Exempting Land in the Nelson Land District From the Operation of Part III of the Coal Mines Act 1925

ARTHUR PORRITT, Governor-General

PURSUANT to the Coal Mines Act 1925, His Excellency the Governor-General hereby gives the following notice.

NOTICE

THE notice of exemption of land from the operation of Part III, Coal Mines Act 1925 given on the 15th day of February 1967 and published on page 306 of the *Gazette* of 2 March 1967, is hereby revoked.

The land described in the Schedule hereto is hereby exempted from the operation of Part III of the Coal Mines Act 1925.

SCHEDULE

ALL that area of land in the Nelson Land District containing 11 acres and 28.4 perches, more or less, being Sections 1228 to 1257 inclusive and 1289 to 1313 inclusive, Town of Reefton, as the same is more particularly delineated on the plan S.O. 9594 deposited in the office of the Mines Department at Wellington, and thereon coloured red.

As witness the hand of His Excellency the Governor-General this 1st day of February 1968.

T. P. SHAND, Minister of Mines.

(Mines 11/15)

Notice of Air to Air Firing Ranges

It is hereby notified that air to air firing will take place from time to time in the areas described in the First and Second Schedules hereto.

The use of these areas will be authorised on each occasion by the Commanding Officer, RNZAF Base, Ohakea.

FIRST SCHEDULE

A low-altitude range off the west coast of the North Island, adjacent to the estuary of the Rangitikei River, bounded by the following co-ordinates:

40° 05′ 00″ S	175° 04′ 00″ E
40° 05′ 00″ S	175° 55′ 00″ E
40° 34′ 00″ S	174° 58′ 00″ E
40° 34′ 00″ S	175° 07′ 00″ E

Vertical limits: Sea level to 8,000 feet.

SECOND SCHEDULE

A high-altitude range located off the east coast of the North Island, adjacent to Cape Turnagain, bounded by the following co-ordinates:

41° 08′ 00″ S	176° 35′ 00″ E
40° 00′ 00″ S	177° 30′ 00″ E
40° 20′ 40″ S	178° 15′ 00″ E
41° 29′ 00″ S	177° 20′ 00″ E

Vertical limits: Sea level to 40,000 feet.

Dated at Wellington this 6th day of February 1968.

DAVID S. THOMSON, Minister of Defence.

(Air 8/11/1)

Appointments, Promotions, Extensions of Commissions, Extension of Commission and Date of Retirement, Transfers, Cancellation of Commission, and Retirements of Officers of the Royal New Zealand Air Force

Pursuant to section 15 of the Royal New Zealand Air Force Act 1950, His Excellency the Governor-General has been pleased to approve the following appointments, promotions, extensions of commissions, extension of commission and date of retirement, transfers, cancellation of commission, and retirements of officers of the Royal New Zealand Air Force.

REGULAR AIR FORCE

GENERAL DUTIES BRANCH

Appointments

Squadron Leader Geoffrey Allen Parkinson, p.s.c. (327877), is granted a permanent commission in the General Duties Branch, Regular Air Force, with effect from 21 December

Acting Wing Commander Douglas Murray Dallison (79214) to be temporary Wing Commander, with effect from 23 November 1967.

The under-mentioned Officer Cadets are granted short-service commissions in the General Duties Branch, Regular Air Force, for a period ending on 12 January 1977 to be followed by four years in the Reserve of Air Force Officers. They are appointed in the rank of Acting Pilot Officer, with effect from 15 December 1967:

Barry William Forster (82017). Edwin Dale Webb (81971).

Promotions

Squadron Leader Brian Stanley-Hunt, A.F.C., j.s.s.c., C.F.S. (327103), to be Wing Commander, with effect from 8 January

The under-mentioned Flying Officers to be Flight Lieutenants, with effect from the dates shown:

Robert Lacon Randal (716974), 1 August 1967. Raymond Turner (75893), 1 August 1967. Thomas Kenneth David Reynish (37638), 1 August 1967. William George Laing (72340), 1 August 1967. Angus John Kingsmill (81531), 6 January 1968. James Douglas McHerron (79209), 7 January 1968. John Walter Pryor, B.Sc. (345841), 12 January 1968.

Flying Officer Kenneth Ross Forbes Lamb (80043) to be Flight Lieutenant with seniority from 24 May 1966, with effect from 17 December 1967.

Extension of Commission

Flight Lieutenant Michael Maurice Spring (80020) is granted an extension of his commission until 9 January 1974, to be followed by four years in the Reserve of Air Force Officers.

TECHNICAL BBANCH

Promotions

Engineer Division

The under-mentioned Flying Officers to be Flight Lieutenants, with effect from 7 January 1968:

Richard Edward Bright (78099). Peter Broad Thorpe (79409). Sean Christopher Robinson (77277). Raymond Leslie Dalkie (75005).

Appointment and Promotion

Signals Division

Flight Lieutenant Alec Fraser Johnston (71298) to be acting Squadron Leader, with effect from 1 December 1967, and Squadron Leader, with effect from 31 December 1967.

Promotions

The under-mentioned Flying Officers to be Flight Lieutenants, with effect from 7 January 1968:

Charles Keith Smith (75639). John Henry Hardwick (75006).

Appointment

Armament Division

Warrant Officer Donald Bruce Dalzell (71040) is granted a short-service commission in the Technical Branch (Armament Division), Regular Air Force, for a period ending 16 October 1972 to be followed by four years in the Reserve of Air Force Officers. He is appointed in the rank of Flight Lieutenant with seniority from 17 October 1966, with effect from 17 October 1967.

Promotion

Flying Officer Gary Lochiel Cameron (77881) to be Flight Lieutenant, with effect from 7 January 1968.

ADMINISTRATIVE AND SUPPLY BRANCH

Promotions

Secretarial Division

The under-mentioned Flying Officers to be Flight Lieutenants, with effect from 7 January 1968:

Peter James Hughan (74948). Barrie Edward Jameson (74025). Peter William Dyke Coombs (74483).

Appointment

Equipment Division

Flight Lieutenant Ian Seymour Wood (75268) to be temporary Squadron Leader, with effect from 16 December 1967.

Promotions

The under-mentioned Flying Officers to be Flight Lieutenants, with effect from 7 January 1968:

William Donald Shotton (76741). William Victor Tangney (71675).

The under-mentioned Pilot Officers to be Flying Officers, with effect from the dates shown:

Paul Edward Outtrim, B.A. (81216), 1 January 1968. Wayne Maurice Chappell (82468), 1 January 1968. Michael Adams (82503), 26 January 1968.

A ppointments

Special Duties Division

Special Duties Division

Warrant Officer Dudley Wybert Simpson (70996) is granted a short-service commission in the Administrative and Supply Branch (Special Duties Division), Regular Air Force, for a period ending 10 December 1973 to be followed by four years in the Reserve of Air Force Officers. He is appointed in the rank of Flight Lieutenant with seniority from 17 October 1966, with effect from 17 October 1967.

Warrant Officer Albert Victor Williams, B.E.M. (73036), is granted a short-service commission in the Administrative and Supply Branch (Special Duties Division), Regular Air Force, for a period ending 16 October 1975 to be followed by four years in the Reserve of Air Force Officers. He is appointed in the rank of Flight Lieutenant, with seniority and effect from 17 October 1967.