domestic

Import Control Exemption Notice (No. 13) 1969

PURSUANT to regulation 16 of the Import Control Regulations 1964*, the Minister of Customs hereby gives notice as follows:

1. (a) This notice may be cited as the Import Control Exemption Notice (No. 13) 1969.

(b) This notice shall come into effect on 1 July 1969.

2. Goods of the classes specified and for the purposes of the Customs Tariff falling within the Tariff items in the First Schedule hereto, imported from and being the produce or manufacture of any country, are hereby exempted from the requirement of a licence under the said regulations.

FIRST SCHEDULE **EXEMPTIONS CREATED**

Tariff Item

Classes of Goods

Ex 84.15.19) Evaporators and condensers for Ex 84.15.29 refrigerators

Ex 85.04.01 Electric accumulators as may be approved by the Minister and under such conditions as he may prescribe (other than battery separators of diatomaceous earth)

Dated at Wellington this 12th day of June 1969.

L. R. ADAMS-SCHNEIDER, for Minister of Customs. *S.R. 1964/47

Notice under Section 4 of the National Savings Act 1940

PURSUANT to section 4 of the National Savings Act 1940, the Minister of Finance hereby prescribes as follows:

(a) The thirtieth investment period during which investments (a) The thirtieth investment period during which investments by way of deposits in investment accounts may be made shall be the period of 1 year commencing on the 1st day of July 1969 and ending on the 30th day of June 1970;
(b) Subject to the provisions of the said Act, the rate of interest to be paid on such investments made during such investment period shall be 3½ percent per annum;
(c) Subject to the provisions of the said Act, moneys invested as aforesaid during such investment period shall be

as aforesaid during such investment period shall be repayable on the 30th day of June 1972, provided that where interest is not withdrawn by the investor in accordance with section 8 (2) of the said Act and is added to and becomes part of the principal moneys of the investor under section 8 (3) of the said Act, the amount of such interest, together with any interest thereon, shall be repayable on the 30th day of June 1971.

Dated at Wellington this 18th day of June 1969.

R. D. MULDOON, Minister of Finance.

Notice under Section 5 of the National Savings Act 1940

PURSUANT to section 5 of the National Savings Act 1940, the Minister of Finance hereby authorises the Boards of Trustees of the under-mentioned savings banks (being savings banks established under the Trustee Savings Banks Act 1948) to receive investments by way of deposits in investment accounts under the said Act during the investment period commencing on the 1st day of July 1969 and ending on the 30th day of June 1970:

Auckland Savings Bank, Taranaki Savings Bank Otago Savings Bank, and Southland Savings Bank.

Dated at Wellington this 18th day of June 1969.

R. D. MULDOON, Minister of Finance.

Birthday Honours List

HIS Excellency the Governor-General has announced that the Queen has been graciously pleased, on the occasion of the celebration of Her Majesty's Birthday, to confer the following honours:

CIVIL DIVISION

Knight Commander of the Most Excellent Order of the British Empire (K.B.E.)-

Mr Henry Ernest Blyde, C.B.E., of New Plymouth. Mr Hamilton Mitchell, of Wellington.

Companion of the Most Distinguished Order of Saint Michael and Saint George (C.M.G.)-

Mr Alfred Onslow Glasse, o.B.E., M.C., of Auckland. Mr Adrian George Rodda, of Lower Hutt.

Commander of the Most Excellent Order of the British Empire

(C.B.E.)

Mr Eardley Lorimer Button, O.B.E., E.D., of Wellington. Mr Ronald Alan Candy, O.B.E., of Waitoa. Mr Leonard Thomas Daniell, D.C.M., of Masterton. Mr Henry Rodolph Wigley, O.B.E., of Timaru.

Officer of the Most Excellent Order of the British Empire (O.B.E.)-

Mother Mary Bernard (née Miss Norah Martin), of

Christchurch Mr Harold Philip Fowler, of Invercargill.

Mr Wallace Galloway, of Dannevirke.
Mr Henry Lewis Gibson, of Dunedin.
Dr Harold Cecil Holland, of Auckland.
Mr John O'Halloran, of Te Kuiti.

Mr John Joseph Parsons, of Opaku, Patea.

Mr Selwyn Isaac Vercoe, of Blenheim.

Mr Alfred Walmsley, of Invercargill.
Mr Robert Fleming Wardlaw, of Waimana.

Companion of the Imperial Service Order (I.S.O.)—

Mr William Hay, of Wellington.

Member of the Most Excellent Order of the British Empire $(M.B.\dot{E}.)$ -

Mr Ernest Edwin Beale, of Woodville.
Mr David Joseph Berry, of Raetihi.
Mr Charles Oliver Coad, of Wellington.
Mrs Clare Esther Mary Crawford, of Christchurch.
Mr Michael Francis Foley, of Stratford.
Mr Sydney James Guppy, of Nelson.
Mrs Laura Mary Harry, of Karamea, West Coast.
Mrs Rene Mary MacLennan, of Henderson.
Dr Laurence Carrington Mail, of Geraldine.
Mr Robert Steele Martin, of Rotorua.
Mr Arthur William Miller, of Taradale.
Mr Francis William Laidlaw Milne, of Auckland.
Mrs Te Arahori Potaka, of Wanganui.

Mrs Te Arahori Potaka, of Wanganui.

Mr Arthur Mervyn Nicholson, of Auckland. Mr Donald Stewart Reid, of Waitangi, Chatham Islands. Mr Vivian George Herbert Rickard, of Rangitukia, East Coast.

Mr Russell Robertson, of Oamaru

Mrs Dora Frances Steptoe, of Wellington.

British Empire Medal (B.E.M.)-

Mr Douglas William Arter, of Raglan.
Miss Myrtle Ann Mary Bell, of Reefton.
Mrs Estelle Colleen Brunker, of Whangarei.
Mrs Aileen Charlotte Clements, of Nelson.
Mr Walter Francis Collins, of Mangakino.
Miss Alice Mary Dent, of Taupo.

Mrs Christina Harley, of Dunedin.
Mr Daniel Robert Hyde, of Auckland.
Mr John Wates Luskie, of Otago.
Mrs Louise Miles, of Christchurch.

Detective Sergeant John Russell, New Zealand Police, of Kaikohe.

Mrs Laura Joan Swan, of Auckland.

New Zealand Police, of Detective Frank Thomson, Wanganui.

Queen's Police Medal for Distinguished Service (Q.P.M.)-

Assistant Commissioner William Harold Angus Sharp, New Zealand Police, of Wellington.

Chief Superintendent Archibald Conrad Blackwell Wade, New Zealand Police, of Hamilton.

MILITARY DIVISION

Companion of the Most Honourable Order of the Bath (C.B.)— Major General Robert Boyd Dawson, c.B.E., D.S.o., Generals' List (Regular Force), of Lower Hutt.

Commander of the Most Excellent Order of the British Empire (C.B.E.)-

Commodore Leonard Stanley Stanners, o.B.E., General List (Supply and Secretarial Specialisation), of Wellington.

Officer of the Most Excellent Order of the British Empire (O.B.E.)-

Surgeon Commander James Smith Watt Frew, Royal New

Zealand Navy, of Auckland.

Lieutenant Colonel John Harold Gray, E.D., Royal New Zealand Infantry Regiment (Territorial Force), of Dunedin.