New Year Honours List

His Excellency the Governor-General has announced that the Queen has been graciously pleased, on the occasion of the New Year, to confer the following honours:

CIVIL DIVISION

Knight Commander of the Most Excellent Order of the British Empire (K.B.E.):

Mr Clifford Ulric Plimmer, of Lower Hutt.

Knight Bachelor:

The Honourable Mr Justice George Innes McGregor, of Wellington.
Mr Harvey Turner, C.B.E., of Auckland.

Companion of the Most Distinguished Order of Saint Michael and Saint George (C.M.G.):

The Honourable Henry Greathead Rex Mason, Q.C., of Wellington.
The Right Reverend Alwyn Keith Warren, M.C., of Christ-

church.

Commander of the Most Excellent Order of the British Empire (C.B.E.):

Mr Eoin Robert Garden, of Dunedin.
Dr Wilton Ernest Henley, M.B.E., of Auckland.
Mr Eric William McCallum, of Inaha, Taranaki.
Commissioner Carl Leslie Spencer, c.v.o., New Zealand Police, of Wellington.

Officer of the Most Excellent Order of the British Empire (O.B.E.):

Mr Ernest Philip Aderman, of New Plymouth.
Mr Thomas Harcourt Clarke Caughey, of Auckland.
Mr John Herbert Hall, of Wellington.
Mr William Greig Macartney, of Tai Tapu, Christchurch.
Miss Elizabeth Bamford Orbell, of Rotorua.

Mr Peter Tait, of Napier.

Companion of the Imperial Service Order (I.S.O.):

Mr John Charles Carew Edwards, of Upper Hutt.

Member of the Most Excellent Order of the British Empire (M.B.E.):

Mr Donald Clarebrough Butler, of Whakatane.

Mr Donald Clarebrough Butler, of Whakatane.
Mr Cyril Stewart Davies, of Geraldine.
Mr James Dempsey, of Owhango.
Mrs Betsy Robertson Eyre, of Nelson.
Mr Alfred Charles Lindsay Fooks, of Taupo.
Mr Harold Owen Hills, of Kaiapoi.
Miss Elizabeth Margaret Creighton Little, of Wanganui.
Mr Roy Vincent McLachlan, of Karitane, North Otago.
Mr George Melville, of Milton.
Mrs Gwynneth Nelson, of Dannevirke.
Mrs Dorothy Martha Parfitt, of Greymouth.
Mrs Kathleen Reeve-Smith, of Aria, Te Kuiti.
Mrs Mabel Christina Wachner, of Invercargill.
Mr Thomas Albert Wilson, of Waimate.
Mr Charles Woods, of Palmerston North.
Mr Araitia Tepuretu, of Rarotonga, Cook Islands.

Mr Araitia Tepuretu, of Rarotonga, Cook Islands.

British Empire Medal, for Gallantry (B.E.M.):

Mr Edward Charles Marchant, New Zealand Prison Service, of Auckland. Mr Walter Weir, New Zealand Prison Service, of Auckland.

British Empire Medal (B.E.M.):

Constable George Philp Ogilvie, New Zealand Police, of Cromwell.

Queen's Police Medal for Distinguished Service (Q.P.M.):

Detective Sergeant Garrett Hogan, New Zealand Police, of New Plymouth.

Detective Senior Sergeant Andrew Reid, New Zealand

Police, of Napier.
Assistant Commissioner George Colin Urquhart, B.E.M., New Zealand Police, of Wellington.

Queen's Fire Service Medal, for Distinguished Service:

Chief Fire Officer William George Grey, of Marton. Chief Fire Officer Cecil Alister Nightingale, of Oamaru.

MILITARY DIVISION

Companion of the Most Honourable Order of the Bath (C.B.): Rear Admiral John O'Connell Ross, C.B.E., Royal New Zealand Navy, of Wellington.

Commander of the Most Excellent Order of the British Empire (C.B.E.):

Air Commodore Percival Patrick O'Brien, o.B.E., Royal New Zealand Air Force, of Wellington.

Officer of the Most Excellent Order of the British Empire (O.B.E.):

Surgeon Commander Harman Gilbert Smith, v.R.D., Royal New Zealand Naval Volunteer Reserve, of Auckland.

