4. Nothing herein contained shall authorise the Board to do or cause to be done anything repugnant to or inconsistent with any law relating to the Customs, or with any regulation of the Minister of Customs, or with any provision of the Harbours Act 1950 or its amendments, or any regulations made thereunder, that are or may hereafter be in force.

5. The rights, powers, and privileges conferred by this Order in Council shall not apply to those portions of the foreshore required for securing the shore ends of any telegraph cables that are at present or may be at any time laid down within the said area of foreshore.

6. The Board may, subject to the provisions of sections 176 to 182 of the Harbours Act 1950:

to 182 of the Harbours Act 1950:

o 182 of the Harbours Act 1950:

(a) Erect or license or permit the erection or continuance on the foreshore described in the First Schedule hereto, or on the bed of the lake immediately contiguous to that foreshore, of baths, bathhouses, boat sheds, boat-building sheds, jetties, slipways, or, with the approval of the Minister, any structures relating to the convenience of shipping or of the public or to any local enterprise or object;

(b) Use or license or permit the use of the foreshore described in the First Schedule hereto, or the bed of the lake immediately continuous to that foreshore, for any purpose approved by the Minister relating to the convenience of shipping or of the public or to any local enterprise or object;

(c) Make bylaws regulating the use of any things erected or continued pursuant to clause (a) of this condition and the use for any purpose approved pursuant to clause (b) of this condition, and fixing charges for those uses.

charges for those uses.

7. Nothing herein contained shall authorise the Board to remove or cause to be removed any stones, sand, shingle, or shells without the consent of the Minister being first

obtained.

8. Bylaws made by the Board under the authority of this Order in Council shall not come into force until they have been approved by the Minister, by notice in the Gazette.

9. The rights, powers, and privileges conferred by or under this Order in Council shall be in force for 21 years from the day following the date of its notification in the Gazette unless in the meantime such rights, powers, and privileges shall be altered, modified, or revoked by competent authority.

10. The said rights, powers, and privileges may be at any time resumed by the Governor-General, without payment of any compensation whatever, on giving to the Board six calendar months' notice in writing. Any such notice shall be sufficient if given by the Minister and delivered at or posted to the last known address of the Board in New Zealand.

T. I. SHERRARD. Clerk of the Executive Council.

T. J. SHERRARD, Clerk of the Executive Council. (M. 4/4656)

Authorising the Whangarei Harbour Board to Reclaim Land from the Sea in Waiarohia Stream

BERNARD FERGUSSON, Governor-General ORDER IN COUNCIL

At the Government House at Wellington this 11th day of September 1963

Present:
HIS EXCELLENCY THE GOVERNOR-GENERAL IN COUNCIL

PURSUANT to section 175 of the Harbours Act 1950, His Excellency the Governor-General, acting by and with the advice and consent of the Executive Council, hereby authorises the Whangarei Harbour Board to reclaim from the sea in the Waiarohia Stream 2 acres 1 rood 20 perches of land, more or less, as shown shaded blue on plan marked M.D. 11593 and deposited in the office of the Marine Department at Wellington.

T. J. SHERRARD, Clerk of the Executive Council. (M. 4/2711)

Exempting Land in the Taranaki Land District from the Operation of Part III of the Coal Mines Act 1925

BERNARD FERGUSSON, Governor-General PURSUANT to the Coal Mines Act 1925, His Excellency the Governor-General hereby gives the following notice:

NOTICE

THE land described in the Schedule hereto is hereby exempted from the operation of Part III of the Coal Mines Act 1925.

SCHEDULE

ALL that area of land containing 3 acres 1 rood 32 perches, more or less, being part Rangitoto-Tuhua 686 2D 2B 1 Block, situated in Block IX, Mapara Survey District, Taranaki Registry (S.O. 8682).

As witness the hand of His Excellency the Governor-General this 11th day of September 1963.

T. P. SHAND, Minister of Mines.

(Mines 11/10/9)

Appointments, Promotions, Extensions of Commissions, Transfer, and Terminations of Commissions of Officers of the Royal New Zealand Air Force

Pursuant to section 15 of the Royal New Zealand Air Force Act 1950, His Excellency the Governor-General has been pleased to approve the following appointments, promotions, extensions of commissions, transfer, and terminations of commissions of officers of the Royal New Zealand Air Force.

REGULAR AIR FORCE GENERAL DUTIES BRANCH

A ppointments

The under-mentioned Flight Lieutenants to be temporary Squadron Leaders, with effect from 1 August 1963:

John Lewis Nicholson Harris (75446). Bryan Joseph Dwyer (815730).

Promotions

The under-mentioned Squadron Leaders (temp.) t Squadron Leaders, with effect from 1 September 1963:

James Hirst Bayliss, A.F.C. (76073). Ivor Veitch Mackay (75439). John Lewis Nicholson Harris (75446). Patrick Neville, A.F.C. (77606). Norman Eric Richardson (76079).

Extensions of Commissions

The under-mentioned officers are granted extensions of their commissions until the date shown:

Flight Lieutenant Michael Charles Airey (623430), 31

December 1974. Flying Officer Russell Welton Stewart (928300), 9 January 1981.

TECHNICAL BRANCH Transfer to Retired List

Signals Division

Squadron Leader James Frederick Henessy Harper (70238) is transferred to the Retired List "A", with effect from 2 November 1963.

ADMINISTRATIVE AND SUPPLY BRANCH Appointment

Special Duties Division

Flight Lieutenant Ralph Walker-Lear (79202) to be temporary Squadron Leader, with effect from 1 August 1963.

EDUCATION BRANCH

Appointment

Flight Lieutenant Peter Elliot Hope, N.Z.C.E. (77257) to be temporary Squadron Leader, with effect from 12 August 1963.

AIR TRAINING CORPS

Appointments

The under-mentioned are granted commissions in the Air Training Corps in the rank of Pilot Officer, with seniority and effect from the date shown:

Roy Henry Frederick Mace, 8 August 1963. Patrick Gordon Burke, 16 August 1963.

Promotion

Pilot Officer Brian Elliott Nuttall to be Flying Officer, with effect from 15 August 1963.

Terminations of Commissions

The commissions of the under-mentioned officers are terminated, with effect from 20 August 1963:

Flying Officers:

Clive Charles Allpress, B.SC. Kenneth Richard Camden. Allan James Dickie, B.A. Samuel Heywood. William Ritchie. David Michael Desmond Roberts, DIP.PHYS.ED.

Pilot Officers:

Aubrey Owen Abbott, B.COM., A.R.A.N.Z., A.C.I.S. Denis Thomas Bradburn. John Joseph Gibbons. Frank Winston Nauman. Robert Alistair Walsh, B.SC.

RESERVE OF AIR FORCE OFFICERS

Extension of Commission

Flight Lieutenant (temp.) Ivan Herman Gundersen (130586) is granted an extension of his commission until 25 August 1965.