the Territorial Air Force for a period of five years followed by a period in the Reserve of Air Force Officers ending 9 August 1977. He is transferred in the rank of Flight Lieutenant, with seniority and effect from 1 April 1962.

## AIR TRAINING CORPS

### Appointment

The Rev. William Parry Durning is granted a commission in the Air Training Corps in the rank of Pilot Officer, with seniority and effect from 22 May 1962.

#### **Promotions**

The under-mentioned Pilot Officers to be Flying Officers, with effect from the date shown:

John Andrew Grigor, M.Sc., 7 April 1962. Alfred Dennis Mehlhopt, 7 April 1962. Bruce Donald Gardner, B.A., B.Sc., 18 May 1962.

#### **RESERVE OF AIR FORCE OFFICERS**

Extensions of Commissions

The under-mentioned officers are granted extensions of their commissions until the date shown: Squadron Leaders:

Maui John Hanslip Bruorton, M.B.E., A.P.A.N.Z., A.I.A.N.Z (131919), 27 November 1966. Jeffery George West, D.F.M., A.P.A.N.Z., p.s.a. (130336), 30 October 1967.

Cassilis James Seelye, M.SC., PH.D. (131886), 24 November

1967. Harold Percival Bradshaw Dive (130322), 21 September

1968 Murdoch Campbell Paterson, A.C.I.S. (130308), 26 March

Evan Julian, D.F.C. (131970), 20 October 1972.

Squadron Leader (*temp.*) John Ronald Day, M.B.E., A.F.C. (130118), 24 November 1967.

#### Transfers

Transfers Flight Lieutenant Valdimir Ian Mortensen (301716) is transferred from the General Duties Branch, Regular Air Force, to the Reserve of Air Force Officers for a period of four years, with effect from 7 June 1962. Flight Lieutenant Francis Potter (76270) is transferred from the Administrative and Supply Branch (Equipment Division), Regular Air Force, to the Reserve of Air Force Officers for a period of four years, with effect from 16 May 1962. Squadron Leader James Gregory Norman, M.R.C.S. (ENG.), L.R.C.P. (LOND.) (133707), is transferred from the Medical Branch, Regular Air Force, to the Reserve of Air Force Officers for a period of four years, with effect from 22 June 1962. 1962

Dated at Wellington this 13th day of June 1962.

DEAN J. EYRE, Minister of Defence. (Air 12/11/9)

Appointment, Promotion, Extensions of Commissions, and Date of Retirement, and Termination of Commission of Officers of the Royal New Zealand Air Force

PURSUANT to section 15 of the Royal New Zealand Air Force Act 1950, His Excellency the Governor-General has been pleased to approve the following appointment, promotion, extensions of commissions, and date of retirement, and termina-tion of commission of officers of the Royal New Zealand Air Excess Force.

## **REGULAR AIR FORCE** TECHNICAL BRANCH

## Appointment 4 1 1

Armament Division

Flying Officer Harry Ernest Doleman (76273) to be tem-porary Flight Lieutenant, with effect from 1 April 1962.

# Administrative and Supply Branch

Extension of Date of Retirement

Special Duties Division

The age for retirement of Wing Commander (temp.) Lancelot James McLean, M.B.E. (70113), is extended for a further period of eight months, with effect from 25 June 1962.

## EDUCATION BRANCH

Promotion

Squadron Leader George Eric Gudsell, B.Sc., s.c. (70323), to be Wing Commander, with effect from 6 June 1962.

# RESERVE OF AIR FORCE OFFICERS

Extensions of Commissions

The under-mentioned officers are granted extensions of their commissions until the date shown:

Flight Lieutenants:

