Appointments, Extensions of Commission, and Date of Retirement, Transfers, Termination, and Cancellation of Commissions, and Retirement of Officers of the Royal New Zealand

Pursuant to section 15 of the Royal New Zealand Air Force Act 1950, His Excellency the Governor-General has been pleased to approve the following appointments, extensions of commission, and date of retirement, transfers, termination, and cancellation of commissions, and retirement of officers of the Royal New Zealand Air Force.

#### REGULAR AIR FORCE

#### TECHNICAL BRANCH

#### A ppointments

Engineer Division

Technical Cadet John Frederick Kelly (80041) is granted a permanent commission in the Technical Branch (Engineer Division), Regular Air Force, in the rank of Pilot Officer, with seniority and effect from 15 July 1963.

This cancels notice in *Gazette*, 15 August 1963, Volume II, page 1160

This cancels house in Gazette, 13 August 1964, Volume II,

### Transfer to Retired List

Flight Lieutenant Claude Francis Halkett, M.B.E. (70384), is transferred to the Retired List "A", with effect from 17 May 1965.

#### Extension of Date of Retirement

Signals Division

The age for retirement of Wing Commander Francis Maitland Bissett George, M.B.E. (70236), is extended for the period 12 October 1965 to 31 December 1965.

### ADMINISTRATIVE AND SUPPLY BRANCH

#### Cancellation of Commission

Secretarial Division

The commission of Pilot Officer Ronald William Potaka (621628) is cancelled, with effect from 7 June 1965.

# Appointment

Special Duties Division

Trevor Rhys Davies (82407) is granted a short-service commission in the Administrative and Supply Branch (Special Duties Division), Regular Air Force, for a period ending 31 May 1968 to be followed by four years in the Reserve of Air Force Officers. He is appointed in the rank of Flight Lieutenant with seniority from 1 June 1965. with seniority from 1 June 1963, with effect from 1 June 1965.

## MEDICAL BRANCH

## Transfer to Retired List

Honorary Wing Commander James Garfield Stewart, M.C., E.D., M.B., CH.B.(U.N.Z.), is transferred to the Retired List "B", with effect from 31 May 1965.

### AIR TRAINING CORPS

### Appointment

Kenneth Johnstone Brown is granted a commission in the Air Training Corps in the rank of Pilot Officer for a period ending 13 April 1969, with seniority and effect from 14 April 1965.

# RESERVE OF AIR FORCE OFFICERS

Extension of Commission

Flight Lieutenant Donald John Phillips, D.F.C. (70137) is granted an extension of his commission until 7 June 1978.

# Transfer

Wing Commander Robert Maxwell McKay, O.B.E., A.F.C., p.s.c. (70032), is transferred from the General Duties Branch, Regular Air Force, to the Reserve of Air Force Officers for a period ending 14 June 1969, with effect from 15 June 1965.

# Termination of Commission

The commission of Flying Officer Frederick Joshua McDonald (130075) is terminated, with effect from 31 May

### Retirement

Flight Lieutenant Robert George Lynn (132819) is retired, with effect from 29 June 1965.

Dated at Wellington this 9th day of June 1965.

DEAN J. EYRE, Minister of Defence.

(Air 12/11/9)

Appointment of High Commissioner for India

His Excellency the Governor-General directs it to be notified

#### Mr S. N. Chopra

presented his Letter of Commission at Government House on Wednesday, 2 June 1965.

Dated at Wellington this 11th day of June 1965.

KEITH HOLYOAKE, Minister of External Affairs.

Appointment of High Commissioner for New Zealand in Western Samoa

His Excellency the Governor-General in Council has been pleased to appoint

#### Owston Paul Gabites

to be High Commissioner for New Zealand in Western Samoa under and for the purposes of the External Affairs Act 1943, to hold the said office as from the 9th day of June 1965 to the 8th day of June 1967.

Dated at Wellington this 9th day of June 1965.

KEITH HOLYOAKE, Minister of External Affairs.

Port Conciliation Committee for the Port of Port Chalmers Appointed

PURSUANT to the Waterfront Industry Act 1953, the Minister of Labour hereby appoints the following persons to be the Port Conciliation Committee for the Port of Port Chalmers for the term of one year expiring on the 30th day of April 1966.

Robert Sproull Menzies Sinclair, Chairman;

Charles Oliver Knewstubb, Deputy Chairman;

James Alexander Glass, William James Lee, Norman Douglas Oliver, and Aubrey Keetley Warren (nominated by the New Zealand Port Employers' Association (In-corporated)); and

Norman Agnew, Neil Crichton, John Readman Dick, and Fredrick William Holden (nominated by the Port Chalmers Waterfront Workers' Industrial Union of Workers).

Dated at Wellington this 3rd day of June 1965.

T. P. SHAND, Minister of Labour.

### Appointment in the Royal New Zealand Navy

PURSUANT to the Navy Act 1954, His Excellency the Governor-General has approved the following promotion in the Royal New Zealand Navy:

Rear-Admiral Sir Peter Phipps, K.B.E., D.S.C. AND BAR, V.R.D., promoted to the rank of Vice-Admiral and reappointed as Chief of the Defence Staff (on secondment to Ministry of Defence), to date 8 June 1965.

Dated at Wellington this 14th day of June 1965.

DEAN J. EYRE, Minister of Defence.

Board Appointed to Have Control of Omatane Domain

PURSUANT to the Reserves and Domains Act 1953, the Minister of Lands hereby appoints

James Maxwell Hamilton, William Henry Francis Hill, Maurice Havelock Jerram, Ian Connon McColl, Allan Harcourt Smith, and Graham Harcourt Smith

to be the Omatane Domain Board to have control of the reserve described in the Schedule hereto, subject to the provisions of the said Act, as a public domain.

### **SCHEDULE**

WELLINGTON LAND DISTRICT—OMATANE DOMAIN Sections 35 and 43, Block IV, Hautapu Survey District: Area, 9 acres 2 roods 1.9 perches, more or less.

Dated at Wellington this 10th day of June 1965.

R. G. GERARD, Minister of Lands.

(L. and S. H.O. 1/1308; D.O. 8/3/129)