Appointments, ppointments, Promotions, Extensions of Commissions, Transfer, Terminations of Commissions, Resignations, and Retirements of Officers of the Royal New Zealand Air

PURSUANT to section 15 of the Royal New Zealand Air Force Act 1950, His Excellency the Governor-General has been pleased to approve the following appointments, promotions, extensions of commissions, transfer, terminations of commissions, resignations, and retirements of officers of the Royal New Zealand Air Force.

## REGULAR AIR FORCE GENERAL DUTIES BRANCH

#### Promotions

Squadron Leader Leonard Arnold Ross Hill, s.c. (70130), to be Wing Commander, with effect from 13 August 1962. Flying Officer Donald Raymond Smith (77221), to be Flight Lieutenant, with effect from 17 August 1962.

## Extension of Commission

Flight Lieutenant Ivan Noel Moran, A.F.M. (71809), is granted an extension of his commission until 12 August 1967.

### TECHNICAL BRANCH

#### Promotion

Engineer Division

Pilot Officer Donald Ian Lamason (75633) to be Flying Officer, with effect from 4 August 1962.

### ADMINISTRATIVE AND SUPPLY BRANCH

Transfer to Retired List

Secretarial Division

Flight Lieutenant Ronald Ernest Fenton (70122) is transferred to the Retired List "A", with effect from 12 November

#### Amendment

Acting Pilot Officer James Barry Penney (209240) to be Pilot Officer, with effect from 10 January 1962. This cancels Gazette notice 3 May 1962, No. 28, page 689.

#### TERRITORIAL AIR FORCE

#### ADMINISTRATIVE AND SUPPLY BRANCH

#### Appointment

Special Duties Division

Flying Officer Paul Carmody (134218) to be temporary Flight Lieutenant, with effect from 18 February 1962.

### AIR TRAINING CORPS

### Appointments

The under-mentioned are granted commissions in the Air Training Corps in the rank of Pilot Officer, with seniority and effect from the date shown:

Brian Malone Simpson, 14 March 1962. Maxwell Francis Brister, 3 July 1962. Douglas Eric Ruhen, B.A., 9 July 1962. Jack Frederick Morrison, 13 July 1962.

Flight Lieutenant Ian Dudley McLellan to be temporary Squadron Leader, with effect from 1 April 1962.

### Termination of Commission

The commission of Pilot Officer Dennis Clare, B.A. (LOND.), B.A. (HONS.) (WALES), is terminated, with effect from 24 July 1962.

# RESERVE OF AIR FORCE OFFICERS

# Extensions of Commissions

The under-mentioned officers are granted extensions of their commissions until the date shown:

## Wing Commanders:

Oliver James O'Brien, A.F.C. (133936), 23 August 1964. Hugh Cyril William Stringer, Ph.D. (EDIN.), M.B., CH.B., U.N.Z., M.R.C.P., D.T.M. and H. (EDIN.) (130813), 14 September 1966.

Squadron Leader James William Aston, M.B.E. (132575), 20
November 1967.
Squadron Leader (temp.) John Beveridge Stevenson, B.A. (131761), 14 November 1971.

### Flight Lieutenants:

Flight Lieutenants:

John Mitchell Foster (75230), 1 August 1966.
Allison McMaster Keys (132430), 10 June 1968.
Edward Sydney Henzel, D.F.C., ACCTS PROF. (132359), 2
August 1968.
Gordon Howe Warren, A.P.A.N.Z. (132688), 13 March 1972.
Gerald Francis Burton (132341), 12 July 1972.
Stanley Bruce de Vere, D.F.C. (132393), 28 April 1974.
Oliver Lawrence Goldsmith, D.F.C. (132105), 6 October 1974.
John Reginald McGrane (132069), 16 June 1976.
Victor Alfred Slack (132183), 21 October 1976.
Geoffrey Osbourne Rabone (132769), 6 November 1976.
Byron Court Lumsden, B.A. (131425), 8 March 1978.
Flight Lieutenant (temp.) Clarence Leslie Mitchell (72798),
7 November 1981.

Flying Officers:

James Louis Hartstonge, B.A. (131859), 2 November 1969. Albert Francis Garfath (133011), 7 April 1970. Norman Greenaway (132761), 30 March 1975. Robert Max Ruane (132405), 12 November 1977.

#### Terminations of Commissions

The commissions of the under-mentioned officers are terminated, with effect from the date shown:

Flight Lieutenant Geoffrey Charles Russell Pannell, D.F.C.

(131721), 3 July 1962.
Flight Lieutenant (temp.) Raymond William Lightfoot (130047), 1 August 1961.
Flying Officer Bryan Walter Bilham, B.E. (820394), 11 June 1962.

Flying Officer Owen Samuel Meads, M.A., DIP.ED. (131899), 4 August 1962.

# Resignations

The under-mentioned Flying Officers resign their commissions, with effect from 25 July 1962:

George Ernest Fineran, A.R.A.N.Z. (131837). Henry David Yeoman (131853).

#### Retirements

The under-mentioned officers are retired, with effect from the date shown:

Squadron Leader Louis Neil Orchard, D.F.C., A.R.I.B.A., A.N.Z.I.A. (132923), 26 July 1962. Squadron Leader Thomas Leslie Harland (131868), 3 August

1962.
Flight Lieutenant Douglas Bruce Herrick, A.P.A.N.Z., A.C.I.S., F.I.A.N.Z., J.P. (131902), 1 August 1962.
Flying Officer Arthur Geoffrey Flower, J.P. (131913), 31 July 1962.
Flying Officer William John Jefferies, M.A., DIP.ED. (131878), 31 July 1962.
Flying Officer John McMahon (131882), 31 July 1962.
Flying Officer Eric Lawrence (131874), 3 August 1962.

Dated at Wellington this 22nd day of August 1962.

DEAN J. EYRE, Minister of Defence.

(Air 12/11/9)

Appointment of Maori Wardens Under the Maori Social and Economic Advancement Act 1945

Pursuant to section 11 of the Maori Social and Economic Advancement Act 1945, the Minister of Maori Affairs hereby appoints the persons named in the first column of the Schedule hereto to be Maori wardens for the tribal districts shown in the second column of the Schedule.

# **SCHEDULE**

First Column Second Column Mita Hohaia Manukau Dallas Westmacott Falwasser Mark Herbert West Northern Murihiku Ngati Ruanui \*\*\*\*\*\* William Ironside Edwards Murihiku Dated at Wellington this 17th day of August 1962. J. R. HANAN, Minister of Maori Affairs. (M.A. 36/4/9)

Revocation of Appointment of Officers Authorised to Take and Receive Statutory Declarations

His Excellency the Governor-General has been pleased to revoke the appointment of the holders for the time being of the offices in the service of the Crown specified in the Schedule below, as officers authorised to take and receive statutory declarations under section 9 of the Oaths and Declarations Act 1957.

# **SCHEDULE**

# DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH

Medical Superintendent, Auckland Mental Hospital, Auckland. Secretary, Auckland Mental Hospital, Auckland. House Manager, Queen Mary Hospital, Hanmer. Acting Medical Superintendent, Levin Farm, Levin. Secretary, Levin Farm, Levin.

Dated at Wellington this 7th day of August 1962.

J. R. HANAN, Minister of Justice.