Whakatane High School Cadets

Lieutenant A. D. Mabon, B.A., to be Captain. Dated 25 May 1963.

RESERVE OF OFFICERS

The following officers are posted to the Retired List:

Royal Regiment of N.Z. Artillery Major Alan John Holland. Dated 23 June 1963.

Royal N.Z. Armoured Corps Captain Peter Gaskell Thevenard. Dated 25 June 1963 Lieutenant Maxwell Bruce Willyams. Dated 12 July 1963.

Royal N.Z. Infantry Corps

Lieutenant-Colonel Mervyn Miles Nelson Corner, M.C. Dated 28 July 1963.

Captain Herbert Simon Hirst. Dated 17 July 1963. Lieutenant John Michael Bailey. Dated 25 July 1963. Lieutenant Ian Ross McLean. Dated 17 July 1963.

Royal N.Z. Army Service Corps

Captain James Gilchrist Watson. Dated 25 July 1963.

Royal N.Z. Chaplains Department The Rev. Bert Desmond Jameson, Chaplain 3rd Class (Church of England). Dated 15 July 1963.

N.Z. Cadet Corps

Lieutenant Kenneth Frederick Gillies. Dated 25 July 1963. Lieutenant John Alexander Waddington. Dated 25 July 1963. Dated at Wellington this 9th day of August 1963.

DEAN J. EYRE, Minister of Defence.

Appointments, Promotions, Extensions of Commissions, and Date of Retirement, Transfer, and Terminations of Com-missions of Officers of the Royal New Zealand Air Force

PURSUANT to section 15 of the Royal New Zealand Air Force Act 1950, His Excellency the Governor-General has been pleased to approve the following appointments, promotions, extensions of commissions, and date of retirement, transfer, and terminations of commissions of officers of the Royal New Zealand Air Force.

REGULAR AIR FORCE

GENERAL DUTIES BRANCH

Appointment **Appointment**

Flight Lieutenant Daniel John Cotton, p.s.c. (75134), to be temporary Squadron Leader, with effect from 6 August 1963.

Extensions of Commissions

The under-mentioned officers are granted extensions of their commissions until the date shown:

Flight Lieutenant Blake Olliver Harper (711609), 31 December 1973

Flying Officer Frank Hamilton Roach (79480), 3 July 1970.

Transfer to Retired List

Squadron Leader John William Prideaux Cook, M.B.E., B.A., p.s.c. (70160), is transferred to the Retired List "A", with effect from 13 September 1963.

TECHNICAL BRANCH

Appointment 4 1 1

Engineer Division

Technical Cadet John Frederick Kelly (80041) is granted a permanent commission in the Technical Branch (Engineer Division), Regular Air Force, in the rank of Acting Pilot Officer, with seniority and effect from 28 July 1963.

TERRITORIAL AIR FORCE

Administrative and Supply Branch Promotion

Special Duties Division

Flying Officer Stanley Russell Quennell (130797) to be Flight Lieutenant, with effect from 9 June 1963.

Extension of Date of Retirement

The age for retirement of Squadron Leader Laurence Norman Larsen, B.SC. (130738), is further extended for a period of one year, with effect from 9 July 1963.

AIR TRAINING CORPS

Promotions

Flying Officer Foster Grose Wellington to be Flight Lieutenant, with effect from 25 May 1963.

The under-mentioned Pilot Officers to be Flying Officers, with effect from the date shown: Brian Arthur Vincent, B.SC., 14 March 1963. John Arthur Oxley Davison, 1 June 1963. Norman Gilbert Bibby, 29 June 1963. Norman Hunter Blair, B.SC., 20 August 1963.

RESERVE OF AIR FORCE OFFICERS

Appointments

Robert Mostyn Sinclair (551842) is granted a commission in the Reserve of Air Force Officers for a period ending 31 July 1967 in the rank of Flight Lieutenant, with seniority from 5 October 1960, with effect from 1 August 1963.

Flying Officer Robert Rowland Preston, B.A. (818809), to be temporary Flight Lieutenant while attached to the Air Training Corps, with effect from 22 May 1963.

Extension of Commission

Flight Lieutenant (temp.) John Francis Tanner (73887) is granted an extension of his commission until 15 August Ĭ967.

Terminations of Commissions

The commissions of the under-mentioned Flight Lieutenants (temp.) are terminated, with effect from the date shown:

Leslie Herbert Stevens, B.SC., M.B., CH.B., U.N.Z., M.R.A.C.P. (134076), 10 August 1959. Robert Haste Stonyer (74969), 12 July 1963.

Dated at Wellington this 9th day of August 1963.

DEAN J. EYRE, Minister of Defence. (Air 12/11/9)

Members of the Tuwharetoa Maori Trust Board Appointed

PURSUANT to section 14 (2) of the Maori Trust Boards Act 1955, His Excellency the Governor-General has been pleased to appoint the following persons to be members of the Tuwharetoa Maori Trust Board for a term of three (3) years from and including 20 February 1963:

Hepi Hoani Te Heuheu, Hepi Hoani Te Heuneu, Te Takinga Arthur Grace, Robert Reremai Keepa, Turau Te Tomo, John Takakopiri Asher, Harry Rihia, Hiriwetiri Mariu, Pateriki Hura, Huriweba Morjanato, and Huriwaha Maniapoto, and Rongomai Nana Heuheu.

Dated at Wellington this 2nd day of August 1963. J. R. HANAN, Minister of Maori Affairs.

(M.A. 26/6/2)

Member of Board of Maori Affairs Appointed

PURSUANT to section 6 of the Maori Affairs Act 1953, His Excellency the Governor-General has been pleased to appoint Pateriki Joseph Hura, O.B.E., of Taumarunui

to be a member of the Board of Maori Affairs for a term of three years from 27 July 1963.

Dated at Wellington this 7th day of August 1963.

J. R. HANAN, Minister of Maori Affairs. (M.A. 51/1/3)

Appointing Committee of Inquiry into Helicopter Industry in New Zealand

PURSUANT to section 3 (c) of the Civil Aviation Act 1948, the Minister in Charge of Civil Aviation has appointed the following persons to be a Committee of Inquiry to examine and report to the Minister upon the Helicopter industry in New Zealand and whether there is need for further economic regulation of aerial work of a kind performed by Helicopters, in particular, aerial spraying:

Mr F. F. Reid, Chairman; Mr L. L. Ford; and Mr D. F. Toms.

Dated at Wellington this 5th day of August 1963.

JOHN McALPINE, Minister in Charge of Civil Aviation,

General List