Appointments, Promotions, and Terminations of Appointment in the Royal New Zealand Navy

PURSUANT to the Navy Act 1954, His Excellency the Governor-General has approved the following appointments, promotions, and terminations of appointment in the Royal New Zealand Navy.

Captain L. G. Carr, D.S.C., promoted to rank of Commodore and reappointed, to date 18 May 1967.

Captain J. P. S. Vallant, promoted to rank of Commodore, with effect from 18 May 1967.

Captain L. B. Carey, promoted to rank of Commodore, with effect from 18 May 1967.

Lieutenant R. T. Feary, released (age) and placed on the Retired List, to date 24 June 1967.

Lieutenant V. W. Fifield, to be granted acting rank of Lieutenant Commander whilst holding post, to date 21 August 1967.

Temporary Surgeon Lieutenant A. J. Newson, to be released (Short Service Engagement completed), to date 31 July 1967. Sub-Lieutenant W. F. Harman, to be released (appointment terminated) and placed on the Retired List, to date 2 August 1967.

Acting Sub-Lieutenant L. J. Mitchell, transferred to seaman specialisation on the Supplementary List in existing rank and seniority and reappointed, to date 29 May 1967.

Midshipman K. J. Robertson, promoted to rank of Acting Sub-Lieutenant, to date 1 April 1967 with seniority of 1 January 1967, and reappointed.

Derrick Anthony Cootes (NZ 15368), Peta Pokai (NZ 15839), and Robert Denis Secker (NZ 14981), promoted to rank of Acting Sub-Lieutenant, to date 10 July 1967.

John Stuart Melrose entered in rank of Acting Instructor Lieutenant under five-year Short Service Commission, to date 10 July 1967.

Dated at Wellington this 26th day of July 1967.

DAVID S. THOMSON, Minister of Defence.

Extension of Age for Retirement, Promotions, Extension of Commission and Date of Retirement, Resignation, and Retirement of Officers of the Royal New Zealand Air Force

PURSUANT to section 15 of the Royal New Zealand Air Force Act 1950, His Excellency the Governor-General has been pleased to approve the following extension of age for retirement, promotions, extension of commission and date of retirement, resignation, and retirement of Officers of the Royal New Zealand Air Force New Zealand Air Force.

REGULAR AIR FORCE

TECHNICAL BRANCH

Extension of Age for Retirement

Engineer Branch

Squadron Leader Douglas Haig McGowan (70561) is granted an extension of his age for retirement until 31 December 1969.

ADMINISTRATIVE AND SUPPLY BRANCH

Promotions

Secretarial Division

Pilot Officer Murray Victor Kennett (82802) to be Flying Officer, with effect from 4 July 1967.

Equipment Division

Flight Lieutenant Harold Trevor McKubre, B.A., DIP.ED. (71315) to be Squadron Leader with seniority from 30 May 1966, with effect from 1 March 1967.
Flight Lieutenant Derk Pieter Rodenburg (77259) to be Squadron Leader with seniority from 1 October 1966, with effect from 1 March 1967.
Squadron Leader (temp.) Ernest Frederick Fraser, B.E.M. (71172) to be Squadron Leader with seniority from 3 November 1966, with effect from 1 March 1967.
Squadron Leader (temp.) Edward Charles Rumble (70411) to be Squadron Leader with seniority from 4 November 1966, with effect from 1 March 1967.
Squadron Leader (temp.) Michael David Reid, A.N.Z.I.M. (75241) to be Squadron Leader with seniority from 9 January 1967, with effect from 1 March 1967.
Squadron Leader (temp.) Arnold Thomas Roberts (74375) to be Squadron Leader, with seniority and effect from 1 March 1967. Flight Lieutenant Harold Trevor McKubre, B.A., DIP.ED.

1967.

Extension of Commission and Date of Retirement Special Duties Division

Squadron Leader Donald George MacNab, M.C., D.C.M. (78677) is granted an extension of his commission and age for retirement until 15 July 1969.

