force, of Whenuapai.
Temporary Sergeant Norman Henry Bartholomew, Royal New Zealand Air Force, of New Plymouth.

Queen's Commendation for Valuable Services in the Air-

Flight Lieutenant Te Waaka Hemi Morete, Royal New Zealand Air Force, of Whenuapai.
Flight Lieutenant Barry David Gordon, Royal New Zealand Air Force, of Christchurch.

D. C. WILLIAMS, Official Secretary.

Releasing Land from the Provisions of Part XXIV of the Maori Affairs Act 1953 (Pokapu Development Scheme)

Pursuant to section 332 of the Maori Affairs Act 1953, the Board of Maori Affairs hereby declares that on the date of the publication of this notice in the *Gazette* the land described in the Schedule hereto shall cease to be subject to the provisions of Part XXIV of the Maori Affairs Act 1953, the said land being so subject by virtue of a notice dated 15 September 1930 and published in the *Gazette*, 25 September 1930, Volume III, page 2851.

# **SCHEDULE**

NORTH AUCKLAND LAND DISTRICT

Block and Survey District A. R. P. II, III, Motatau ..... 776 2 0 Pokapu A

Dated at Wellington this 8th day of June 1962.

For and on behalf of the Board of Maori Affairs

B. E. SOUTER, Assistant Secretary for Maori Affairs.

(M.A. 61/22, 61/7A; D.O. 18/8)