Surgeon Lieutenant (D) A. N. S. Stokes, to be transferred to permanent list of Dental Officers, to date 28 September 1967, with present rank and seniority.

Acting Lieutenant D. J. F. McNiel, confirmed in rank of Lieutenant, to date 16 March 1967, with seniority of 16 October 1963.

Midshipman J. E. R. Granville, promoted to rank of Acting Sub-Lieutenant, and reappointed, to date 1 March 1967.

Chaplain P. Cronin, engagement extended to 17 March 1973.

Dated at Wellington this 20th day of June 1967. DAVID S. THOMSON, Minister of Defence.

Appointments, Promotions, Extension of Age for Retirement, Transfer., Amendment, Cancellation of Commission, Retire-ment, and Resignation of Officers of the Royal New Zealand Air Force.

PURSUANT to section 15 of the Royal New Zealand Air Force Act 1950, His Excellency the Governor-General has been pleased to approve the following appointments, promotions, extension of age for retirement, transfers, amendment, cancella-tion of commission, retirement, and resignation of officers of the Bound New Zealand Air Force of the Royal New Zealand Air Force.

REGULAR AIR FORCE

GENERAL DUTIES BRANCH

Appointment

Flight Lieutenant Alan Dyer (326435) is granted a perman-ent commission in the General Duties Branch, Regular Air Force, with effect from 21 December 1966.

Promotions

The under-mentioned Pilot Officers to be Flying Officers, with effect from 3 June 1967:

ith effect from 3 June 1967: Anthony James Menzies (78876). Trevor Keith Butler (82012). Colin Pitts Harris (82019). Graeme Trevor Jackson (82020). Kenneth James Wells (81898). Robert Charles Andrews (79521). Ian Michael St John Filsell (81960). David Malcolm Bevan (82009). Dennis White (81968). Barrie Robyn Mandival Moran (81897). Bruce Wallace Donnelly (81959). David Eric Geddes (81900). George David Jensen (81964).

George David Jensen (81964).

Transfer to Retired List

Flight Lieutenant John Alfred Hall, A.F.C. (71638) is trans-ferred to the Retired List "A", with effect from 28 June 1967. Cancellation of Commission

The short-service commission of Acting Pilot Officer Martin John Rogers (82806) is cancelled, with effect from 23 May 1967.

CHAPLAIN'S BRANCH

Amendment

The notice published in *Gazette*, 8 October 1959, No. 61, page 1423, relating to Squadron Leader the Rev. Wallace Harford (78128) is hereby amended to read "Squadron Leader the Rev. Wallace Harford (78128) is granted an extension of his commission and retiring age, for a period to expire on 31 December 1967."

Administrative and Supply Branch

Appointment

Secretarial Division

Flight Lieutenant Thomas Michael Strang (75115) is granted a permanent commission in the Administrative and Supply Branch (Secretarial Division), with effect from 21 December 1966.

TERRITORIAL AIR FORCE

Administrative and Supply Branch

Extension of Age for Retirement

Special Duties Division

The age for retirement of Flight Lieutenant Dennis Mervyn Dudley Brown, D.F.C. (130615) is further extended until 25 June 1968.

RESERVE OF AIR FORCE OFFICERS

Transfer

Flight Lieutenant John Niven, M.B.E. (70407) is transferred from the Technical Branch (Engineer Division) Regular Air Force, to the Reserve of Air Force Officers for a period ending 22 May 1971, with effect from 23 May 1967.

Retirement

Flying Officer Leslie Frank Kendall (130020) is retired, with effect from 18 May 1967.

Resignation

Flight Lieutenant the Rev. Norman Bruce Bicknell (80713) resigns his commission, with effect from 16 June 1967.

AIR TRAINING CORPS

Appointment

Denis Haunui Royal is granted a commission in the Air Training Corps in the rank of Pilot Officer for a period ending 6 May 1971, with seniority and effect from 7 May 1967.

Promotions

Flying Officer Evan Cross Giblin, B.AGR.SC., to be Flight Lieutenant, with effect from 1 May 1967. Flying Officer Harold Searle Johnstone to be Flight Lieu-tenant, with effect from 3 May 1967.

WOMEN'S ROYAL NEW ZEALAND AIR FORCE

REGULAR SECTION

A ppointment

Shirley Carol Wheatley (83089) is granted a commission in the Women's Royal New Zealand Air Force for a period ending 9 May 1970, in the rank of Assistant Section Officer, with seniority and effect from 10 May 1967.

Dated at Wellington this 28th day of June 1967.

DAVID S. THOMSON, Minister of Defence. (Air 12/11/9)

Stipendiary Magistrate Appointed to Exercise Jurisdiction in the Children's Court

PURSUANT to section 27 of the Child Welfare Act 1925, His Excellency the Governor-General has been pleased to appoint Evan Sinclair Tuckwell, Esquire, Stipendiary Magistrate,

to exercise jurisdiction in the Children's Court established at Hamilton.

Dated at Wellington this 15th day of June 1967.

J. R. HANAN, Minister of Justice. (J. 10/12/153)

Stipendiary Magistrate Appointed to Exercise Jurisdiction in the Children's Court

PURSUANT to section 27 of the Child Welfare Act 1925, His Excellency the Governor-General has been pleased to appoint William McAlevey, Esquire, Stipendiary Magistrate,

to exercise jurisdiction in the Children's Court established at Wellington.

Dated at Wellington this 16th day of June 1967.

J. R. HANAN, Minister of Justice.

Stipendiary Magistrate Appointed

PURSUANT to section 5 of the Magistrates' Courts Act 1947, His Excellency the Governor-General has been pleased to appoint

Evan Sinclair Tuckwell, Esquire,

of Wellington, barrister and solicitor, to be a Stipendiary Magistrate, to exercise criminal and civil jurisdiction within New Zealand.

Dated at Wellington this 15th day of June 1967.

J. R. HANAN, Minister of Justice. (J. 10/12/153)

Stipendiary Magistrate Appointed

PURSUANT to section 5 of the Magistrates' Courts Act 1947, His Excellency the Governor-General has been pleased to appoint

William McAlevey, Esquire,

of Dunedin, barrister and solicitor, to be a Stipendiary Magistrate, to exercise criminal and civil jurisdiction within New Zealand.

Dated at Wellington this 16th day of June 1967.

J. R. HANAN, Minister of Justice.

Justices of the Peace Appointed

PURSUANT to the Justices of the Peace Act 1957, His Excellency the Governor-General has been pleased to appoint the following persons to be Justices of the Peace for New Zealand:

- Anderson, William John, 92 Gaulfield Street, Ranfurly.
 Appleton, Ian Elliott, Hicks Bay, East Coast.
 Armstrong, William Alexander, Lauder R.D., Omakau, Central Otago.
 Barnes, James George, 11 Cavell Street, Dunedin.
 Becker, William John, Oturehua, Central Otago.
 Beckett, Jack Randal, 70 Braid Road, St. Andrews, Hamilton.
 Blakemore, Mervyn Francis, "Comar", 51 Tengawai Road, Pleasant Point, Timaru.
 Bookman, Percy. 18 Maungakiekie Avenue. Greenlane.
- Bookman, Percy, 18 Maungakiekie Avenue, Greenlane, Auckland 5.