(a) One councillor, being a member of the Dunedin City Council, to be appointed by that Council;
(b) One councillor, being a registered architect and a member of the Otago Branch of the New Zealand Institute of Architects, to be appointed by that branch:

(c) One councillor, being a registered engineer and a member of the Otago Branch of the New Zealand Institution of Engineers, to be appointed by that branch;

branch;
(d) One councillor, being a member of the Otago Branch of the New Zealand Society of Accountants, to be appointed by that branch;
(e) One councillor, being a principal of one of the schools specified in the Schedule to this order, to be elected by the principals of those schools;
(f) Two councillors to be elected by the associations of employees in local industries;
(g) Two councillors to be elected by the associations of employers in local industries;
(h) One councillor to be appointed by the Otago-Southland Manufacturers' Association;
(i) One councillor to be appointed by the Dunedin Chamber

Manufacturers' Association;

(i) One councillor to be appointed by the Dunedin Chamber of Commerce;

(j) One councillor, being a member of the Federated Farmers of New Zealand (Otago Provincial District) Inc., to be appointed by that body;

(k) One councillor, being a member of the Council of the University of Otago or of the Senate of that University, to be appointed by the Council of the University of Otago;

(l) Five councillors to be co-opted by the Otago Polytechnic Council itself, if and when it thinks fit;

(m) One Councillor, who shall be a woman, to be appointed by the Otago Polytechnic Council at any time while there is no other woman member of the council.

there is no other woman member of the council.

(2) The Minister of Education may, from time to time, by notice in the *Gazette*, amend the list of schools to which paragraph (e) of subclause (1) of this clause applies, and to which the Schedule to this order refers.

3. (1) Subject to the provisions of this clause, the members of the Otago Polytechnic Council shall hold office for a term of three years, but may from time to time be reappointed or reselected.

re-elected.

(2) Except in the case of a casual vacancy, every member shall hold office until the 31st day of May in the third year after the year of his appointment or election, and if on the 31st day of May the appointment or election of his successor has not been notified to the council, he shall continue to hold office until the date on which that appointment are election is notified.

continue to hold office until the date on which that appointment or election is notified.

(3) If any member dies, or resigns his office by writing under his hand addressed to the council or the chairman or the secretary thereof, or is absent without leave from the meetings of the council for three consecutive months, or while holding office becomes for any reason ineligible to remain a member, the casual vacancy so created shall be filled as soon as practicable thereafter by the appointment or election of a member in the manner in which the or election of a member in the manner in which the vacating member was appointed or elected, and the member appointed or elected to fill the vacancy shall hold office for the residue of the term of office of the member whom he replaces

(4) The powers of the council shall not be affected by any vacancy in the membership thereof.

SCHEDULE

Schools referred to in paragraph (e) of clause 2 (1) of this order shall be the following:

nools referred to in paragraph (e) of clause 2 (1 order shall be the following:

Bayfield High School, Dunedin.
Central Southland College, Winton.
Columba College, Dunedin.
Dominican College, Teschemakers.
Dunstan High School, Alexandra.
Gore High School, Gore.
James Hargest High School, Invercargill.
John McGlashan College, Dunedin.
Kaikorai Valley High School, Dunedin.
King Edward Technical High School, Dunedin.
King's High School, Dunedin.
Marist Brothers High School, Invercargill.
Otago Boys' High School, Dunedin.
Otago Girls' High School, Dunedin.
Otago Girls' High School, Dunedin.
St. Catherine's College, Invercargill.
St. Dominic's College, Invercargill.
St. Hilda's Collegiate School, Dunedin.
St. Hilda's College, Oamaru.
St. Paul's High School, Dunedin.
St. Philomena's College, South Dunedin.
St. Thomas' Girls' Secondary School, Oamaru.
South Otago High School, Balclutha.
Southland Boys' High School, Invercargill.
Southland Technical College, Invercargill.
Taieri High School, Mosgiel.
Tokomairiro High School, Milton.
Waitaki Boys' High School, Oamaru.
Waitaki Girls' High School, Oamaru.
Waitaki Girls' High School, Oamaru.

T. J. SHERRARD, Clerk of the Executive Council.

Exemption of Residence Site Licence from the Operation of Part III of the Coal Mines Act 1925: Nelson Land District

BERNARD FERGUSSON, Governor-General

PURSUANT to the provisions of the Coal Mines Act 1925, His Excellency the Governor-General hereby gives the fol-

NOTICE

 $T_{\rm HE}$ residence site licence described in the Schedule hereto is hereby exempted from the operation of Part III of the Coal Mines Act 1925.

SCHEDULE

RESIDENCE site licence No. 590, registered in the office of the Mining Registrar at Westport, on the 5th day of November 1902, and extension of term registered in the said office under No. 11566, on the 5th day of July 1944, affecting all that parcel of land containing 2 roods, more or less, being Section 13A, Town of Granity, situated in Block VI, Ngakawau Survey District, and registered in the Land and Deeds Registry, at Nelson, in Volume 1D, folio 343.

As witness the hand of His Excellency the Governor-General this 1st day of June 1966.

T. P. SHAND, Minister of Mines.

(Mines 11/36/3)

Appointments, Promotions, Transfers, Resignations, and Retirements of Officers of the New Zealand Army

Pursuant to section 16 of the New Zealand Army Act 1950, His Excellency the Governor-General has been pleased to approve of the following appointments, promotions, transfers, resignations, and retirements of officers of the New Zealand

ROYAL REGIMENT OF N.Z. ARTILLERY

Regular Force

Captain G. H. Duncum is transferred to the Territorial Force. Dated 18 May 1966.

Territorial Force

16th Field Regiment, RNZA

Lieutenant (temp. Captain) D. J. Gash to be Captain. Dated 20 February 1966.

Lieutenant Donald James Cameron Malcolm, B.E.M., is posted to the Retired List. Dated 31 March 1966.

4th Medium Battery, RNZA

Lieutenant M. Lovegrove to be temp. Captain. Dated 23 January 1966.

ROYAL N.Z. ARMOURED CORPS

Territorial Force

1st Reconnaissance Squadron (N.Z. Scottish), RNZAC

Lieutenant W. A. Adam, also attached St. Andrew's College Cadets, to be temp. Captain. Dated 9 May 1966.

THE CORPS OF ROYAL N.Z. ENGINEERS

Regular Force

Lieutenant (temp. Captain) B. L. Hayhow to be Captain. Dated 12 June 1965.

Territorial Force

2nd Construction Squadron, RNZE

Captain James Gordon Hadfield is transferred to the Reserve of Officers, General List, The Corps of Royal N.Z. Engineers, in the rank of Captain. Dated 9 August 1965.

3rd Independent Field Squadron, RNZE

Lieutenant (temp. Captain) Donald Hugh Towart, B.E. (ctv.), is transferred to the Reserve of Officers, General List, The Corps of Royal N.Z. Engineers, in the rank of Captain. Dated 15 May 1966.

2nd Lieutenant J. G. Turner to be temp. Lieutenant. Dated 9 April 1966.

ROYAL N.Z. CORPS OF SIGNALS

Regular Force

Captain A. G. Goff, B.A., is re-engaged from 4 February 1966 to 28 February 1967.

Territorial Force

2nd Communication Zone Signal Squadron, RNZSigs

Lieutenant Allan Geoffrey Mills is transferred to the Reserve of Officers, General List, Royal N.Z. Corps of Signals, in the rank of Lieutenant. Dated 21 January 1966.

ROYAL N.Z. INFANTRY REGIMENT

Regular Force

Major W. P. Hughes to be temp. Lieutenant-Colonel. Dated 16 May 1966.