Notice of Final Decision of the New Zealand Geographic Board re Assigning of Place Names

Whereas, pursuant to section 12 of the New Zealand Geographic Board Act 1946, notice was given on the 2nd day of August 1962 of the intention of the New Zealand Geographic Board to assign certain place and feature names:

And whereas, pursuant to section 13 of the said Act, objections to the proposed names were considered by the Board on the 27th day of June 1963 and a report submitted to the Minister of Lands thereon:

And whereas, after considering the Board's report herein, the Minister of Lands has given his final decisions as set out in the Schedule hereto:

Now, therefore pursuant to section 15 of the said Act, notice is hereby given that, on and after the 22nd day of September 1963, there shall be assigned the names set out in the Schedule hereto.

SCHEDULE

List No. 25 Name Situation and Remarks

Hapuka Survey District, Westland. At the mouth of the Arawata River. Instead of Jacksons Bay. Jackson Bay

Wharemoa Railway Station Instead of Jacksons Bay.

In the Borough of Greymouth. This name replaces the name "Karoro Railway Station" which is hereby cancelled. The name "Wharemoa" notified in Gazette, No. 42, of 29 July, 1948, at page 939, for a locality near Watson Creek, Greymouth Survey District, is also hereby cancelled.

Dated at Wellington this 7th day of August 1963.

J. C. MEALE, Assistant Surveyor-General, Acting Chairman, New Zealand Geographic Board. (L and S. H.O. 22/2605/3)

Notice of Intention to Assign Place Names by the New Zealand Geographic Board

Pursuant to section 12 of the New Zealand Geographic Board Act 1946, notice is hereby given of the intention of the New Zealand Geographic Board to assign the names set out in the first column

Geographic Board to assign the names set out in the first column of the Schedule hereto.

Pursuant to section 13 of the said Act, any person objecting to any such proposed name may, at any time within the period of three months from the date of publication of this notice in the Gazette, give to the Secretary of the Board, care of the Department of Lands and Survey, P.O. Box 8003, Government Buildings, Wellington, notice in writing of his objection, setting out the grounds of the objection.

If no objection is received by the Board within the aforesaid

If no objection is received by the Board within the aforesaid period of three months, the Board's decision as to any of the said proposed names will be final.

SCHEDULE

SOUTH AUCKLAND LAND DISTRICT

Situation and Remarks

Name

In Tapuaeharuru Bay, Lake Taupo, about two miles and a half south-west of the Borough of Taupo. This name applies to the bay extending from Te Kopua Point to Otuparae Acacia Bay from Te Kopua Point to Otuparae Point.
Locality in Blocks III and VII, Whakatane Survey District, being the area comprising the peninsula extending from the western boundary of part subdivision B 2 of Section 246. Waimana Parish, to the entrance to Ohiwa Harbour.
Locality in Block XIII, Patetere North Survey District. Approximately seven miles south-west of the Borough of Putaruru. Instead of Te Waotu. Port Ohope Waotu

Te Waotu. MARLBOROUGH LAND DISTRICT Block VIII, Whenside Survey District.
South-eastern branch of Wharf
Stream, draining from Burnt Spur.
Map reference: N.Z.M.S. 1,
S35:197458-180464. **Burnt Stream** Block IX, Cape Campbell Survey
District. Rises west of Weld Cone
and flows northerly into a tributary
of the Flaxbourne River. Map
reference: N.Z.M.S. 1, S36:412577-**Butt Stream** 406600.

Block VIII, Whernside Survey District.

Whernside Trig. Iwitahi Ridge ... Leading from Whernside Trig. Station in a north-easterly direction to a saddle 2,680 ft in height. Map reference: N.Z.M.S. 1, S35: 197475–230497.

MARLBOROUGH LAND DISTRICT—continued

Name			Situation and Remarks		
Paton Stream	••	• •	Block VIII, Whernside Survey District, Most southerly headwater tribu- tary of Kekerengu River. Map reference: N.Z.M.S. 1, S35: 200466– 224459.		
Pikes Creek	••	••	Blocks VII and VIII, Whernside Survey District. South branch of Wharf Stream. Map reference: N.Z.M.S. 1, S35: 173437–168463.		
Titi Island	••	••	Block XXIII, Gore Survey District. North-west of Alligator Head. The present official name Motungarara is to be cancelled in order to avoid confusion with similarly named island in Block XIX, Gore Survey District.		
NELSON LAND DISTRICT					

		2.1.2 2.0.1.201
Christabel Creek	••	Block VI, Kahurangi Survey District. Flows into Tasman Sea south of
De Filippi Creek		Otukoroiti Point. Blocks III and VI, Inangahua Survey
FF		District. Rises west of Boundary
		Peak and flows westerly and north- westerly into Buller River. At
		present known as Flaxbush Creek.
Flaxbush Creek		Blocks III and VI, Inangahua Survey
		District. Rises west of Trig. H and
		flows westerly into Buller River.
		At present known as Little Flax-
		bush Creek.

		busii Cleek.
	WESTLAN	ND LAND DISTRICT
Adams Col		Block III, Tyndall Survey District, East of Guardian Peak.
Antony Creek	••	Block VI, Whitcombe Pass Survey District. Tributary of Waitaha River east of Mark Creek.
Caesar Creek	••	Block V, Whitcombe Pass Survey District. Flows southerly from Ragged Peak into Waitaha River.
Chainman Creek	••	Block VI, Whitcombe Survey District, Flows south-east from Mount Hitchin into Waitaha River.
Farrar Glacier	••	Blocks II and III, Tyndall Survey District. Flows westerly from Mount Farrar.
Lake Greaney	• •	Block XI, Arawata Survey District. Half mile south-west of Minim Mere.
Havelock Col	••	Block VIII, Tyndall Survey District. On Main Divide west of Outram Peak. At headwaters of Havelock River.
Mark Creek	••	Block V, Whitcombe Pass Survey District. Tributary of Waitaha River east of Pompey Creek.
McKenzie Col	••	Block XII, Whitcombe Pass Survey District. Between County and McKenzie Glaciers on Lange Range.
McKenzie Glacier	••	Block XII, Whitcombe Pass Survey District. Flowing from McKenzie Col and draining into Seddon Creek.

Block XV, Whitcombe Pass Survey
District. On Main Divide northeast of Mount Roberts.
Block I, Tyndall Survey District. Flows
from Escape Glacier into Barlow North Barlow River

Menace Gap

River. Block VIII, Tyndall Survey District. At head of Perth Glacier. Present official name is Lucknow Saddle. Perth Col

Peter Creek

Pompey Creek

Pot Luck Creek Red Lion Col ..

Red Hills Range

At nead of Perin Glacier. Present official name is Lucknow Saddle. Block XVI, Mount Bonar Survey District. Flows south-westerly from Mirage Knob into Wanganui River. Block V, Whitcombe Pass Survey District. Tributary of Waitaha River east of Caesar Creek. Block IX, Butler Survey District. Tributary of Wanganui River west of Devastation Creek. Block XI, Whitcombe Pass Survey District. On Smyth Range east of Red Lion Peak, between County Glacier and Evans Glacier. Gorge Survey District. West of Cascade River. At present known as Red Hill Range. Block XVI, Gorge River Survey District. Between Red Pyke River and Cascade River. Shown as Red Hill on map of Humboldtside Survey District, Otago Land District 6,600 ft. Red Mountain

6,600 ft.

Blocks VII and XI, Whitcombe Pass
Survey District. Flows northerly
from Bloomfield Range into Reid Creek Waitaha River.