Closely Populated Localities and Limited Speed Zones Extended

PURSUANT to the Transport Act 1962, the Minister of Transport hereby gives notice as follows:

hereby gives notice as follows:

1. The Warrant, under section 36 of the Transport Act 1949, dated the 3rd day of October 1956†, and the Warrant, under section 36 of the Transport Act 1949 and regulation 27 of the Traffic Regulations 1956\*, dated the 16th day of March 1959‡, which relate to Wanaka, in Lake County, are hereby revoked.

2. The roads specified in the First Schedule hereto are hereby declared to be closely populated localities for the purposes of section 52 of the Transport Act 1962.

3. The roads specified in the Second Schedule hereto are hereby declared to be limited speed zones for the purposes of the Traffic Regulations 1956\*.

4. The roads specified in the Third Schedule hereto are

of the Traffic Regulations 1956\*.

4. The roads specified in the Third Schedule hereto are hereby declared to be closely populated localities for the purposes of section 52 of the Transport Act 1962, to the intent that a person driving any motor vehicle thereon at any time during the period commencing with the 20th day of December each year and ending with the 10th day of February in the next ensuing year, and the period commencing with the Thursday preceding Easter and ending with the Tuesday following Easter, shall be subject to the maximum speed limit of 30 miles an hour fixed by the said section.

5. The roads specified in the Third Schedule hereto are hereby declared to be limited speed zones for the purposes of regulation 27 of the Traffic Regulations 1956\*, to the intent that a person driving any motor vehicle thereon during the period commencing with the 11th day of February each year and ending with the Wednesday preceding Easter, and the period commencing with the Wednesday following Easter each year and ending with the 19th day of December, shall be subject to the speed limitation fixed by the said regulation.

#### FIRST SCHEDULE

SITUATED within Lake County, at Wanaka:

No. 89 State Highway (Queenstown-Wanaka) (from Hedditch Street to Dungarvon Street).

Helwick Street (from the No. 89 (Queenstown-Wanaka) to Dunmore Street).

89 State Highway

### SECOND SCHEDULE

SITUATED within Lake County, at Wanaka:

No. 89 State Highway (Queenstown-Wanaka) (from Dungarvon Street to the Wanaka - Mt. Aspiring Road).

Wanaka - Mt. Aspiring Road (from the No. 89 State Highway (Queenstown-Wanaka) to a point 34 chains measured south-westerly generally along the said road from the said highway).

## THIRD SCHEDULE

SITUATED within Lake County, at Wanaka:

No. 89 State Highway (Queenstown-Wanaka) (from the Wanaka-Mt. Aspiring Road to a point 4 chains measured south-easterly generally along the said highway from Stratford

Terrace).
Aspiring Terrace, Aubrey Road (from Lakeside Road to Totara Terrace), Beaumont Street, Beech Street, Brownston Street, Chalmers Street, Connor Street, Dungarvon Street, Dunmore Street, Eely Point Road, Hedditch Street, Helwick Street (from Dunmore Street to Warren Street), Lakeside Road, Lindsay Place, Lismore Street, Manuka Crescent, Matai Road, Plantation Road (from Suburb Road to Totara Terrace), Roche Street, Russell Street, Stone Street, Stratford Terrace, Suburb Road (from Aubrey Road to Lakeside Road), Tenby Street, Totara Terrace, Upton Street, Youghal Street, Wanaka Clutha River Road, Warren Street, Wiley Road, Winders Street Winders Street.

Dated at Wellington this 23rd day of February 1967.

J. B. GORDON, Minister of Transport.

† Gazette, No. 55, dated 11 October 1956, Vol. III, p. 1396 † Gazette, No. 17, dated 19 March 1959, Vol. I, p. 364 \*S.R. 1956/217 (Reprinted with Amendments Nos. 1 to 8: S.R. 1963/157)

S.K. 1963/15/)
Amendment No. 9: S.R. 1963/224
Amendment No. 10: S.R. 1964/85
Amendment No. 11: S.R. 1964/119
Amendment No. 12: S.R. 1964/208
Amendment No. 13: S.R. 1965/21
Amendment No. 14: S.R. 1966/126

(TT. 9/1/103).

