Block I, Ahipara Survey District, and shown on S.O. Plan 42207; thence easterly and again southerly generally along the southern side of the public road forming the generally southern boundary of Lot 3, D.P. 42839, to and along the western side and southern end of Gills Road, to and up the left bank of the Awanui River, up the middle of the Waihoe Channel and the middle of the Pukepoto Main Outfall to a point in line with the southern boundary of Lot 1, D.P. 18887, in Block II, Ahipara Survey District; thence westerly to and along that southern boundary, along a right line across a public road to the south-eastern corner of Allotment 75, Ahipara Parish, along the southern boundary of that allottment, along another right line across a public road to the south-eastern corner of Allotment 31, Ahipara Parish, and along the southern boundary of that allotment to the eastern shore of an unnamed lake shown on N.Z.M.S. 2, Sheet N. 9/6; thence northerly generally along the shores of that lake to and down the middle of the stream flowing from the northern end of the said lake, to and along the sea coast, and along the north-western boundary of Section 2, Block III, Houhora West Survey District, to the point of commencement.

As the same is more particularly delineated on plan No. 2/6 deposited in the Head Office of the New Zealand Forest Service at Wellington, and thereon bordered red.

Secondly, all that area in the North Auckland Land District, Mangonui County, containing approximately 20,770 acres and bounded generally as follows:

Commencing at the south-western boundary of part 5A 3 Parengarenga Block in Block IX, Muriwhenua Survey District, and thence proceeding generally north-easterly along the western boundary of part 5A 3 Parengarenga Block to the Waitki Landing Road in Block II, Muriwhenua Survey District; thence in a south-easterly direction along the southern side of the Tangoake Landing Road to a point opposite iron tube "C", Block VII, Muriwhenua Survey District, S.O. 44569, on the Tangoake Landing Road; thence generally in a south-easterly direction along a right line from the aforementioned point to the north-eastern corner of Allotment 50, Block XI, Muriwhenua Survey District; thence southerly along the eastern boundary of Allotment 50 to the north-eastern boundary of Allotment 49; thence generally southerly and easterly along the southern edge of the Te Ahu Roadway to the junction of the southern side of Te Ahu Road and the western side of the Tangoake Landing Waipapakauri Road in Block XVI, Muriwhenua Survey District; thence proceeding south-westerly along a right line to Trig. Station Te Arai in Block III, Houhoro Survey District; thence generally north-westwards along the mean high-water mark on the sea coast to the point of commencement.

As shown on plan No. 1/1 deposited in the Head Office of the New Zealand Forest Service at Wellington, and thereon edged red."

P. J. BROOKS, Clerk of the Executive Council. *Gazette, 1965, Vol. III, p. 1503

(F.S. 12/9/1/36)

County of Westland and Borough of Kumara United Under Name of Westland County

ARTHUR PORRITT, Governor-General ORDER IN COUNCIL

At the Government House at Wellington this 24th day of March 1969

Present:

HIS EXCELLENCY THE GOVERNOR-GENERAL IN COUNCIL PURSUANT to the Local Government Commission Act 1967, His Excellency the Governor-General, acting by and with the advice and consent of the Executive Council, hereby makes the following order.

ORDER

- 1. This order shall come into force on the 1st day of April 1969.
- 2. The districts of the County of Westland and the Borough of Kumara shall be united to form one county and the council of the Borough of Kumara is hereby dissolved.
- 3. The united district shall be called the County of Westland (hereinafter called "the said county").
- 4. For representation purposes only, the said county shall be divided into three ridings, as follows:

- (1) the Northern Riding, comprising the Northern Riding of the former County of Westland, together with the area contained in the district of the former Borough of Kumara:
- (2) the Southern Riding, comprising the Southern Riding of the former County of Westland;
- (3) the Central Riding, comprising the Central Riding of the former County of Westland.
- 5. The council of the said county shall consist of nine members, as follows:

For the Northern Riding—two members For the Southern Riding—four members For the Central Riding—three members

- 6. The first election of the members of the council of the said county shall be held on the date prescribed by law for the first triennial general elections of members of county councils to be held after the 1st day of April 1969.
- 7. Until the members of the council of the said county, elected at the said first election, shall come into office, the council of the said county shall consist of 10 members, as follows:
 - (a) the nine present members of the council of the former County of Westland;
 - (b) one member of the council of the former Borough of Kumara to be chosen by that council to represent the Northern Riding, and for the purpose of making that choice, and for no other purpose, the Kumara Borough Council shall, if necessary, continue in office after the date of the said union.
- 8. For the purposes hereinafter provided, the said county shall be divided into two divisions, as follows:
 - (i) The Westland Division, comprising the district of the former County of Westland;
 - (ii) The Kumara Division, comprising the district of the former Borough of Kumara.
- 9. Subject to clause 10 hereof, the system of rating to be in force in the said county shall be the unimproved value rating system.

10. For a period of 5 years from the date specified in clause 1 hereof, the system of rating in the Kumara Division shall be the capital value rating system.

- shall be the capital value rating system.

 11. For a period of 5 years from the date specified in clause 1 hereof, all rates to be made in the said county shall be separately made and levied in the Westland Division and the Kumara Division according to the systems of rating in force in those Divisions.
- 12. For a period of 5 years from the date specified in clause 1 hereof, the number of votes to which the occupier of any rateable property in the said Kumara Division is entitled under section 51 of the Counties Act 1956 shall be determined having regard to the rateable value of the property as appearing on the valuation roll of the said county and as if the system of rating in the Westland Division were also in force in the Kumara Division.
- 13. So far as they are applicable and with the necessary modifications, the provisions of section 99A of the Land Transfer Act 1952 shall apply to the union hereby effected.
- 14. Except as otherwise provided herein or in the Local Government Commission Act 1967, the provisions of the Counties Act 1956 shall, with the necessary modifications and so far as they are applicable, apply to the union hereby effected, as if the Borough of Kumara were a dependent town district to which section 28 of the Counties Act 1956 applies.

P. J. BROOKS, Clerk of the Executive Council. (I.A. 176/255)

Appointments, Promotions, Transfers, Resignations, and Retirements of Officers of the New Zealand Army

Pursuant to section 16 of the New Zealand Army Act 1950, His Excellency the Governor-General has been pleased to approve of the following appointments, promotions, transfers, resignations, and retirements of officers of the New Zealand Army:

COLONELS' LIST

Regular Force

Colonel (temp. Brigadier) D. J. Aitken, O.B.E., to be Brigadier and is transferred to the Brigadiers' List. Dated 21 January 1969.