Lieutenant Colonel James Warne Ardagh, Royal New Zealand Army Medical Corps (Territorial Force), of Christchurch.

Wing Commander Ralph Crowther Jones, Royal New Zealand Air Force, of Woodbourne.

Member of the Most Excellent Order of the British Empire (M.B.E.):

Lieutenant Commander (Special) Arthur Kenneth Griffith, Royal New Zealand Naval Volunteer Reserve, of Nelson. Lieutenant Colonel Frederick Betton Bath, Royal New Zealand Artillery (Regular Force), of Upper Hutt. Captain John Digby Ireland, Royal New Zealand Corps of Signals (Territorial Force), of Taupo.

Warrant Officer First Class Charles William Crotty, Royal

New Zealand Infantry Regiment (Regular Force), serving

in Malaysia.

in Malaysia.
Lieutenant Colonel John Brooke, Royal New Zealand
Infantry Regiment (Regular Force), of Christchurch.
Flying Officer Denis Alexander Gable, Royal New Zealand
Air Force, of Ohakea.
Warrant Officer Vivian John Cosgrave, Royal New Zealand
Air Force, of Auckland.

Air Force Cross (A.F.C.):

Flight Lieutenant John Alfred Hall, Royal New Zealand Air Force, of Auckland.

British Empire Medal (B.E.M.):

Petty Officer Brian Neville Reed, Royal New Zealand Navy,

of Auckland. Chief Visual Instructor Lindsay David Glassey, Royal New

Zealand Navy, of Auckland.

Master at Arms Graeme Mervyn Cooke, Royal New Zealand
Navy, of Auckland.

Navy, of Auckland.
Able Seaman Richard Francis Anderson, Royal New Zealand Navy, of Nelson.
Staff Sergeant George Francis William Lewis, Royal New Zealand Army Service Corps (Regular Force), of Papa-

Staff Sergeant Leslie Mullane, Royal New Zealand Army Ordnance Corps (Regular Force), of Palmerston North. Flight Sergeant William McArthur, Royal New Zealand Air Force, of Te Rapa. Sergeant Kenneth Stanley Piper, Royal New Zealand Air

Force, of Ohakea.
Sergeant Edwin Bertram Wood, Royal New Zealand Air Force, of Whenuapai.

Queen's Commendation for Valuable Services in the Air:

Flight Lieutenant Thomas Sydney Lambert, Royal New Zealand Air Force, of Wigram.

Dated at Wellington this 9th day of January 1967.

D. C. WILLIAMS, Official Secretary.

C. N. JOHNSON, Secretary.

National Roads Board-Notice Concerning U Turns on State Highways

IT is hereby notified that, pursuant to National Roads Board Bylaw 1966, No. 3, the Board has, by resolution carried at its meeting on 15 December 1966, prohibited the turning of vehicles on a roadway from facing or travelling in one direction to facing or travelling in the opposite direction on those portions of State Highway No. 2 described in the Schedule hereto.

SCHEDULE

No. 2 State Highway:

1. In the Borough of Upper Hutt, between King Street and

2. Between the Petone Interchange and Ngauranga.

Dated at Wellington this 20th day of December 1966.

(N.R, 62/33/9B)

Bylaw Regulating the Turning of Vehicles on a Roadway from Facing or Travelling in One Direction to Facing or Travelling in the Opposite Direction

PURSUANT to the Transport Act 1962 and the National Roads Act 1953 and to all other powers and authorities in anywise enabling it, the National Roads Board hereby makes the following bylaw.

BYLAW

1. This bylaw may be cited as National Roads Board ylaw 1966, No. 3.
2. This bylaw shall come into force on the day of its Bylaw 1966,

2. This bylaw shall come into force on the day of its publication in the Gazette.

3. In this bylaw "vehicle" has the meaning assigned to it in the Transport Act 1962.

4. The National Roads Board may from time to time by resolution, prohibit the turning of vehicles on a State highway from facing or travelling in one direction to facing or travelling in the opposite direction, on such specified sections of State highways as the National Roads Board may notify in the Gazette. in the Gazette.