### Birthday Honours List

HIS Excellency the Governor-General has announced that The Queen has been graciously pleased, on the occasion of the celebration of Her Majesty's Birthday, to confer the following honours:

#### CIVIL DIVISION

Knight Commander of the Most Excellent Order of the British Empire (K.B.E.)—

Mr John Andrew, C.B.E., of Hyde (Central Otago).

#### Knight Bachelor-

Dr Gilbert Edward Archey, C.B.E., of Auckland.

Companion of the Most Distinguished Order of Saint Michael and Saint George (C.M.G.)

Mr Arthur Egbert Davenport, of Wellington. Emeritus Professor William Percy Gowland, of Nelson.

Commander of the Most Excellent Order of the British Empire (C.B.E.)

Mr Herbert Myer Caselberg, of Wellington. Mr James Deans, of Homebush, Canterbury. Dr Alexander McGregor Grant, of Auckland. Mr Jack Newman, of Nelson.

Officer of the Most Excellent Order of the British Empire (O.B.E.)—

Mr Leonard Frederick de Berry, of Christchurch.
Mr Alec Sugden Farrar, of Christchurch.
Mr Harold Robert Holt, of Napier.
Mr Colin Robert Horsley, of London.
Mr Leonard James Tobin Ireland, of Dunedin.
Mr Hamana Mahuika, of Tikitiki, East Coast.
Mr Leyon Miall Moss, of New Plymouth.
Mr Leslie Walter Stewart, of Christchurch.
Mr John Tait, of Invercargill.
Mrs Ellenor Catherine Watson, of Otautau.

Companion of the Imperial Service Order (I.S.O.)—

Mr Charles Edward Peek, of Wellington. Mr Charles William Oakey Turner, of Wellington.

Member of the Most Excellent Order of the British Empire (M.B.E.)-

Mrs Nora Kathleen Braithwaite, of Hamilton. Mrs Prudens Lillian Burrowes Blunden, of Waikari, North

Mr Edward James Bradshaw, of Christchurch.

Mr Edward James Bradshaw, of Christchurch.
Mr Gordon Leonard Brown, of Auckland.
Mr William Alexander Gault, of Opotiki.
Mr Wilfred Douglas Gorman, of Wellington.
Miss Jessie Jackson, of Auckland.
Mrs Mavis Gwendolen Kealy, of Auckland.
Mr Alfred Sydney Kinsman, of Timaru.
Major Robert McCallum, the Salvation Army, of Rotoroa

Island.
Mr Archibald Aloysius McDonald, of Ashburton.
Mrs Mary Ellen Reid, of Greymouth.
Mr Wilfrid Aaron Rushton, of Kiwitahi, Morrinsville.
Miss Gladys Anne Sandford, of Lower Hutt.
Mr Willis Alan Scaife, of Wanaka, Central Otago.
Mr Harold Reginald Street, of Otunui, Taumarunui.
Mr Herbert Lea Towers, of Auckland.
Mr Ronald Philip Wakelin, E.D., of Carterton.
Miss Gwendoline Edna Borrie Wilson, of Dunedin.

## British Empire Medal for Gallantry (B.E.M.)-

Mr Raymond Piper, of Titirangi, Auckland. Constable Joseph Walker, New Zealand Police, of Hender-

## British Empire Medal (B.E.M.)-

Constable Edward Fitzgerald Barry, New Zealand Police,

Queen's Police Medal for Distinguished Service (Q.P.M.)-Chief Inspector Charles Edward Tanner, New Zealand Police, of New Plymouth.

Queen's Commendation for Valuable Services in the Air-Captain Bruce Henry Packer, of Auckland.

## MILITARY DIVISION

Commander of the Most Excellent Order of the British Empire (C.B.E.)-

Air Commodore William Hector Stratton, D.F.C., Royal New Zealand Air Force, of Upper Hutt.

Officer of the Most Excellent Order of the British Empire (O.B.E.)—

Surgeon Commander (D) Alexander Colin Horne, Royal New Zealand Navy, of Auckland. Lieutenant-Colonel John Wallace Bateman, M.M., E.D., 1st Divisional Signals Regiment (Territorial Force), of Auck-

Group Captain Arthur Percy Gainsford, D.S.O., D.F.C., A.F.C., Royal New Zealand Air Force, of Whenuapai.

