The under-mentioned officers to be Squadron Leaders, with effect from 21 January 1965:

Squadron Leader (temp.) Rutherford Moncrieff Hancock,

p.s.c. (74211). Squadron Leader (*temp.*) Ronald Chippindale, p.s.c. (74210). Flight Lieutenant Colin William Rudd (75049). Flight Lieutenant John Maxted Terry (75048).

Pilot Officer Angus John Kingsmill (81531) to be Flying Officer, with effect from 6 January 1965.

Cancellation of Commission

The commission of Acting Pilot Officer Bain Stephen McLean (81409) is cancelled, with effect from 22 December 1964.

TECHNICAL BRANCH Promotion

Armament Division

Pilot Officer Gary Lochiel Cameron (77881) to be Flying Officer, with effect from 7 January 1965.

ADMINISTRATIVE AND SUPPLY BRANCH

Promotions

Secretarial Division

The under-mentioned Pilot Officers to be Flying Officers, with effect from 7 January 1965:

Peter James Hughan (74948). Barrie Edward Jameson (74025). Peter William Dyke Coombs (74483).

Transfer to Retired List

Flight Lieutenant John Trevor Denis Dacey (70650) is transferred to the Retired List "A", with effect from 15 January 1965.

Promotions

Equipment Division

The under-mentioned Pilot Officers to be Flying Officers, with effect from 7 January 1965:

William Donald Shotton (76741). William Victor Tangney (71675).

Transfer and Promotion

Acting Pilot Officer Maurice John Williams (81410) is transferred from the General Duties Branch to the Admini-strative and Supply Branch (Equipment Division) in the rank of Pilot Officer, with seniority and effect from 1 January 1965 1965.

Transfer to Retired List

Squadron Leader Lewis Phillip Parry (70643) is transferred to the Retired List "A", with effect from 18 January 1965.

Promotion

Special Duties Division Squadron Leader (temp.) Herbert Kelley Griffiths, p.s.c. (78675) to be Squadron Leader, with effect from 11 December Ì964.

Retirement

Squadron Leader Herbert Keele Horne, M.B.E. (132686) is retired, with effect from 4 February 1965.

TERRITORIAL AIR FORCE

Administrative and Supply Branch

Promotion and Extension of Date of Retirement

Special Duties Division

Flight Lieutenant *(temp.)* Dennis Mervyn Dudley Brown, D.F.C. (130615) to be Flight Lieutenant with effect from 27 April 1959, and his age for retirement to be extended until 31 December 1966.

AIR TRAINING CORPS

Appointment

Lindsay John Priest is granted a commission in the Air Training Corps in the rank of Pilot Officer for a period ending 24 November 1968, with seniority and effect from 25 November 1964.

RESERVE OF AIR FORCE OFFICERS

Extensions of Commissions

The under-mentioned officers are granted extensions of their commissions until the date shown:

Flight Lieutenant Keith Forsyth Rollo (131716), 29 November 1978.

Flying Officers:

Frank Arnold Stephens, M.Sc. (78129), 9 April 1984. William Brent Wilkinson (458256), 5 May 1988.

Transfer

Flight Lieutenant the Rev. Struan Athol Robertson, B.A. (79377) is transferred from the Chaplains Branch, Regular Air Force, to the Reserve of Air Force Officers for a period of four years, with effect from 27 January 1965.

Retirements

The under-mentioned officers are retired, with effect from the date shown:

- Wing Commander Peter Alister Matheson, o.B.E. (132674),
- Wing Commander Peter Alister Matheson, O.B.E. (132674), 10 December 1964.
 Squadron Leader Robert MacDonald Kay, B.COM., F.R.A.N.Z., F.C.I.S. (130311), 15 December 1964.
 Flight Lieutenant Keith Russell Hunter, B.A. (133807), 29 September 1964.
 Flight Lieutenant (temp.) Rowland John Whitby Lindsay (130146), 21 January 1965.
 Flying Officer Robin Otterson Lowe (132817), 19 December 1964.

Cancellation

The notice published in *Gazette*, 3 December 1964, No. 76, page 2258, relating to Flight Lieutenant Keith Russell Hunter is hereby cancelled.

Dated at Wellington this 5th day of February 1965.

DEAN J. EYRE, Minister of Defence. (Air 12/11/9)

Appointment, Promotion, Extensions of Commissions, Trans-fers, Terminations, and Cancellation of Commissions, and Resignations of Officers of the Royal New Zealand Air Force

PURSUANT to section 15 of the Royal New Zealand Air Force Act 1950, His Excellency the Governor-General has been pleased to approve the following appointments, promotion, extensions of commissions, transfers, terminations, and cancel-lation of commissions, and resignations of officers of the Royal New Zealand Air Force.

REGULAR AIR FORCE

GENERAL DUTIES BRANCH

Appointment

Cadet Pilot John Willis Lanham (80612) is granted a permanent commission in the General Duties Branch, Regular Air Force, in the rank of Pilot Officer, with seniority and effect from 17 December 1964.

Transfers to Retired List

The under-mentioned officers are transferred to the Retired st "A", with effect from the date shown: List

Wing Commander Boyd Victor Le Pine, p.s.c. (70037), 30 January 1965. Squadron Leader Donald Benjamin Pollard, A.F.C. (71912), 7 February 1965.

Cancellation of Commission

The commission of Acting Pilot Officer Neil Campbell Stevens (80587) is cancelled, with effect from 19 January 1965.

TECHNICAL BRANCH

Transfers to Retired List

Engineer Division

Flight Lieutenant Alfred Spencer Price, B.E.M. (70510) is transferred to the Retired List "A", with effect from 14 January 1965.

Signals Division

Squadron Leader Laurie Frederick William Mercer (70237) is transferred to the Retired List "A", with effect from 22 January 1965.

WOMEN'S ROYAL NEW ZEALAND AIR FORCE **REGULAR SECTION**

Resignation

Assistant Section Officer Letitia Faith Spring (née Robinson) (79738) resigns her commission, with effect from 19 January Ì965.

AIR TRAINING CORPS

Promotion

Flying Officer George Rex Stiles to be Flight Lieutenant, with effect from 5 February 1965.

Termination of Commission

The commission of Pilot Officer Josephes Duncan Baird is terminated, with effect from 17 December 1964.

RESERVE OF AIR FORCE OFFICERS

Appointment **Appointment**

Flight Lieutenant Kenneth Ewen Stanley Fenwick (130894) to be temporary Squadron Leader, with effect from 27 November 1964.