The under-mentioned Acting Pilot Officers to be Pilot Officers, with effect from 24 May 1962:

Carey William Adamson (80420).
Brian Kenneth Bassett (80414).
Ronald Walter Campbell (79670).
Renato Alberto De Lorenzo (80413).
Anthony Michael Keane (80416).
Rex Joseph Lorigan (80415).
David James Meale (80015).
John Orrick Vass Thompson (821725).

#### Amendment

The notice published in Gazette, 17 May 1962, No. 31, page 766, relating to the promotion of Pilot Officers John Dale Kirtlan and Errol Malcolm Graham Parker to Flying Officer is hereby amended to read "with effect from 5 March 1962", instead of "with effect from 5 May 1962".

# TECHNICAL BRANCH

#### Promotions

Engineer Division

The under-mentioned Pilot Officers to be Flying Officers, with effect from 29 May 1962:

John Graeme Pratt (75637). Laurence Walter Tarr, B.E.M. (70880).

Signals Division

Pilot Officer James Edward Carruthers (133859) to be Flying Officer, with effect from 29 May 1962.

#### ADMINISTRATIVE AND SUPPLY BRANCH

#### **Promotions**

Secretarial Division

The under-mentioned Pilot Officers to be Flying Officers, with effect from 29 May 1962:

Alexander Albert Glover (71551). Walter George Carruthers (73245). Douglas Harold Waghorn (72383).

#### Appointment

Special Duties Division

Squadron Leader Lancelot James McLean, M.B.E. (70113), to be temporary Wing Commander, with effect from 21 May

#### AIR TRAINING CORPS

# Promotion

Flying Officer Kenneth Vivian Bliss, B.SC., Di Flight Lieutenant, with effect from 1 May 1962. DIP.ED., to be

Dated at Wellington this 6th day of June 1962.

DEAN J. EYRE, Minister of Defence.

(Air 12/11/9)

Appointments, Promotion, Relinquishment of Temporary Rank, Extensions of Commissions, and Dates of Retirement, and Transfers of Officers of the Royal New Zealand Air Force

Pursuant to section 15 of the Royal New Zealand Air Force Act 1950, His Excellency the Governor-General has been pleased to approve the following appointments, promotion, relinquishment of temporary rank, extensions of commissions, and dates of retirement, and transfers of officers of the Royal New Zealand Air Force.

# REGULAR AIR FORCE

# GENERAL DUTIES BRANCH

Extension of Date of Retirement

The age for retirement of Flight Lieutenant Harold Guy Barlow (76419) is extended for the period 28 August 1962 to 1 June 1963.

# TECHNICAL BRANCH

Extension of Date of Retirement

Engineer Division

The age for retirement of Squadron Leader Walter Andrew Chandler, B.E.M. (70211), is extended for the period 15 August 1962 to 1 June 1963.

## ADMINISTRATIVE AND SUPPLY BRANCH

Extension of Date of Retirement

Secretarial Division

The age for retirement of Squadron Leader Vincent Dennehy Aloysius McCarten (70273) is extended for the period 10 April 1962 to 1 October 1962.

## AIR TRAINING CORPS

# Appointments

The under-mentioned are granted commissions in the Air Training Corps in the rank of Pilot Officer, with seniority and effect from the date shown:

Sam Gardiner, 12 April 1962. Donald George Kercher, B.A., 4 May 1962.

Pilot Officer Colin Donald Gunn to be Flying Officer, with effect from 5 May 1962.

# Transfer to Retired List

Flying Officer Stanley Wilde, B.A., is transferred to the Retired List "B", with effect from 16 March 1962.

#### RESERVE OF AIR FORCE OFFICERS

Relinquishment of Temporary Rank

Flying Officer (temporary Flight Lieutenant) Charles Millard Tapper, D.F.C. (133296), ceases to be attached to the Air Training Corps and relinquishes the temporary rank of Flight Lieutenant, with effect from 18 April 1962.

#### Extensions of Commissions

The under-mentioned officers are granted extensions of their commissions until the date shown:

#### Wing Commanders:

Ronald Affleck Kirkup, A.F.C. (131491), 29 January 1963. Ronald Williams Baird, O.B.E., LL.M., B.COM., A.R.A.N.Z., A.C.I.S. (131815), 10 August 1972. Squadron Leader William David Barney, M.A., DIP.ED., PH.D. (131932), 15 July 1975. Squadron Leader (temp.) William Trevor McKeown, B.A., B.SC. (74145), 13 May 1971.

# Flight Lieutenants:

Ernest Laurie Page (131740), 8 September 1963. Leslie Carsten Hansen, A.R.A.N.Z. (131860), 1 December 1965. 1965.
Donald Garth Allan Price (131749), 21 February 1967.
Leonard Rodney Hewitt (131526), 27 January 1968.
Garry Ramsey Craig (131843), 2 December 1968.
Darcy Bertram Christopher (131599), 14 January 1969.
Peter John Couchman (131838), 30 June 1969.
Norman Herbert Beard (131594), 27 August 1976.
Ralph Martyn Skeates (333131), 14 September 1988.

#### Flying Officers:

Eric Bradwell (131819), 9 March 1963.

Maurice George Rees (131895), 4 September 1969.

Raymond Edgar Clark, B.Com., F.R.A.N.Z., F.C.A.I.N.Z., A.C.I.S. (131825), 17 December 1969.

Gilbert Mackay Haase (131441), 30 December 1971.

Frank Briand Baudinet (131573), 27 May 1972.

Cecil Frank Hawker (131489), 21 July 1973.

Herbert Elmer Lorraine Pickering, M.P. (131905), 29 March 1974. Leslie Charles Bell (131593), 31 March 1974.

Leslie Charles Bell (131497), 25 December 1974.

Charles Millard Tapper, D.F.C. (133296), 2 September 1976.

## Transfer

Flight Lieutenant John Edward Packer, M.SC., Ph.D. (816643), is transferred from the Administrative and Supply Branch (Special Duties Division), Regular Air Force, to the Reserve of Air Force Officers for a period of four years, with effect from 12 May 1962.

Dated at Wellington this 31st day of May 1962.

DEAN J. EYRE, Minister of Defence.

(Air 12/11/9)

# Officers Authorised to Take and Receive Statutory Declarations

Pursuant to section 9 of the Oaths and Declarations Act 1957, His Excellency the Governor-General has been pleased to authorise the holders for the time being of the offices in the service of the Crown, specified in the Schedule below, to take and receive statutory declarations under the said Act.

## **SCHEDULE**

GOVERNMENT LIFE INSURANCE OFFICE District Manager, New Plymouth. District Manager, Whangarei.

Dated at Wellington this 7th day of April 1962.

J. R. HANAN, Minister of Justice.

Appointment of Deputy Transport Licensing Authority

PURSUANT to section 88 of the Transport Act 1949, the Minister of Transport hereby appoints

# John Sprague Haywood

as Deputy for the No. 58, No. 6, and No. 7 Transport Licensing Authorities from the 11th day of June 1962 until the 31st day of August 1962.

Dated at Wellington this 7th day of June 1962.

JOHN McALPINE, Minister of Transport.

(TT. 20/5/0)