## Classification of State Highways

PURSUANT to regulation 3 of the Heavy Motor Vehicle Regulations 1955,\* the Commissioner of Transport, as required by the National Roads Board, hereby revokes all warrants and portions of warrants which refer to the classification of the roads described in the First Schedule hereto, and hereby declares that the roads described in the Second Schedule hereto shall belong to the classes as set out in the said Second Schedule Schedule.

## FIRST SCHEDULE

ALL State highways.

## SECOND SCHEDULE

ALL the State highways described as follows but exclusive of any portion of a State highway within a city, borough, or town district, and exclusive of any portion of a State highway which is a motorway.

## State Highways Classified in Class One

No. 1 State Highway (Awanui-Bluff):

From Topunui to the northern boundary of Taupo Borough. From Topunui to the northern boundary of Taupo Borough. From the No. 41 State Highway (Taumarunui-Turangi) at Taurangi to the No. 47 State Highway (National Park-Turangi) at Rangipo.

From Bulls to the north-eastern boundary of Wellington City near Ngauranga.

From the southern boundary of Picton Borough to the southern boundary of Awatere County.

From the No. 7 State Highway (Waipara-Greymouth via Lewis Pass) at Waipara to the north-western boundary of Bluff Borough.

No. 2 State Highway (Pokeno-Wellington via Gisborne):

From the No. 29 State Highway (Tauranga-Piarere) at Hairini to the No. 33 State Highway (Te Ngae-Paenga-

roa) at Paengaroa.
From the eastern boundary of Whakatane County to the No. 36 State Highway (Gisborne-Frasertown via Tiniroto)

at Waipaoa Bridge.
From the No. 5 State Highway (Tirau-Napier via Rotorua) at Esk to the No. 1 State Highway (Awanui-Bluff) at Ngauranga.

No. 3 State Highway (Hamilton-Woodville via New Plymouth):

From the southern boundary of Hamilton City to the northern boundary of Te Awamutu Borough.

From the south-western boundary of Waitara Borough to the northern boundary of Stratford Borough.

From the south-eastern boundary of Wanganui City to the

Pohangina Road near Ashhurst.

No. 3A State Highway (Waitara-Inglewood).

No. 4 State Highway (Te Kuiti - Wanganui via Raetihi):

From the No. 47 State Highway (National Park - Turangi) at Carroll Street, National Park, to the recommencement of the No. 47 State Highway (National Park - Turangi) at a point 32 chains measured southerly generally along the No. 4 State Highway (Te Kuiti - Wanganui via Raetihi) from Carroll Street.

No. 5 State Highway (Tirau-Napier via Rotorua and Taupo): From the southern boundary of Rotorua City to the No. 38 State Highway (Waiotapu-Wairoa via Waikaremoana) at Waiotapu.

From the eastern boundary of Taupo Borough to the No. 2 State Highway (Pokeno-Wellington via Gisborne) at Esk.

No. 6 State Highway (Blenheim-Invercargill via Nelson and

From the western boundary of Blenheim Borough to a point 3 miles measured southerly generally along the said highway from the Charleston Post Office.

From Kararoa Creek (12 Mile) to Rapahoe.

From Hawea Dam to the northern boundary of Invercargill

No. 7 State Highway (Waipara-Greymouth via Lewis Pass): From the No. 1 State Highway (Awanui-Bluff) at Waipara to the Big Grey River Bridge.

No. 8 State Highway (Timaru-Milton):

From the No. 1 State Highway (Awanui-Bluff) at Washdyke to the No. 6 State Highway (Blenheim-Invercargill via Nelson and Greymouth) at Lowburn.

From the No. 6 State Highway (Blenheim-Invercargill via Nelson and Greymouth) at a point 3 miles south of Lowburn to the No. 1 State Highway (Awanui-Bluff) at Clarksville.

No. 8A State Highway (Tarras-Luggate).

No. 20 State Highway (Onehunga-Redoubt Road):

From Walmsley Road to Buckland Road West. From the southern boundary of Papatoetoe Borough to the No. 1 State Highway (Awanui-Bluff) at Redoubt Road.

