The Standards Act 1941—Draft New Zealand Specification (Government Purchasing Series) No. D. 7212: Commercial

Pursuant to subsection (3) of section 8 of the Standards Act 1941, notice is hereby given that the above draft New Zealand standard specification is being circulated.

All persons who may be affected by this specification and who desire to comment thereon may, on application, obtain copies on loan from the New Zealand Standards Institute, Bowen State Building, Bowen Street, or Private Bag, Wellington C 1 ton C. 1.

The closing date for the receipt of comment is 5 March 1963.

Dated at Wellington this 11th day of January 1963.

E. J. SUTCH, Executive Officer, Standards Council.

(S.I. 114/2-334)

The Standards Act 1941—Draft New Zealand Specification No. D. 7188: Polythene Insulated Cables Sheathed with P.V.C. for Electric Power and Lighting (Revision of N.Z.S.S.

Pursuant to subsection (3) of section 8 of the Standards

Zealand standard specification is being circulated.

All persons who may be affected by this specification and who desire to comment thereon may, on application, obtain copies on loan from the New Zealand Standards Institute, Bowen State Building, Bowen Street, or Private Bag, Wellington C. 1 ton C. 1.

The closing date for the receipt of comment is 20 March 1963.

Dated at Wellington this 14th day of January 1963.

E. J. SUTCH. Executive Officer, Standards Council.

(S.I. 114/2-335)

New Year Honours List

HIS Excellency the Governor-General has announced that the Queen has been graciously pleased, on the occasion of the New Year, to confer the following honours:

CIVIL DIVISION

Knight Commander of the Most Distinguished Order of Saint Michael and Saint George (K.C.M.G.)—

The Honourable Thomas Lachlan Macdonald, New Zealand High Commissioner in London.

Knight Bachelor-

Mr Henry Joseph Kelliher, of Auckland. The Honourable Alexander Kingcome Turner, Judge of the New Zealand Court of Appeal, of Wellington.

Companion of the Most Distinguished Order of Saint Michael and Saint George (C.M.G.)—

Mr Leonard Allan Atkinson, of Wellington.

Mr Duncan McFadyen Rae, New Zealand Consul-General in Indonesia.

Commander of the Most Excellent Order of the British Empire (C.B.E.)—

Mr Hubert Reynolds Bach, of Lower Hutt. Emeritus Professor George Jobberns, of Christchurch. Dr Alexander Hare McLintock, of Wellington. Mr James Wattie, of Mangateretere, Hastings.

Officer of the Most Excellent Order of the British Empire (O.B.E.)—

Mr Thomas Augustus Bishop, M.M., of Titirangi, Auckland. Mr David Brown, of Drummond, Invercargill. Mrs Eileen Marjorie Fosbery Chambers, of Christchurch. Mr Leonard le Fleming Ensor, E.D., of Glen Eden, Auckland. Mr John Richard Lloyd Hammond, of Putorino, Marton. Mr John Colin Lucas, of Dunedin. Mr Terence Mortimer McKewen, of Wellington. Mr Hamiora Wiremu Maioha, of Russell. Mr Leslie Vaughan Phillips, of Lower Hutt. Mr Paul Lancelot Porter, of Heretaunga.

Member of the Most Excellent Order of the British Empire (M.B.E.)—

Mr George Frederick Charles Ashdowne, of Christchurch.

Mrs Lily Brant, of Hamilton.
The Reverend John Lawley Brown, of Auckland.
Mr Oswald Henry Coleman, of Rotorua.
Mr Anthony Edward Joseph Corr, of Moerewa, Northland.
Mr John Davidson, of Ashburton.

Mrs Janet Hogg Davie, of New Plymouth.

Mrs Janet Hogg Davie, of New Plymouth.
Mr Herbert James Dewe, of Feilding.
Mrs Olive Lilian Haldane, of Bainham, Collingwood.
Captain Frederick Patrick Ladd, of Glen Eden, Auckland.
Sister Mary Leo, of Auckland.
Mrs Aniria Miriama Logan, of Waipatu, Hastings.
Miss Rosa Josephine Reynolds, of Christchurch.
Mr James Herford Saunderson, of Picton.
Mrs Betty Mary Lillias Thomas, of Auckland.
Mr Robert Henry Traill, of Halfmoon Bay, Stewart Island.
Mrs Bessie Margaret Walmsley, of Invercargill.
Miss Mimie Wood, of Eastbourne.

