AIR TRAINING CORPS

Appointments

John Ledingham McIlroy is granted a commission in the Air Training Corps in the rank of Pilot Officer for a period ending 9 January 1970, with seniority and effect from 10 January 1966

Murray Victor Kennett is granted a commission in the Air Training Corps in the rank of Acting Pilot Officer, with seniority and effect from 10 January 1966.

Termination of Commission

The commission of Pilot Officer William Buchanan Smith is terminated, with effect from 31 December 1965.

RESERVE OF AIR FORCE OFFICERS

Transfers

Flight Lieutenant Russell Welton Stewart (928300) is transferred from the General Duties Branch, Regular Air Force, to the Reserve of Air Force Officers for a period ending 25 January 1970, with effect from 26 January 1966.

Wing Commander John Rees, B.E.M. (70212) is transferred from the Technical Branch (Engineer Division), Regular Air Force, to the Reserve of Air Force Officers for a period ending 3 January 1970, with effect from 4 January 1966.

Flight Lieutenant Kevin Vincent Edward Burt (77205) is transferred from the Administrative and Supply Branch (Equipment Division), Regular Air Force, to the Reserve of Air Force Officers, for a period ending 23 January 1970, with effect from 24 January 1966.

Retirements

Retirements

The under-mentioned Flight Lieutenants are retired, with effect from the date shown:

Kevin William Free, M.E., M.SC., Ph.D. (326503), 1 January

1966. Herbert James Allard (133954), 13 January 1966. Cyril William Foote (133384), 24 January 1966.

Dated at Wellington this 30th day of January 1966.

DEAN J. EYRE, Minister of Defence.

(Air 12/11/9)

Appointments, Promotions, Cancellation of Commission, and Retirement of Officers of the Royal New Zealand Air Force

Pursuant to section 15 of the Royal New Zealand Air Force Act 1950, His Excellency the Governor-General has been pleased to approve the following appointments, promotions, cancellation of commission, and retirement of officers of the Royal New Zealand Air Force.

REGULAR AIR FORCE

GENERAL DUTIES BRANCH

Appointments

The under-mentioned Officer Cadets are granted short-service commissions in the General Duties Branch, Regular Air Force, for periods ending on the date shown, to be followed by four years in the Reserve of Air Force Officers. They are appointed in the rank of Acting Pilot Officer, with seniority and effect from 17 December 1965.

Graeme James Dalling (82446), 4 July 1971.
Vivian James Dore (82447), 4 July 1971.
Graeme John Drewery (82448), 4 July 1971.
Lindley Jon Robert Francis (82449), 4 July 1971.
Campbell Stanley Butcher (82419), 5 July 1971.
Kevin David Harford (82450), 4 July 1977.
Peter William Philipson (82451), 4 July 1977.
Ian George Brunton (82418), 5 July 1977.
Louis Herbert Ehrler (82420), 5 July 1977.

The under-mentioned Leading Aircraftmen are granted short-service commissions in the General Duties Branch, Regular Air Force, for a period ending 5 July 1977 to be followed by four years in the Reserve of Air Force Officers. They are appointed in the rank of Acting Pilot Officer, with seniority and effect from 17 December 1965:

David Joseph Comber (80333).
Russell Allan Cross (80171).
Peter Joseph Joyce (80334).
Ronald John David Lamont (81267).
Glen Alfred McCullough (79111).
Andrew William Liggins Mitchell (79923).
Neil William Rennie (80645).

Group Captain Douglas Fitzclarence St. George, D.F.C., A.F.C., p.s.c. (70031) to be acting Air Commodore, with effect from 10 January 1966.

Flight Lieutenant Peter Sydney Rule (551601) to be temporary Squadron Leader, with effect from 6 January 1966.

Air Commodore (temp.) Percival Patrick O'Brien, o.B.E., B.COM., j.s.s.c. (70044) to be Air Commodore, with effect from 4 January 1966.

Wing Commander Richard Bruce Bolt, D.F.C., A.F.C., j.s.s.c., p.s.c. (70119) to be Group Captain with seniority from 1 September 1965, with effect from 14 January 1966.

The under-mentioned Flight Lieutenants to be Squadron Leaders, with effect from the date shown:
Kenneth McLean Milne, p.s.c. (75164), 1 December 1965.
John Alan Scrimshaw (77325), 13 December 1965.

Pilot Officer Graeme John Watson (80894) to be Flying Officer, with effect from 29 November 1965.

Cancellation of Commission

The commission of Acting Pilot Officer Colin Rodney Bell (82022) is cancelled, with effect from 25 January 1966.

TECHNICAL BRANCH

Promotion

Engineer Division

Pilot Officer Graham Frankton Smart (78096) to be Flying Officer, with effect from 12 January 1966.

Appointment

Signals Division

Flight Lieutenant Donald Osborne, GRAD.I.E.R.E., p.s.c. (71146) to be temporary Squadron Leader, with effect from 7 December 1965.

ADMINISTRATIVE AND SUPPLY BRANCH

Appointment

Equipment Division

Flight Lieutenant Alan Benjamin Everitt (71326) to be temporary Squadron Leader, with effect from 27 November 1965.

Promotions

The under-mentioned Flying Officers to be Flight Lieutenants, with effect from 10 January 1966:

James Barry Penney (209240). Kevin Vincent Edward Burt (77205). Pilot Officer Maurice John Williams (81410) to be Flying Officer with effect from 1 January 1966.

AIR TRAINING CORPS

A ppointment

William Robertson Shaw is granted a commission in the Air Training Corps in the rank of Acting Pilot Officer, with seniority and effect from 1 December 1965.

Retirement

Flight Lieutenant Thomas Henry Moore is retired, with effect from 31 December 1965.

Dated at Wellington this 26th day of January 1966.

DEAN J. EYRE, Minister of Defence.

(Air 12/11/9)

Chief Justice of New Zealand Appointed

HIS Excellency the Governor-General in the name, and on behalf of Her Majesty the Queen, has been pleased to appoint Herbert Richard Churton Wild, Esquire

of Wellington, Queen's Counsel, to be Chief Justice of New Zealand.

Dated at Wellington this 18th day of January 1966.

K. J. HOLYOAKE, Prime Minister.

Deputy Chairman and Members of New Zealand Wheat Board Appointed

PURSUANT to the Wheat Board Act 1965, His Excellency the Governor-General has been pleased to appoint

Percival Bernard Marshall, C.B.E., of Wellington

to be a member and Deputy Chairman of the New Zealand Wheat Board for a term of three years commencing on the 1st day of February 1966

Sir Walter Mulholland, o.B.E., of Darfield, and Alan Renfrew Simm, of Wellington

to be members of the New Zealand Wheat Board for a term of one year commencing on the 1st day of February 1966

Richard Dan Evans, of Kaiapoi, and Ian Hainsworth Newsome, of Wanganui

to be members of the New Zealand Wheat Board for a term of two years commencing on the 1st day of February 1966

Alfred Charles Bridle, of Wellington, and Graham Alexander Nutt, of Motukarara

to be members of the New Zealand Wheat Board for a term of three years commencing on the 1st day of February 1966. Dated at Wellington this 28th day of January 1966.

J. R. MARSHALL, Minister of Industries and Commerce.