John Norman Kirk (132093), 2 September 1963. James William Adams, B.A., B.Sc. (131808), 26 April 1966. Philip Robert Perry Bryers (132027), 1 January 1967. Cyril Francis Bromley, A.R.A.N.Z., A.C.I.S. (132022), 29 March 1967. Cyril Francis Bromey, A.R.A.N.Z., Acci.s. (192022), March 1967. John William Veale, A.R.A.N.Z. (131946), 5 May 1967. Orton Wallace Knight (132095), 12 September 1967. Francis Sonley Johnstone (131695), 13 August 1969. Ronald Sydney Jones, M.SC. (HONS.) (131877), 16 February Idiata Sydney Jones, M.S.C. (HONS.) (131877), 16 February 1970.
Bryan Cranstone Scott (131786), 14 January 1971.
Eric Neil Baker (131570), 7 July 1971.
Peter John Malcolm Ballard, B.COM., A.R.A.N.Z. (131930), 7 July 1971.
Ronald Leslie House (131609), 16 October 1971.
Thomas Desmond Brewer (131939), 21 November 1971.
Eric David Butler Lusk (132076), 1 January 1972.
Manson Harry Barraclough (131933), 6 July 1972.
Allott Lorimer Gabites, A.R.I.B.A., A.N.Z.I.A., A.A.DIP.
A.M.T.P.I. (LOND.) (130577), 27 April 1974.
David Ian Gray (130555), 14 September 1974.
Maurice Francis Morrissey (130567), 6 October 1976.
George Stanley Davies, D.F.C. (132021), 4 April 1978.
Douglas Roderick McConchie (132072), 10 June 1979.
Leonard Dudley Cowper (75032), 7 October 1982.
Flight Lieutenant (*temp.*) Harley Wesley Spragg, M.A. (HONS.) (131911), 9 March 1976. 1970. Flying Officers: Reginald Charles William Browne, A.A.I.I., A.I.I.N.Z. (131822), 26 June 1963. Walter Hedley Huthnance (131906), 1 November 1963. William James Porter, D.F.C. (131746), 23 August 1968. Bernard Arthur Barrow (131823), 13 December 1968. Christopher Falcon Scott, A.N.Z.I.V. (131785), 4 August 1969. 1969. Stuart James Harvey (132118), 3 November 1971. Hector Robert Staines, B.COM., A.R.A.N.Z., A.I.A.N.Z., A.C.I.S. (131799), 5 November 1972. James William Charles McArthur (131871), 4 April 1973. Leslie Herbert Sinclair (131803), 10 December 1974. Maurice Johnston, D.F.C. (131696), 11 September 1975. Brian Maurice Stedman, M.SC. (131951), 26 December 1975. Christopher Damer Helt (121477)

- 1975. Christopher Damer Holt (131457), 1 July 1976. John William O'Brien (131701), 27 July 1976. Gerald George (131453), 30 August 1976. John Clive Appleby Fastier, A.I.I.N.Z. (132063), 19 Novem-ber 1976.
  - Termination of Commission

The commission of Flight Lieutenant Desmond Maurice Pankhurst (73015) is terminated, with effect from 1 March 1962.

Dated at Wellington this 14th day of June 1962.

DEAN J. EYRE, Minister of Defence. (Air 12/11/9)

Revoking Appointment of and Appointing Licensing Authorities for Issue of Heavy Traffic Licences

PURSUANT to subclause (2) of regulation 10 of the Heavy Motor Vehicle Regulations 1955,\* the Minister of Transport hereby revokes that part of Warrant dated 2 May 1954<sup>+</sup> and Warrant dated 15 March 1962<sup>+</sup> appointing the local authorities described in column 1 of the First Schedule as the Licensing Authorities for the purpose of collecting heavy traffic fees due under the said regulations for the district of the local authority and for such areas as are described in column 2 of the First Schedule hereto, and hereby appoints the local authorities described in column 1 of the Second Schedule hereto to be the Licensing Authorities for the purpose of collecting heavy traffic fees due under the said regulations for the district of the respective local authority and for such area or other areas as are described in column 2 of the Second Schedule opposite the respective name of the said local authority. authority.

Provided that the Commissioner of Transport shall be the Licensing Authority in the case of all heavy motor vehicles owned by the Crown as provided by subclause (2) of the said regulation.

## FIRST SCHEDULE

Column 1 Column 2 Whakatane County Council ...... Murupara Town District Kawerau Borough

#### SECOND SCHEDULE

Whakatane County Council ...... Murupara Town Council ...... Whakatane County Kawerau Borough ..... Dated at Wellington this 14th day of June 1962.

JOHN MCALPINE, Minister of Transport.

- \*S.R. 1955/59

- Amendment No. 1: S.R. 1956/39 Amendment No. 2: S.R. 1960/61 Amendment No. 3: S.R. 1961/9 Amendment No. 4: S.R. 1961/131
- †Gazette, No. 28, 6 May 1954, Vol. II, p. 6981 ‡Gazette, No. 16, 15 March 1962, Vol. I, p. 430