North Canterbury Bobby Calf Pool Committee

Kenneth James Wyllie, Colin Geoffrey Wheeler, Samuel Rodger Bellamey, John Raymond Pawsey, Thomas Henry Turner, George William Farquhar, Morrice Bristow, and Patrick Joseph O'Laughlan.

Ohoka and District Bobby Calf Pool Committee

Lawthor Henry Melville Johnson, Sydney Leona Stephens, George Arnold Armstrong, Selwyn McAlister Millar, Alexander James McCullum, Ivan Douglas Watts, and Colin Herbert Tyson.

Ohura Valley Bobby Calf Pool Committee

John Rosevear, William Martin Allan Morrissey, Maurice How, Norma Helen How, and Alexander Walter Fife.

Omata-Warea Bobby Calf Pool Committee

Barclay Charles Kurth,
Michael John Goodin,
Arthur Douglas Haylock,
Douglas Wickham Redshaw,
Howard Mat Burmester,
Hubert Cyril Paul,
Hector Leonard Coxhead, and
Stanley James Sole.

Piako Federated Bobby Calf Pool Committee

James Thomas Finnegan, Richard Maurice Burke, Richard Maurice Burke, Peter James Davis, Donald Petrie Malcolm, Gordon Harold Galloway, Robert Scott Vickers, Clarence Roy Billington, Clifford Lewis Mapp, and Edward Pat Milliken.

Paeroa Bobby Calf Pool Committee

Horace Cliphane Jackson, Selwyn George Wood, Arthur Alexander Reid, Arthur Whitford Stephen Thompson, George Wallace Buchanan, John Marsden Hill, and Warren Eric French.

Pio Pio - Aria Bobby Calf Pool Committee

Glencil George Booth, Ian Rendall, Han Kendan;
William Owen Evans,
Frederick Noel Furniss,
Raymond Stanley Goddard,
Ronald Acton Summers,
William Tatham, and
Michael Warriner.

Putaruru Bobby Calf Pool Committee

Francis Colin Wood, James Thompson Graham, Raould Thomas Le Lievre, Raould Thomas Le Lievre, Abraham Richardson, Joseph Edwin Marr, Claude Leslie Garner, Frederick William Peters, Edmond John White, Alfred Phillip Harvey, and William Henry Thodey.

Rongotea-Bulls Bobby Calf Pool Committee

Jack Colin McKenzie Scott, Jack William Dixon, Jack William Dixon, Leslie Herbert Bidlake, Edward Ernest Johns, Graham Edward Fieldhouse, Keith Gilbert Lumsden, Kenyon Kingsmill Moore, Charles Joseph Mullin, Roy Henry Charles Scott, and Peter Stuart Young.

Ruawai Bobby Calf Pool Committee

Charles Arthur Edmonson, Charles Arthur Edmonson, Rex Neil Preston, Raymond Vern Wallace, George Croydon Biggar, Charles Stanford Bellamy, Cavell David Westlake, and Colin McCullough. Southland Bobby Calf Pool Committee

Ian James Dickie, Henry David Norman, Leonard Hugh Muirhead, Ronald John Hall, Gerald O'Neill, Ian Bernard Gordon Brown, Ian Freeman Paterson, Roderick John Gray, and William Owen Williams.

Takaka Bobby Calf Pool Committee

Geoffrey John Fraser, Geoffrey John Fraser,
Kenneth Carol Frater,
Trevor Carlysle King,
Malcolm Charles Pettman,
Cyril Walker,
Clement Brotherton Mead, and Ian George Sixtus

Tauhei Bobby Calf Pool Committee Frederick John Gardner, vo William Seddon Harris, Herbert John Nickolas, Mark Leeson,
John Oswald Toner,
Francis James Nicholson, and
Henry George Kieth.

Wangaehu Bobby Calf Pool Committee Geoffrey Pemberton Anderson, Gordon Howes Bishop, Alexander Charles Budge, Robert Alexander Charteris, Humphrey O'Leary, William Arthur Glasgow, Leonard Keith Monk, and Victor Bayly Haworth.

Decision of the Indecent Publications Tribunal

In the matter of the Indecent Publications Act 1963 and in the matter of an application by the Comptroller of Customs in respect of the book *Naked Lunch* by William S. Burroughs of The Grove Press, New York, U.S.A.

DECISION OF THE TRIBUNAL

THE book is a "paper back" which has sold widely in America.
We are prepared to concede that the purpose of the author is a sincere one—his exploration of the foul and obscene in an effort to expose the evils of drug peddling and addition may be valid

obscene in an effort to expose the evils of drug peddling and addiction may be valid.

Nevertheless we find it has been organised with such gusto and so much revelling in sheer filth as to constitute an affront to decency. Whatever its literary value we consider that it is ruled out from indiscriminate circulation by considerations of the public interest. We hold the opinion that a book so revolting as this requires a great deal of positive evidence to show that there is some community value before it can be accepted. We accordingly hold it to be indecent.

K. M. GRESSON, Chairman.

17 November 1967.

Decision of the Indecent Publications Tribunal

In the matter of the Indecent Publications Act 1963 and in the matter of an application by the Comptroller of Customs for a decision in respect of a book—The Story of O by Pauline Reage of The Grove Press, New York, U.S.A.

DECISION OF THE TRIBUNAL

DECISION OF THE TRIBUNAL

The book is in a hard back edition with a cover note that the sale of the book is limited to adults.

We are aware that The Story of O has been defended by critics of perception and ability. It is in the tradition of de Sade and as has been pointed out stresses the "bondage" theme between the sadistically dominant male and the maso-chistic submissive female. The book however exploits this theme so immoderately that it cannot be approved for general circulation. It is a work of virtuosity rather than of art and we do not think its circulation should be approved more widely than among professional psychiatrists and we so classify it accordingly.

K. M. GRESSON, Chairman. K. M. GRESSON, Chairman.

17 November 1967.

Unclaimed Property-Notice of Election by the Public Trustee to Become Manager

WHEREAS, after due inquiry, it is not known where Robert Featherstone, formerly of Ngaruawahia, farm hand, the owner of the property mentioned in the Schedule hereto, is, or whether he is alive or dead: And whereas the gross value (as estimated by the Public Trustee) of that property does not exceed \$4,000 and the Public Trustee is satisfied