British Empire Medal (B.E.M.) for Gallantry-

Constable Donald Patrick Pomerov, New Zealand Police, of Manurewa.

Queen's Police Medal for Distinguished Service (Q.P.M.)— Chief Superintendent Macdonald Brown, New Zealand Police, of Christchurch.

Queen's Fire Service Medal for Distinguished Service-Chief Fire Officer Russell Preston, of Takapuna, Auckland. Fireman Leslie Osborne Wallis, of Gore.

MILITARY DIVISION

Commander of the Most Excellent Order of the British Empire (C.B.E.)

Brigadier Tom Bassett Morten, D.S.O., O.B.E., E.D., Royal New Zealand Infantry Corps (Territorial Force), of Little River, Canterbury.

Officer of the Most Excellent Order of the British Empire (O.B.E.)—

Commander John Bernard Smith, v.R.D., A.D.C., Royal New Zealand Naval Volunteer Reserve, of Wellington. Lieutenant-Colonel Robert Hugh Ferguson Holloway, Royal Regiment of New Zealand Artillery (Regular Force), of

Group Captain John Donovan Robins, D.F.C., Royal New Zealand Air Force, recently serving in Fiji.

Member of the Most Excellent Order of the British Empire (M.B.E.)—

Lieutenant-Commander John Graham Williamson, Royal

Lieutenant-Commander John Graham Williamson, Royal New Zealand Navy, of Auckland.
Lieutenant-Colonel John Mills Mabbett, Royal New Zealand Army Service Corps (Regular Force), of Lower Hutt.
Major Michael Ralph Kennedy, The New Zealand Regiment (Regular Force), serving in Malaya.
Major Jack Lewis Ryan, Royal New Zealand Infantry Corps (Territorial Force), of Auckland.
Warrant Officer First Class Henry Thomas McLardy, The New Zealand Regiment (Regular Force), of Christchurch.
Flight Lieutenant John William Noble, B.E.M., Royal New Zealand Air Force, of Christchurch.
Flight Lieutenant Kenneth Alfred Sidney Pipe, D.F.C., Royal New Zealand Air Force, of Auckland.

Bar to the Air Force Cross-

Squadron Leader Gordon Harry Saywell Tosland, A.F.C., A.D.C., Royal New Zealand Air Force, of Whenuapai

Air Force Cross (A.F.C.)—

Squadron Leader Ian Murray Gillard, Royal New Zealand Air Force, of Wellington.

British Empire Medal (B.E.M.)-

Chief Petty Officer Frederick Maxwell Jacobs, Royal New Zealand Navy, of Auckland.
Chief Petty Officer Owen Leslie Clotworthy, Royal New Zealand Navy, of Auckland.
Petty Officer Cook (S) Rex Harold Helleur, Royal New Zealand Navy, of Auckland.
Chief Electrician Albert Bernard Carpenter, Royal New Zealand Navy, of Auckland.
Staff Sergeant Neale Eden William Smith, E.M., Royal New Zealand Army Service Corps (Territorial Force), of Christchurch. New Zealand Army Service Corps (Territorial Force), of Christchurch.

Staff Sergeant Ross Mark Jones, Royal New Zealand Corps of Signals (Regular Force), of Palmerston North.

Sergeant Girvan Ross Hornbrook, The New Zealand Regiment (Regular Force), of Waiouru.

Sergeant Richard John Kelly, The New Zealand Regiment (Regular Force), of Dunedin.

Corporal Clive Gemmell Rae, Royal New Zealand Air Force, of Auckland.

Corporal William Richardson, Royal New Zealand Air Force, of Ohakea.

Force, of Ohakea.

Queen's Commendation for Valuable Services in the Air-

Flight Lieutenant Alan Roy Bleakley, Royal New Zealand Air Force, of Henderson.
Flight Lieutenant Alan Dyer, Royal New Zealand Air Force, of Christchurch.
Flight Lieutenant Mervyn William Hodge, Royal New Zealand Air Force, of Wellington.

D. C. WILLIAMS, Official Secretary.