They are appointed in the rank of Pilot Officer, with seniority and effect from 24 September 1962:

Sergeant Murray Barber (75737). Sergeant Denis Alexander Gable (72691). Corporal Alan George Parslow Dick (75191).

Promotions

Signals Division

Squadron Leader Francis Maitland Bissett George, M.B.E. (70236), to be Wing Commander, with effect from I January 1963.

The under-mentioned Flight Lieutenants to be Squadron Leaders, with effect from the date shown:

Teunis Van Den Heuvel, A.M.BRIT.I.R.E. (71644), 10 Decem-

Reginald Thorpe (70917), 1 January 1963. Eric Harold Armstrong (77341), 24 January 1963.

ADMINISTRATIVE AND SUPPLY BRANCH Appointment and Transfer

Secretarial Division

Flight Lieutenant Ralph Lionel Sutton, p.s.c. (77247) is granted a permanent commission and is transferred from the Special Duties Division to the Secretarial Division of the Administrative and Supply Branch with seniority from 23 November 1957, with effect from 15 October 1962.

Appointments

Flight Lieutenant Francis James Wood, A.R.A.N.Z., A.C.I.S. (74966), to be temporary Squadron Leader, with effect from 1 November 1962.

The under-mentioned airmen are granted short-service commissions in the Administrative and Supply Branch (Secretarial Division), Regular Air Force, for periods ending on the date shown, to be followed by four years in the Reserve of Air Force Officers. They are appointed in the rank of Pilot Officer, with seniority and effect from 24 September 1962:

Flight Sergeant James Hammond (73013), 23 September 1972.

Corporal Thomas Michael Strang (75115), 23 September 1973.

Corporal Edward John Norris, A.C.I.S. (77515), 3 August 1971.

Corporal Stanley Warner (77552), 23 September 1972.

Promotions

The under-mentioned officers to be Squadron Leaders, with effect from 7 January 1963:

Flight Lieutenant John Dempster Waugh, p.s.c. (72671). Squadron Leader (temp.) Robert John Whyte, A.R.A.N.Z. (132807).

Pilot Officer Grahame Victor Sommerville (73734) to be Flying Officer, with effect from 10 January 1963.

Equipment Division

The under-mentioned Pilot Officers to be Flying Officers, with effect from 10 January 1963:

James Barry Penney (209240). Lionel Allomes (70830). Kevin Vincent Edward Burt (77205).

Appointment

Special Duties Division

Flight Sergeant John Richard Hudson (71233) is granted a short-service commission in the Administrative and Supply Branch (Special Duties Division), Regular Air Force, for a period ending 23 September 1972, to be followed by four years in the Reserve of Air Force Officers. He is appointed in the rank of Pilot Officer, with seniority and effect from 24 September 1962. September 1962.

AIR TRAINING CORPS

Promotion

Pilot Officer Charles James Kerr to be Flying Officer, with effect from 14 December 1962.

Resignation

Flight Lieutenant William Pollitt resigns his commission, with effect from 1 January 1963.

RESERVE OF AIR FORCE OFFICERS

Promotion and Appointment

Flight Lieutenant Vernon Bruce Cook, M.B., CH.B., U.N.Z., D.A., R.C.P., LOND. and R.C.S., ENG., F.F.A., R.C.S., ENG., to be Squadron Leader and Consultant in Anaesthesia to the Royal New Zealand Air Force, with effect from 1 November 1962.

Extensions of Commissions

The under-mentioned Flying Officers are granted extensions of their commissions until the date shown:

Ronald Callender McMillan (133454), 2 February 1968. Thomas Reid Caldwell (132343), 1 March 1969.

Transfers to Retired List

The under-mentioned officers are transferred to the Retired List "B", with effect from the date shown:

Wing Commander Stuart Lindsay Gilkison (130314), 30 November 1962.

Squadron Leader Ross Bongard Waters, J.P. (131943), 24 December 1962.

Terminations of Commissions

The commissions of the under-mentioned officers are terminated, with effect from the date shown:

Flight Lieutenant Roland Thomas Padden, D.F.C., D.F.M.

76447), 12 December 1962. Flight Lieutenant (temp.) Alastair Seaforth McKenzie 74972), 28 October 1962.

Dated at Wellington this 25th day of January 1963.

DEAN J. EYRE, Minister of Defence.

(Air 12/11/9)

Appointment of American Consul at Wellington

His Excellency the Governor-General directs it to be notified that Her Majesty's Exequatur empowering

Mr Raymond A. Valliere

to act as Consul of the United States of America at Wellington has been issued.

Dated at Wellington this 23rd day of January 1963.

KEITH HOLYOAKE, Minister of External Affairs.

Member and Chairman of Land Valuation Court Committee
Appointed

Pursuant to section 19 of the Land Valuation Court Act 1948, His Excellency the Governor-General has been pleased to appoint

Michael Bernard Scully, Esquire, Stipendiary Magistrate, to be a member and Chairman of the Wellington Land Valuation Committee No. 1, vice J. S. Hanna, deceased.

Dated at Wellington the 13th day of December 1962.

J. R. HANAN, Minister of Justice.

Deputy Member of Land Valuation Committee Appointed

Pursuant to section 19 of the Land Valuation Court Act 1948, His Excellency the Governor-General has been pleased to appoint

Gerald Alfred Nicholls, Esquire, Stipendiary Magistrate, to be the deputy of William Arthur Harlow, Esquire, Stipendiary Magistrate, in his capacity as a member and as the Chairman of the Hawke's Bay Land Valuation Committee, vice Eric Francis Rothwell, Esquire, Stipendiary Magistrate.

Dated at Wellington this 23rd day of January 1963.

J. R. HANAN, Minister of Justice.

Appointment of Maori Wardens Under the Maori Welfare Act 1962

Pursuant to section 7 (i) of the Maori Welfare Act 1962, the Minister of Maori Affairs hereby appoints the persons named in the first column of the Schedule hereto to be Maori Wardens for the Tribal Districts shown in the second column of the Schedule.

SCHEDULE

Second Column First Column Tuwharetoa No. 2. Tuwharetoa No. 2. Tiaki Taiawa Tuwharetoa No. 2. Tuwharetoa No. 2. Toby Rameka Thomas Simon
Sophie Olive Mabel Lowe
David Tohurangi Ellison Canterbury. Otago.

Dated at Wellington this 23rd day of January 1963.

J. R. HANAN, Minister of Maori Affairs.

(M.A. 36/4/9)