RESERVE OF AIR FORCE OFFICERS

Retirements

The under-mentioned officers are retired, with effect from the dates shown:

Squadron Leader Cecil William Franks, M.B.E. (130142), 12 July 1967.

Flight Lieutenant William Ian Axford, M.E., M.SC., Ph.D. (568299), 29 May 1967.
Flight Lieutenant Edward Hindmarsh Garrick (133397), 20

June 1967.

AIR TRAINING CORPS

Resignation

Pilot Officer Lindsay John Priest resigns his commission with effect from 15 July 1967.

WOMEN'S ROYAL NEW ZEALAND AIR FORCE Promotion

Assistant Section Officer Susan Joy Kent (82748) to be Section Officer, with effect from 5 July 1967.

Dated at Wellington this 1st day of August 1967.

DAVID S. THOMSON, Minister of Defence. (Air 12/11/9)

Cancellation of Commission, Appointments, Extensions of Commissions, Promotion, and Retirements of Officers of the Royal New Zealand Air Force

PURSUANT to section 15 of the Royal New Zealand Air Force Act 1950, His Excellency the Governor-General has been pleased to approve the following cancellation of commission, appointments, extensions of commissions, promotion, and retirements of Officers of the Royal New Zealand Air Force.

REGULAR AIR FORCE

GENERAL DUTIES BRANCH

Cancellation of Commission

The short-service commission of Flight Lieutenant Keith James Green (80557) is cancelled, with effect from 10 July

A ppointments

Flight Lieutenant Keith James Green (80557) is granted a temporary commission in the General Duties Branch, Regular Air Force, for a period ending 31 December 1967, to be followed by four years in the Reserve of Air Force Officers, with seniority and effect from 11 July 1967.

Officer Cadet Stephen Caldwell Orr (82937) is granted short-service commission in the General Duties Branch, a short-service commission in the General Duties Branch, Regular Air Force, for a period ending 22 June 1977, to be followed by four years in the Reserve of Air Force Officers. He is appointed in the rank of Acting Pilot Officer, with seniority and effect from 23 June 1967.

Leading Aircraftman Gerald Turton Pringle (81526) is granted a short-service commission in the General Duties Branch, Regular Air Force, for a period ending 22 June 1979, to be followed by four years in the Reserve of Air Force Officers. He is appointed in the rank of Acting Pilot Officer, with seniority and effect from 23 June 1967.

Extensions of Commissions

Flight Lieutenant Kenneth Leslie Thorn (76080) is granted an extension of his commission until 18 December 1971, to be followed by four years in the Reserve of Air Force Officers.

Flying Officer James Jopp Feehly (211538) is granted an extension of his commission until 31 December 1977, to be followed by four years in the Reserve of Air Force Officers.

Flying Officer Alistair Richard Mills (80863) is granted an extension of his commission until 9 July 1970, to be followed by four years in the Reserve of Air Force Officers.

TECHNICAL BRANCH

Promotion

Engineer Division

Flying Officer Donald Herman Webb (131658) to be Flight Lieutenant, with effect from 7 July 1967.

RESERVE OF AIR FORCE OFFICERS

Retirements

The under-mentioned officers are retired, with effect from the date shown:

Squadron Leader Jack Sandford Nelson (132474), 28 June 1967.

June 1907.
Squadron Leader Geoffrey Stanton Sharp, D.S.O., B.A. (130332), 8 July 1967.
Flight Lieutenant John Murray, A.R.A.N.Z. (132194), 10
July 1967.
Flight Lieutenant (temp.) John Keith Somervell, M.A. (133333), 8 July 1967.
Flight Officer Edgar Ernest William Clark (122569) 9 July Pilot Officer Edgar Ernest William Clark (132568), 8 July

Dated at Wellington this 1st day of August 1967.

DAVID S. THOMSON, Minister of Defence.

(Air 12/11/9)