Taumarunui High School Cadets

John Philip Crisp to be 2nd Lieutenant (on prob.). Dated 15 February 1963.

Tokomairiro District High School Cadets

2nd Lieutenant N. P. Timlin to be Lieutenant. Dated 23 November 1962.

Waimate High School Cadets

Lieutenant P. W. Bristow, B.SC. (HONS.), resigns his commission. Dated 31 January 1963.

Waimea College Cadets

2nd Lieutenant J. F. Shaw, M.A., to be Lieutenant. Dated 21 March 1963.

Waitaki Boys' High School Cadets

Captain Archibald Walter Gibb, E.D., is posted to the Retired List. Dated 1 March 1963.

Wanganui Collegiate School Cadets

The commission of 2nd Lieutenant (on prob.) J. G. Hawley,

B.E., is confirmed.
2nd Lieutenant J. G. Hawley, B.E., to be Lieutenant. Dated 16 March 1963.

Whakatane High School Cadets

Captain R. B. G. Chadwick, Ll.B., to be temp. Major and is appointed OC. Dated 5 February 1963.

Wellington College Cadets

Gerald Milton Leech, B.A., to be Lieutenant (on prob.). Dated 14 February 1963.

Anthony Rolland Harris to be 2nd Lieutenant (on prob.). Dated 27 February 1963.

## RESERVE OF OFFICERS

General List

The following are posted to the Retired List:

Royal N.Z. Armoured Corps

Lieutenant-Colonel John McMahon Elliott. Dated 5 March 1963.

Royal N.Z. Corps of Signals

Captain John Frederick William Tonge, M.B.E., Dated 19 December 1962.

Royal N.Z. Infantry Corps

Captain Allan Thomas Bustard. Dated 7 March 1963. Lieutenant Andrew Forrester McLay. Dated 18 March 1963. Lieutenant Leo Dennis O'Connor. Dated 18 March 1963.

N.Z. Cadet Corps

Major Bruce Francis Ferrand. Dated 6 March 1963. Captain Thomas Ian Doig McLennan, B.A., DIP.ED. Dated 13 March 1963.

Lieutenant Gordon Donald Keats. Dated 10 March 1963.

Dated at Wellington this 29th day of March 1963.

DEAN J. EYRE, Minister of Defence.

Appointments, Promotion, Extensions of Commissions, Transfers, Resignations, and Retirements of Officers of the Royal New Zealand Air Force

Pursuant to section 15 of the Royal New Zealand Air Force Act 1950, His Excellency the Governor-General has been pleased to approve the following appointments, promotion, extensions of commissions, transfers, resignations, and retirements of officers of the Royal New Zealand Air Force.

# REGULAR AIR FORCE

# GENERAL DUTIES BRANCH

# Appointment

Squadron Leader Kenneth Allister Sawyer, D.F.C. (70104), to be temporary Wing Commander, with effect from 7 January 1963.

# Extension of Commission

Flying Officer John William Lodder Meredith (78397) is granted an extension of his commission until 9 January 1970.

# TECHNICAL BRANCH

# Promotion

Engineer Division

Wing Commander (temp.) John Rees, B.E.M. (70212), to be Wing Commander, with effect from 1 March 1963.

Flight Lieutenant Donald Ferguson Fleming (75450) is transferred from the Administrative and Supply Branch (Special Duties Division) to the Technical Branch (Engineer Division), with effect from 11 February 1963.

# WOMEN'S ROYAL NEW ZEALAND AIR FORCE

### REGULAR SECTION

## Appointments

The under-mentioned airwomen are granted temporary commissions in the Women's Royal New Zealand Air Force for a period ending 25 February 1966 in the rank of Assistant Section Officer, with seniority and effect from 26 February

Corporal Margaret Joy Oliver (80543). Leading Aircraftwoman Patricia Joyce Compton (80556).

## AIR TRAINING CORPS

# A ppointment

John Elmes Hope is granted a commission in the Air Training Corps in the rank of Pilot Officer, with seniority and effect from 11 March 1963.

# Resignations

The under-mentioned officers resign their commissions, with effect from the date shown:

Flight Lieutenant Leonard Owen Hodgson, 1 January 1963.

Flight Lieutenant (temp.) Colin Ernest Shorter, A.R.A.N.Z., 9 February 1963.

# RESERVE OF AIR FORCE OFFICERS

Extensions of Commissions

The under-mentioned officers are granted extensions of their commissions until the date shown:

Squadron Leaders:

Bruce Hanan Thomson (130334), 16 September 1972. James Chilton Francis Hayter, p.F.c. (130326), 18 October 1972.

Squadron Leaders (temp.):

John Joseph Timothy McAuliffe, M.A. (134051), 12 March

Kelvin Henry Day (130312), 30 December 1970.

Flight Lieutenants:

Edward Lunn, M.B.E., E.D., B.A., B.SC. (70322), 1 June 1964. Murray Lionel Benson, M.B., CH.B., U.N.Z. (133465), 17 June 1971.

June 1971.
Colin Garvin Brown, B.Sc. (130564), 19 June 1973.
Raymond Joseph Hetherington (132121), 2 May 1975.
John Edward Norman Mason (131500), 4 June 1978.
Flight Lieutenant (temp.) David Heywood Ross (132904),
16 November 1966.

Flying Officer Joshua Raymond Hicks (70175), 7 November 1976.

Transfers to Retired List

The under-mentioned officers are transferred to the Retired List "B", with effect from the date shown:

Squadron Leader Vivian D'Arcy Blackburn, M.B., CH.B., U.N.Z., D.P.H.ENG. (77808), 9 February 1963.

Squadron Leaders (temp.):

Arthur George Turnell, B.Com. (75603), 2 February 1963. Henry Richard Dean, D.F.C. (72867), 19 February 1963. Flight Lieutenant (temp.) Frederick John Walter Billings, B.AGR.SC. (133579), 31 December 1962.

# Resignation

Flight Lieutenant Frederick Guy Trevor Beetham, M.B., CH.B., U.N.Z., F.R.C.S.ENG., D.M.R.D., U.EDIN. (134123), resigns his commission, with effect from 22 February 1963.

# Retirements

The under-mentioned officers are retired, with effect from the date shown:

Wing Commander Graham Carrick Martin, A.F.C. (131501), 10 February 1963.
Flight Lieutenant Geoffrey Grey Muir, B.A., DIP.JOURN. (132710), 22 February 1963.

Dated at Wellington this 28th day of March 1963.

DEAN J. EYRE, Minister of Defence.

(Air 12/11/9)

Appointment of Maori Wardens Under the Maori Welfare Act 1962

Pursuant to section 7 (1) of the Maori Welfare Act 1962, the Minister of Maori Affairs hereby appoints the persons named in the first column of the Schedule hereto to be Maori Wardens for the Maori executive committee areas shown in the second column of the Schedule.

# **SCHEDULE**

First Column		Second Column
Henry Kaiwaru Williams	 ,	Takitimu.
Ira Peretini		Kurahaupo North.
Wikeepa Maniapoto		Kurahaupo North.
Jack Cashell	 •	Kurahaupo North.
Te Rou Joseph Luke	 	Southern Ngatiruanui.
George Parata	 	Kurahaupo North.

Dated at Wellington this 29th day of March 1963.

J. R. HANAN, Minister of Maori Affairs.

(M.A. 36/4/9)