No. 26 State Highway (Hamilton-Kopu):

From the eastern boundary of Hamilton City to the southwestern boundary of Morrinsville Borough.

No. 27 State Highway (Mangatarata-Tirau):

From the No. 1 State Highway (Awanui-Bluff) at Tirau to the No. 29 State Highway (Tauranga-Piarere) at Hinuera.

No. 29 State Highway (Tauranga-Piarere).

No. 30 State Highway (Te Kuiti - Whakatane via Atiamuri): From Whakamaru to the No. 33 State Highway (Te Ngae -Paengaroa) at Te Ngae.

No. 33 State Highway (Te Ngae-Paengaroa).

No. 35 State Highway (Opotiki-Gisborne via Te Araroa):

From the No. 2 State Highway (Pokeno-Wellington via Gisborne) at Makaraka to the western boundary of Gisborne City.

No. 36 State Highway (Gisborne-Frasertown via Tiniroto): From the No. 2 State Highway (Pokeno-Wellington via Gisborne) at Waipaoa Bridge to Waerenga-o-kuri.

No. 38 State Highway (Waiotapu-Wairoa via Waikaremoana): From the No. 5 State Highway (Tirau-Napier via Rotorua and Taupo) at Waiotapu to Galatea Road.
From Ruapapa Road to the northern boundary of Wairoa

Borough.

No. 41 State Highway (Taumarunui-Turangi).

No. 47 State Highway (National Park-Turangi).

No. 50 State Highway (Napier-Takapau via Fernhill): From the south-western boundary of Napier City to Omahu Road at Fernhill.

52 Highway (Waipukurau-Masterton Porangahau):

From the eastern boundary of Masterton Borough to the Castlepoint Road (Masterton-Tauweru)

No. 56 State Highway (Palmerston North-Himatangi): From the south-western boundary of Palmerston North City to Longburn.

No. 57 State Highway (Levin-Palmerston North via Shannon).

No. 58 State Highway (Haywards-Paremata)

No. 60 State Highway (Richmond-Collingwood).

No. 61 State Highway (Motueka-Motupiko).

No. 63 State Highway (Renwick-Kawatiri).

No. 65 State Highway (Murchison-Maruia via Shenandoah).

No. 67 State Highway (Westport-Karamea):

From the No. 6 State Highway (Blenheim-Invercargill via Nelson and Greymouth) at 4-Mile Junction to Waimangaroa Bridge.

No. 69 State Highway (Inangahua-Reefton):

From the No. 6 State Highway (Blenheim-Invercargill via Nelson and Greymouth) at Inangahua Junction to the Inangahua Railway Station Road.

From Gannon Road to the No. 7 State Highway (Waipara-Greymouth via Lewis Pass) at Reefton.

No. 72 State Highway (Woodend-Winchester):

From the No. 1 State Highway (Awanui-Bluff) at Woodend to the No. 73 State Highway (Christchurch-Kumara) at Waddington.

No. 73 State Highway (Christchurch-Kumara):

From the No. 1 State Highway (Awauni-Bluff) near Riccarton to 12 miles west of the No. 1 Kowai Bridge. From the Otira Post Office to the No. 6 State Highway (Blenheim-Invercargill via Nelson and Greymouth) at Kumara Junction.

No. 75 State Highway (Christchurch-Akaroa).

No. 83 State Highway (Pukeuri-Omarama).

No. 85 State Highway (Palmerston-Alexandra).

No. 87 State Highway (Mosgiel-Kyeburn):

From the No. 1 State Highway (Awanui-Bluff) to Middlemarch.

No. 94 State Highway (Gore - Milford Sound):

From the north-western boundary of Gore Borough to the Upukerora Bridge approximately 1 mile north of Te/Anau.

No. 99 State Highway (Invercargill-Tuatapere):

From the No. 6 State Highway (Blenheim-Invercargill via Nelson and Greymouth) at Lorneville to the north-eastern boundary of Riverton Borough.