Revoking Appointment of, and Appointing Licensing Authorities for, Issue of Heavy Traffic Licenses

PURSUANT to subclause (2) of regulation 18 of the Motor Vehicle Taxation Regulations 1966\*, the Minister of Transport hereby revokes these parts of the Warrants dated 2 May 1954† and 1 August 1966‡, appointing the local authorities described in column 1 of the First Schedule as the licensing authorities for the purpose of collecting heavy traffic fees due

under the said regulations for the district of the local authority and for such areas as are described in column 2 of the First Schedule hereto, and hereby appoints the local authorities described in column 1 of the Second Schedule hereto to be the licensing authorities for the purpose of collecting heavy traffic fees due under the said regulations for the district of the respective local authority and for such other area or areas as are described in Column 2 of the Second Schedule opposite the respective name of the said local authority:

Provided that the Commissioner of Transport shall be the licensing authority in the case of all heavy motor vehicles owned by the Crown, as provided by subclause (1) of the said regulation.

### FIRST SCHEDULE

Column 1

Column 2

Christchurch City Council Halswell

Ialswell County, Heathcote County, Malvern County, Mount Herbert County, Oxford County, Selwyn County, Springs County, Tawera County, Kaiapoi Borough, Lyttelton Borough, Riccarton Borough, Leeston Fietrict Southbridge Riccarton Borou Town District, Town District.

Ellesmere County Council Paparua County Council Rangiora County Council

Paparua County.
Paparua County.
Ashley County, Eyre County, Kowai County.
Waimairi County.

Waimairi County Council

### SECOND SCHEDULE

Column 1

Christchurch City Council Halswell

Ialswell County, Heathcote County, Malvern County, Mount Herbert County, Oxford County, Selwyn County, Springs County, Tawera County, Kaiapoi Borough, Lyttelton Borough, Riccarton Borough, Leeston District, Southbridge Town District.

Ellesmere County Council Kowai County Council Paparua County Council Rangiora County Council Waimairi County Council

Ellesmere County.
Ashley County, Kowai County.
Paparua County. Eyre County. Waimairi County.

Dated at Wellington this 23rd day of February 1967.

J. B. GORDON, Minister of Transport.

\*S.R. 1966/80

†Gazette, No. 28, 6 May 1954, Vol. II, p. 698 ‡Gazette, No. 46, 4 August 1966, Vol. II, p. 1231 (TT. 8/3/1)

# Roads Excluded from Speed Limitation

Pursuant to the Transport Act 1962, the Minister of Transport hereby gives notice as follows:

1. The Warrant, under section 3 of the Motor Vehicles Amendment Act 1936, dated the 23rd day of November 1938\*, and the Warrant, under section 52 of the Transport Act 1962, dated the 30th day of June 1966†, which relate to Whakatane Borough, are hereby revoked.

2. The roads specified in the Schedule hereto are hereby excluded from the limitation as to speed imposed by section 52 of the Transport Act 1962.

### SCHEDULE

SITUATED within Whakatane Borough:

No. 2 State Highway (Pokeno-Wellington via Gisborne) (from a point 2 chains measured southerly generally along the said highway from Goulstone Road to the southern boundary of Whakatane Borough).

Arawa Road (from Bridge Street to No. 2 State Highway (Pokeno-Wellington via Gisborne)).

Carling Road.

Mokorua Road (from a point 12 chains measured easterly generally along the said road from Valley Road to Wainui

Wainui Road (from Wedgwood Place to the eastern boundary of Whakatane Borough).

Dated at Wellington this 23rd day of February 1967.

J. B. GORDON, Minister of Transport. \*Gazette, No. 84, dated 24 November 1938, Vol. III, p. 2426 †Gazette, No. 41, dated 7 July 1966, Vol. II, p. 1067 (TT. 9/1/289)