Appointments, Extensions of Commissions, and Dates of Retirement, and Resignation of Officers of the Royal New Zealand Air Force

PURSUANT to section 15 of the Royal New Zealand Air Force Act 1950, His Excellency the Governor-General has been pleased to approve the following appointments, extensions of commissions, and dates of retirement, and resignation of officers of the Royal New Zealand Air Force.

## REGULAR AIR FORCE

GENERAL DUTIES BRANCH

Appointment

Flight Sergeant Signaller Neil Franklin Wright (78951) is granted a short-service commission in the General Duties Branch, Regular Air Force, for a period ending 5 July 1971 to be followed by four years in the Reserve of Air Force Officers. He is appointed in the rank of Pilot Officer, with seniority from 6 October 1964, with effect from 6 July 1965.

Extension of Commission

Flight Lieutenant Maurice Victor White (78196) is granted an extension of his commission until 1 November 1966.

### TECHNICAL BRANCH

A ppointments

Engineer Division

The under-mentioned corporals are granted short-service commissions in the Technical Branch (Engineer Division), Regular Air Force, for a period ending 5 July 1977 to be followed by four years in the Reserve of Air Force Officers. They are appointed in the rank of Pilot Officer, with seniority and effect from 6 July 1965:

Kenneth Arthur Roberts Butcher (78263). Colin Gary Ryan (78880).

Signals Division

The under-mentioned airmen are granted short-service commissions in the Technical Branch (Signals Division), Regular Air Force, for periods ending on the date shown to be followed by four years in the Reserve of Air Force Officers. They are appointed in the rank of Pilot Officer, with seniority from 6 October 1964, with effect from 6 July 1965:

Flight Sergeant Brian Frederick Huggard (71085), 5 July

Sergeant Thomas Edward McIlroy (76187), 5 July 1973. Sergeant Eric Arthur Morgon (76210), 5 July 1973.

The under-mentioned leading aircraftmen are granted shortservice commissions in the Technical Branch (Signals Division), Regular Air Force, for a period ending 5 July 1971 to be followed by four years in the Reserve of Air Force Officers. They are appointed in the rank of Pilot Officer, with seniority and effect from 6 July 1965:

Rodney Albert Sudlow (79553). Anthony Trevor Hughes (80173).

Extension of Date of Retirement

The age for retirement of Flight Lieutenant Garvin Robert Gilbert (76974) is extended until 1 November 1966.

## ADMINISTRATIVE AND SUPPLY BRANCH

A ppointment

Equipment Division

Corporal Brian Robert Kent (79346) is granted a short-service commission in the Administrative and Supply Branch (Equipment Division), Regular Air Force, for a period ending 5 July 1977 to be followed by four years in the Reserve of Air Force Officers. He is appointed in the rank of Pilot Officer, with seniority and effect from 6 July 1965.

## Resignation

Flight Lieutenant Colin Henry Watson (76816) resigns his commission, with effect from 27 October 1965.

Appointments

Special Duties Division

Warrant Officer Ronald Jones Nelson, F.INST. W.SP., A.F.N.Z.I.M. (75721) is granted a short-service commission in the Administrative and Supply Branch (Special Duties Division), Regular Air Force, for a period ending 5 July 1969 to be followed by four years in the Reserve of Air Force Officers. He is appointed in the rank of Flight Lieutenant, with seniority and effect from 6 July 1965.

The under-mentioned airmen are granted short-service commissions in the Administrative and Supply Branch (Special Duties Division), Regular Air Force, for a period ending 5 July 1973 to be followed by four years in the Reserve of Air Force Officers. They are appointed in the rank of Pilot Officer, with seniority from 6 October 1964, with effect from 6 July 1965:

Flight Sergeant Milton James Everson (72557). Sergeant Daniel Wakefield McLeod (32101).

## MEDICAL BRANCH

Extension of Commission

Flight Lieutenant Brendan James Dolan, L., L.M., R.C.P. (IREL.), L., L.M., R.C.S. (IREL.), D.A., R.C.P., (LOND.), R.C.S. (ENG.), (80412) is granted an extension of his commission until 15 July 1966.

# WOMEN'S ROYAL NEW ZEALAND AIR FORCE

#### REGULAR SECTION

Appointments

The under-mentioned airwomen are granted temporary commissions in the Women's Royal New Zealand Air Force for a period ending 5 July 1968. They are appointed in the rank of Assistant Section Officer, with seniority and effect from 6 July 1965:

Temporary Corporal Mary Eileen Maloney (81353). Leading Aircraftwoman Patricia Dawn Wykes (80974).

### AIR TRAINING CORPS

Appointment

Leo Stephenson Bates is granted a commission in the Air Training Corps in the rank of Pilot Officer for a period ending 28 February 1969, with seniority and effect from 1 March 1965.

## RESERVE OF AIR FORCE OFFICERS

Appointment

Flying Officer William Jack Griffiths (78948) to be temporary Flight Lieutenant, with effect from 10 October 1965.

Extensions of Commissions

The under-mentioned officers are granted extensions of their commissions until the date shown:

Squadron Leader Edgar Francis Harvie, A.F.C. (134239), 24 October 1969.

Flight Lieutenants (temp.):

Ivan Herman Gundersen (130586), 25 August 1969. Desmond Daniel McCambridge (72515), 1 September

William Jack Griffiths (78948), 9 October 1969.

Extension of Date of Retirement

The age for retirement of Squadron Leader (temp.) Rev. Fr. Christopher Fleming Feehly (134176) is further extended until 10 October 1966.

Dated at Wellington this 19th day of October 1965.

DEAN J. EYRE, Minister of Defence.

(Air 12/11/9)

Cancelling Appointment of an Honorary Welfare Officer Under the Maori Welfare Act 1962

Pursuant to section 5 (5) of the Maori Welfare Act 1962, the Minister of Maori Affairs hereby removes from office the following honorary welfare officer

# **SCHEDULE**

Name

Gazette Reference to Appointment

Hirone Te Mokai Wikiriwhi 16 July 1964, No. 43, page 1141.

Dated at Wellington this 18th day of October 1965.

J. R. HANAN, Minister of Maori Affairs.

(M.A. 36/5/7, 36/5/9)

Appointment of the Otago Catchment Board to Control and Manage a Reserve

PURSUANT to the Reserves and Domains Act 1953, the Minister of Lands hereby appoints

the Otago Catchment Board

to control and manage the reserve described in the Schedule hereto, subject to the provisions of the said Act, as a reserve for soil conservation and river control purposes.

# **SCHEDULE**

OTAGO LAND DISTRICT—BRUCE AND CLUTHA COUNTIES SECTION 17, Block III, and Section 9, Block IX, Clutha Survey District, Section 13, Block XI, and Section 15, Block XIII, Inch Clutha Survey District: Area, 61 acres 3 roods 10 perches, more or less (S.O. Plans 13764 and 13765).

Dated at Wellington this 20th day of October 1965.

R. G. GERARD, Minister of Lands.

(L. and S. H.O. 15/244/15; D.O. 8/328)