Appointments, Promotions, Extensions of Commissions, and Retirement of Officers of the Royal New Zealand Air

PURSUANT to section 15 of the Royal New Zealand Air Force Act 1950, His Excellency the Governor-General has been pleased to approve the following appointments, promotions, extensions of commissions, and retirement of officers of the Royal New Zealand Air Force.

REGULAR AIR FORCE

EDUCATION BRANCH

Promotions

The under-mentioned Flying Officers to be Flight Lieutenants, with effect from 6 February 1963:

Archibald Cameron, A.M.BRIT.I.R.E. (80409). Gordon Keith Masters (80410)

CHAPLAINS BRANCH

Appointments

Norman Bruce Bicknell (Captain, Salvation Army) (80713) is granted a short-service commission in the Chaplains Branch Regular Air Force, for a period ending 30 January 1966, to be followed by four years in the Reserve of Air Force Officers. He is appointed in the relative rank of Flight Lieutenant, with seniority and effect from 31 January 1963.

The Rev. Richard Andrew Simpson (80714) is granted a short-service commission in the Chaplains Branch, Regular Air Force, for a period ending 31 January 1966, to be followed by four years in the Reserve of Air Force Officers. He is appointed in the relative rank of Flight Lieutenant, with seniority and effect from 1 February 1963.

TERRITORIAL AIR FORCE

ADMINISTRATIVE AND SUPPLY BRANCH

Promotion

Special Duties Division

Flying Officer Peter Edward Hills (134224) to be Flight Lieutenant, with effect from 9 February 1963.

RESERVE OF AIR FORCE OFFICERS

Promotion

Flight Lieutenant (temp.) Kelson Brasted, B.SC., M.B., C.H.B., U.N.Z., D.OBST.R.C.O.G. (130880), to be Squadron Leader, with effect from 1 January 1963.

Extensions of Commissions

The under-mentioned officers are granted extensions of their commissions until the date shown:

Wing Commander Allan Gerald Sievers, A.F.C. (130317), 26 December 1970.

Squadron Leaders:

Kossuth John Newman, D.F.C. (130331), 15 February 1967. James Ralph Court, D.F.C. (130701), 14 April 1975. Squadron Leader (temp.) Thornton William Keals Smith (130379), 20 March 1969.

Flight Lieutenants:

Robin McGrath (783053), 22 January 1965. Donald Frank Thompson (133501), 20 January 1967.

Flight Lieutenant (temp.) Murray James McPhail (888664), 19 January 1965.

Flying Officer Thomas Frederick Collecton (131554), 3 April 1967.

Retirement

Flight Lieutenant (temp.) Eric Francis Brown (130679), is retired, with effect from 11 November 1962.

Dated at Wellington this 19th day of February 1963. DEAN J. EYRE, Minister of Defence.

(Air 12/11/9)

Appointment of Committee to Inquire into Omnibus Accident

Pursuant to section 152 of the Transport Act 1949, the Minister of Transport hereby appoints the persons described in the Schedule hereto to hold a public inquiry into the circumstances of an accident which occurred to a Mack omnibus, registered number P. 1393, owned by Waikato Services Ltd., Tuakau, at Brynderwyn Hill on 7 February 1963, and in particular to inquire into and report to him on the following matters relating thereto:

(1) The date and time of the societation.

(1) The date and time of the accident;
(2) The causes of the accident and the circumstances in which it arose;
(3) Any facts which, in the interests of the public safety, should be known to the authorities charged with the administration of commercial road transport in order that appropriate measures may be taken for the safety of persons engaged in the activities of commercial road transport and of the public.

SCHEDULE

Frank Felix Reid, Christchurch (Chair Jack Warwick Francis Welch, Auckland. (Chairman), and

Dated at Wellington this 20th day of February 1963.

JOHN McALPINE, Minister of Transport.

(TT. 18/2/2/1)

Appointment of Glenham Welfare League to Control and Manage a Reserve

PURSUANT to the Reserves and Domains Act 1953, the Minister of Lands hereby appoints the

Glenham Welfare League

to control and manage the reserve described in the Schedule hereto, subject to the provisions of the said Act, as a site for a public hall and library.

SCHEDULE

SOUTHLAND LAND DISTRICT

SECTION 50, Glenham Settlement, situated in Block V, Wyndham Survey District: Area, 2 roods 33 perches, more or less. (S.O. Plan 3952.)

Dated at Wellington this 12th day of February 1963.

R. G. GERARD, Minister of Lands.

(L. and S. H.O. 22/3630/234; D.O. 8/5/58)

Appointment of the Manukau County Council to Control and Manage a Reserve

Pursuant to the Reserves and Domains Act 1953, the Minister of Lands hereby appoints the

Manukau County Council

to control and manage the reserve described in the Schedule hereto, subject to the provisions of the said Act, as a scenic

SCHEDULE

NORTH AUCKLAND LAND DISTRICT—RUATO SCENIC RESERVE Part Lot 1, D.P. 50285, being part Allotment 44, Wairoa Parish, situated in Block IV, Wairoa Survey District: Area, 3 acres 2 roods 19·3 perches, more or less. Part certificate of title, Volume 771, folio 146, limited as to parcels. As shown on the plan marked L. and S. 4/1264 deposited in the Head Office, Department of Lands and Survey at Wellington, and thereon edged red. (S.O. Plan 42991.)

Dated at Wellington this 12th day of February 1963.

R. G. GERARD, Minister of Lands.

(L. and S. H.O. 4/1264; D.O. 13/201)

Appointment of Members of Matakitaki Domain Board

PURSUANT to the Reserves and Domains Act 1953, the Minister of Lands hereby appoints

George Enoch Blick, Felix Melville Brooks, Battista Della-Bosca, Avon Willshaw Ford, and Douglas Reid

to be members of the Matakitaki Domain Board, Nelson Land District, in place of Stanley August Ford and Brian Roderick Manley, resigned, James William Ford, Laurence Kevern Ford, and Alfred Henry Manley, left the district, and, further, increases the number of members of the Board from six to nine and appoints

Clarence Abraham Thornton, Raymond Dennis Wills, and

Roy Rosser Wills as the additional members of the Board.

Dated at Wellington this 13th day of February 1963.

R. G. GERARD, Minister of Lands.

(L. and S. H.O. 1/1284; D.O. 8/3/31)

Board Appointed to Have Control of Dunrobin Domain

Pursuant to the Reserves and Domains Act 1953, the Minister of Lands hereby appoints

William Richardson Baillie, Herbert Alexander Duff, William Robert Gibson, Andrew John Hodgkin, James Gibson Laurenson, Alexander Street McKenia Alexander Stuart McKenzie, Douglas Finlay Morton, William David Schaumann, and Kenneth Anderson Yardley

to be the Dunrobin Domain Board to have control of the reserve described in the Schedule hereto, subject to the provisions of the said Act, as a public domain.

SCHEDULE

OTAGO LAND DISTRICT-DUNROBIN DOMAIN SECTION 31, Block VIII, Crookston Survey District: Area, 12 acres, more or less. (S.O. Plan 4013.)

Dated at Wellington this 19th day of February 1963.

R. G. GERARD, Minister of Lands.

(L. and S. H.O. 1/374; D.O. 8/3/39)