Member of the Most Excellent Order of the British Empire (M.B.E.)—

Temporary Lieutenant Commander (Sp) Peter Maxwell Sanders, Royal New Zealand Naval Volunteer Reserve,

Sanders, Royal New Zealand Naval Volunteer Reserve, of Wellington.

Major Frederick Arthur Gunn, E.D., The New Zealand Regiment (Regular Force), of Christchurch.

Major Richard Stanley-Harris, The New Zealand Regiment (Regular Force), serving in Malaya.

Honorary Captain Frederick Barry Smyth, E.D., The Royal Regiment of the New Zealand Artillery (Territorial Force), of Auckland.

Warrant Officer Class Two Ronald Ivan Keat, The New Zealand Regiment (Regular Force), of Papakura.

Squadron Officer Eileen Joyce Peat, Women's Royal New Zealand Air Force, of Christchurch.

Warrant Officer Herbert Edwards, Royal New Zealand Air Force, of Whenuapai.

### Air Force Cross (A.F.C.)-

Squadron Leader Donald Benjamin Pollard, Royal New Zealand Air Force, of Whenuapai.
Flight Lieutenant Arthur David Malcolm Winkelmann,
Royal New Zealand Air Force, of Wigram.

#### British Empire Medal (B.E.M.)-

Shipwright Artificer 1st Class Oliver Maxwell Cox, Royal New Zealand Navy, of Auckland. Chief Petty Officer Gordon Thomas Lawrence, Royal New Zealand Navy, of Auckland. Chief Radio Electrician Kenneth Robinson, Royal New

Zealand Navy, of Auckland.
Chief Radio Electrical Artificer Cyril Neil Jeffries, Royal New Zealand Navy, of Manurewa.
Staff Sergeant (temporary Warrant Officer Class Two) John O'Brien, Royal New Zealand Signals (Regular Force), of Waissen.

O'Brien, Royal New Zealand Signals (Regular Force), of Waiouru.

Staff Sergeant Gavin Stanley Milne, Royal New Zealand Engineers (Territorial Force), of Christchurch.

Staff Sergeant Clifford Melrose Kennedy, The New Zealand Regiment (Regular Force), serving in Malaya.

Sergeant Geoffrey Millard Castle, Royal New Zealand Air Force, of Porirua East.

Sergeant Edward Sims, Royal New Zealand Air Force, of Woodbourne.

Queen's Commendation for Valuable Services in the Air-Flight Lieutenant Frederick Barry Flavall, Royal New Zealand Air Force, of Ohakea.

D. C. WILLIAMS, Official Secretary.

Producers' Representatives on Nelson Raspberry Marketing Committee Elected in Northern Ward (Notice Ag. 7790)

PURSUANT to clause 20 of the Schedule to the Nelson Raspberry Marketing Regulations 1940, notice is hereby given that only two persons having been duly nominated in the Northern Ward for election to the office of producers' representative on the Nelson Raspberry Marketing Committee, I do declare

# Godfrey Massy Deck, and Trevor Harold Barrow

being the persons so nominated, to be duly elected as producers' representatives in respect of the said Northern

Dated at Nelson this 12th day of June 1963.

J. F. SHARPLEY, Returning Officer.

(Ag. 61338)

Producers' Representatives of Nelson Raspberry Marketing Committee Elected in Southern Ward (Notice Ag. 7791)

PURSUANT to clause 30 of the Schedule to the Nelson Raspberry Marketing Regulations 1940, notice is hereby given that only two persons having been duly nominated in the Southern Ward for election to the office of producers' representative on the Nelson Raspberry Marketing Committee, I do delare do declare

Alan James Matthewson, and Horace Charles Warnes

persons so nominated, to be duly elected as representatives in respect of the said Southern being the producers'

Dated at Nelson this 12th day of June 1963.

J. F. SHARPLEY, Returning Officer.

(Ag. 61338)